We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool place, great tacos” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candelaria

Candelaria
Ranked #2,166 of 16,718 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Le Marais
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cool place, great tacos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I agree with other reviewers that this place should be kept a secret, so I'm a little hesitant to leave a positive review! The bar is very cool, with great music and interesting drinks. Unfortunately they only serve chips and guac in the bar. But you can walk through to the small kitchen area for some great tacos. Three choices available, all made right in front of you. Limited seating, but that's part of the charm.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    147
    37
    31
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hip and trendy taco bar!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

This place should be kept a secret, because it is so authentic! A little bar in a quiet street in le marais. Freshly made taco's with the real South American vibe and flavor, that you top of with a beer,tequila or a marguerita... The price is a bit high but the charm makes up for it (3,5 euros for one taco). There is limited seating in the little kitchen.
Then you walk through the back door and come into the 'hidden bar area' with good music and yummy cocktails (12 euros/cocktail).
Will definitely come back !

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LindeDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hip place, cheap tacos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stopped in here for lunch and it was a hip, cozy little place. Kind of odd that you walk in through the kitchen area to get to the seating, but that was interesting. We ordered a few open-faced hard tacos (I got pork, and my husband got one mushroom and one cactus variety!). Mine were excellent, and my husband enjoyed his as well, and they were quite inexpensive. The drinks were a little weird (kind of a take on a traditional margarita, but I wasn't a fan of the one I got). It's a trendy little place in the Marais that was definitely worth going to try out something other than French food in Paris!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amethyst198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Delicious!!! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I have been in Paris for a while, and we were lokking for a good mexican place. Got recomended to "candelaria" by a friend. All i have to say is how delicious it all was!! Great tacos, guac & chips, house salsa, & black beans!!!! Dedinitely will be going back here soon. Get there early to beat the rush & after atay at the bar in the back for some drinks! Such a great little treasure to find!

Helpful?
Thank Yourpalmay
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best hidden place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

After living in Paris for 3 yrs. Candelaria is simply one of my favorite places to go. During the day to have aome tacos and tostadas, but you should go at night. The amazing concept of a taqueria with a hidden door. Once you push the kitchen door you're welcomed to a bar with amazing cocktails.

Try the spicy concombre and cilantro drink

Helpful?
1 Thank sarbelaezch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Candelaria also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Candelaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing