We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mouth watering with ambiance!”
Review of Aux Pres

Aux Pres
Ranked #586 of 17,283 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Description: 27, rue du Dragon: a cult address in the Saint Germain des Prés quarter. One that has played host to many of the world’s ‘beautiful people’ since it first opened in the 1950s: actors, singers, politicians and even some of the international élite. “Le Tout Paris” has graced the upholstered wall seats of the “Claude Sainlouis”. When, in 2011, the opportunity arose to stage a much admired come-back for this one-time king of bistros on the capital’s left bank, Cyril Lignac needed no second asking. Keenly aware of the venue’s history and spirit, the master chef restored the prestige and status of this Latin Quarter institution while carefully preserving the warm atmosphere and authenticity. Renamed “Aux Prés”, this cult Bistro serves typically Bistro-style cuisine with flavours from around the world. Uplifting cuisine inspired by the Chef’s travels and encounters. With, more than ever, pride of place given to French and foreign home produce.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
407 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Mouth watering with ambiance!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I agree with the TA entry that describes the woman one first meets, as a person who generally and consistently scowls. Along with the other wait staff, who are also a bit uncomfortable. There is little to be done about personalities, which is a small downside to this restaurant.

However, the absolutely LOVELY, gracious and handsome African assistant, compensates with his warmth, "twinkle in the eye" humor and a genuine, warm, welcome. I wondered why his spirit hadn't infected the other staff. It's the joie de vivre of french dining that I seek, and while not the best here, the service is indeed efficient and politely well-executed. Promote the African assistant and bring him before us as we walk in to door!!!!

Happily, the food makes up for it all. While everything is served "round", and in smaller, yet agreeable portions, it is so perfectly done, with refined, balanced flavors...that often sparkle and light the tongue, all is forgotten after the first bite. The menu is just large and varied enough to meet many tastes. Without wine, a starter and main course cost euros 50. Of course the menu of the day at 27 euros is a steal.

There is a blurb in the menu describing the foundation and philosophy of this little treasure. They do adhere to tradition, with the finest ingredients and superb preparation. They serve a hamburger which I found delightful...while perhaps not a traditional french recipe, the humor AND choice was an upbeat variation on tradition and a great addition. AND it comes naturally round, unlike the rest of the dishes which are all forced into rounds. While this is not uncommon and makes an ever-so-tidy presentation, I miss the more natural presentation and shape of food. Still, this personal peculiarity should not reflect on the overall excellence of this wonderful restaurant!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simmonskUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    359
    184
    61
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herzliya, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Melting in the Mouth”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

What an extraordinary food, service and place. Superb!! Every dish was cooked in the outmost way. The stuff was so amazing and the deserts were something you can't miss

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ronit55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food with an attitude”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We`ve gone to this restaurant 4 times in the past 2 years and found the food to be very tasty although expensive and in small portions, not a good QPR. Reservations are almost mandatory. We sat at the long bar counter twice without them and that was in the last two seats available at an early evening time when the restaurant was almost empty. There is one lady who oversees the place and although very organized and industrious, she scowls at you for not having a reservation or speaking anything other than French. We`ve seen her every time and yet to see a smile. She`s very serious. Fortunately,some of the servers are friendly although none spoke English other than a few words which equates to my French. On 3 occasions, there is a Brit who also seems to have managerial duties and spends time behind the bar who is nice and very easy to talk to.
It`s very popular among the locals. I`m a Champagne buff and they have a decent brut rose from Mallard I like at 70 Euro. Their stemware is inferior, almost as bad as Libby glasses. The menu is only in French and somewhat short and yet broad enough to delight. We`ve always had great food whatever the choice; nothing stands out in particular except the plat du jour is usually a good way to go since it`s fresh and the chef`s choice. The soups are consistently wonderful. It`s the Champagne and the food and that we stay in the area that keeps us coming back for an option to some of the many other restaurants we frequent.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BlakievanHemert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Risch, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“French Tradition”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Finding a good restaurant for Sunday night is not so easy. Le Chardenoux des Pres in St Germain-des-Près, 6th arrondissement, is a wonderful exception. The restaurant is pretty, the sevice efficient - not always the case in Paris -, the food delicious, which comes at a price. If you can, go there for lunch during weekdays for a better deal. The only little deception was at the end of the meal when tea lovers with a preference for plain, i.e. unperfumed tea are not so well served. Actually quite bizarre as Paris has an absolutely wonderful range of tea shops.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Incredible meal!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband & I visited Le Chardenoux des Pres last week upon high recommendations from our family. The bistro is located in St Germain des Pres, off the beaten track, and has a simple & homey decor, but the food! Now, that's a whole different story! We both decided to go with "a la carte" choices vs menu du jour, and definitely didn't regret our choices. Going into specific dishes is rather pointless since it appears the menu changes frequently, however, rest assured the meal will be exquisite. Staff was charming and helpful, and the entire experience will remain our cherished memory of Paris. I will most definitely return next time I'm in Paris!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PypsandFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aux Pres also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Aux Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing