We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of Character”
Review of Ile Saint-Louis

Ile Saint-Louis
Book In Advance
More Info
$131.59*
and up
Private Tour: Notre Dame Cathedral, the Sainte Chapelle and the Conciergerie
Ranked #22 of 1,124 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cobble-stoned neighborhood featuring quiet shops, cafes and bistros.
Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Full of Character”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Although this little island lies in the centre of Paris, it seems worlds away from the hustle and bustle and is well worth a visit. There are numerous lovely restaurants and shops to browse. We ate confit of duck in the Cafe St Regis - which I recommend as the food and staff were lovely.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CornwallUKJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,688
    1,197
    199
    18
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Respite from the crowds”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This past October as the sun began to emerge after a rainy morning, I left the maddening crowd at Notre Dame and headed to Ile St-Louis for a walk around the island. I only came across one other tourist as I walked near the Seine. A lovely peaceful setting.
When I turned onto the narrow Rue Saint Louis the main east-west street, I was disappointed to find many tourist junk shops and numerous shops selling poor quality Chinese and other foreign goods. While some chocolatiers were present, the island has lost much of its retail charm as has much of Paris. Quelle domage.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia, United States
1 review
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed by Quai de Bourbon for 4 nights this past summer. We enjoyed every minute of it. Lots of shops, restaurants, street musicians, nice bridges and walks by the Siene River and of course Notre Dame. A very beautiful, safe and peaceful part of Paris.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marielena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pretty area”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

A friend who lives in Paris took me here; lots of fun shops with nice quality small items to bring home as gifts and also good ice cream sold on almost everyblock. It's a charming area and I was told that it has some of the most highes priced apartments in Paris. Very good for Sunday browsing and shopping as most of Paris is closed to shopping on Sunday.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SuzLtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just beautiful!!!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Beautiful streets, beautiful buildings, beautiful shops... Very upscale part of Paris where the apartments sell for millions..(Euros that is). A lovely walk across on the bridges... I think the Quai de Hotel de Ville has a bridge that will take you there.... Just stroll... don't rush....

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank scottsdalegirl1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ile Saint-Louis also viewed

 

Been to Ile Saint-Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing