We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“French Tradition”
Review of Aux Pres

Aux Pres
Ranked #595 of 17,018 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Description: 27, rue du Dragon: a cult address in the Saint Germain des Prés quarter. One that has played host to many of the world’s ‘beautiful people’ since it first opened in the 1950s: actors, singers, politicians and even some of the international élite. “Le Tout Paris” has graced the upholstered wall seats of the “Claude Sainlouis”. When, in 2011, the opportunity arose to stage a much admired come-back for this one-time king of bistros on the capital’s left bank, Cyril Lignac needed no second asking. Keenly aware of the venue’s history and spirit, the master chef restored the prestige and status of this Latin Quarter institution while carefully preserving the warm atmosphere and authenticity. Renamed “Aux Prés”, this cult Bistro serves typically Bistro-style cuisine with flavours from around the world. Uplifting cuisine inspired by the Chef’s travels and encounters. With, more than ever, pride of place given to French and foreign home produce.
Risch, Switzerland
Level Contributor
247 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“French Tradition”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Finding a good restaurant for Sunday night is not so easy. Le Chardenoux des Pres in St Germain-des-Près, 6th arrondissement, is a wonderful exception. The restaurant is pretty, the sevice efficient - not always the case in Paris -, the food delicious, which comes at a price. If you can, go there for lunch during weekdays for a better deal. The only little deception was at the end of the meal when tea lovers with a preference for plain, i.e. unperfumed tea are not so well served. Actually quite bizarre as Paris has an absolutely wonderful range of tea shops.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    350
    178
    57
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Incredible meal!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband & I visited Le Chardenoux des Pres last week upon high recommendations from our family. The bistro is located in St Germain des Pres, off the beaten track, and has a simple & homey decor, but the food! Now, that's a whole different story! We both decided to go with "a la carte" choices vs menu du jour, and definitely didn't regret our choices. Going into specific dishes is rather pointless since it appears the menu changes frequently, however, rest assured the meal will be exquisite. Staff was charming and helpful, and the entire experience will remain our cherished memory of Paris. I will most definitely return next time I'm in Paris!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PypsandFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The best "entrecote sauce bernaise" in Paris... much more than I was expecting in one of most charming corners of Paris. Absolutely wonderful!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fri_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
193 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Our hotel suggested this place for our family and all were by happy with the fare , the ambiance, and the service. It's casual French fine food with a mix of interesting things on the menu.

Helpful?
Thank tally11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food. Not very Parisian”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our hotel booked this restaurant for us and the food was good. The service was also friendly and good. One waitress did not speak much english but another did. When the first became frustrated trying to understand us, she just walked away and got the other waiter who was friendly and courteous. I can't really fault the first waitress because she did the best she could and as bad as her English was, it was still better than my French. While not a courteous response, it was effective and got us taken care of by the english speaking waiter.

The food was good but not terribly special. If you are looking for quintessential Parisian food, this probably isn't your best choice, but for a nice evening out in a comfortable and good restaurant it is an excellent choice.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michael t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aux Pres also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Aux Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing