We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Paris Notre Dame Saint Germain des Pres
Ranked #872 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Excellent location. Rooms very small, but refurbished and clean. Nice bathroom with tub. Friendly staff.
Location perfect. Many nice restaurants on Boulevard St Germain just minutes away.

Most sights within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gunvor i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (845)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 845 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

I booked Best Western La Tour Saint Germain des Pres based on it's location, which is ideal. A short walk to 3 metro stops and 5 blocks from Notre Dame Cathedral. It's located on a small side-street, but you're just steps from Rue St. Germaine and dozens of wonderful restaurants. Being close to the Latin Quarter, there were plenty of people around at night, important for me as a single senior walking alone. Due to the name, I expected an American hotel, but it's quite French: small bedroom and bathroom (but quite comfortable) and a lovely breakfast bar. The staff were very friendly and helpful, as well. I'd stay there again in a minute.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 61lindam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed at this hotel in March and choose it based on reviews about it being clean, location and good reviews. We got here late at night and was assigned a room on a higher floor and even though other travelers mentioned the rooms being small we were surprised how small they really were including the hallways and elevator. As a matter of fact I think the hallways and rooms were so small/narrow that not even a wheel chair would fit through which did make me feel a bit uncomfortable and totally against ADA laws here in the US. Also the rooms don’t have “real windows” – only ¼ size long/narrow windows located towards the corner of the room not in the middle off the wall which certainly is the most common set up/design. I think only a few rooms on each floor had real large windows in the middle of the wall - along with a tiny balcony. Our room only had the two tiny ¼ windows on the side of a large wall where you could barely look out – weird design instead of having a window in the middle – I guess I cannot really get past this set up! This design made us feel like we did not have windows in the room period! I definitely felt claustrophobic in this room and with the narrow hallways and I was praying a fire would not break out during out stay as I could see it being hard to get out! Also the elevator was out of service a few times during our stay so we had to walk all the way up using a narrow staircase, if you had problems walking this would be a disaster. This is probably the smallest room I have stayed in my entire life and the hallways the smallest I’ve ever seen; a Tulip hotel on Copacabana Beach held this title previously for me but this hotel beat it for sure. Another thing to mention is that you can hear the people in the rooms next door and in the hallway, probably because of the tiny quarters and poor insulations between the rooms.
The lobby is pretty nice with a small computer for guest use and front desk personnel were also pleasant. The hotel is in a great location steps from fantastic restaurants, night life and Notre Dame – ideal for first time visitors to Paris. Also you’re next to the train station including the RER train that takes you to the airport if you choose to take that route. I definitely would not stay here again and even though it was not cheap - next time I visit Paris I am willing to fork up more money for a hotel with larger rooms and more amenities’ perhaps in a location not this prime – a few blocks further out.

Room Tip: Ask to pay more for a corner room with a balcony - or loose a few pounds before you go so you can fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank born4travelCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Great location, just off St. Germain & close to everything you will need in Paris. Metro ( Cluny station) is 2 min walk. RER railway connection (St. Micheal Notre Dame station) to CDG international airport directly is 5 min walk. To top it all, the main crossover for Hop on hop off buses(all loops) is also 5 min walk. Rooms are good. Make sure you ask for room numbers 13/23/33 etc. as their layout is more spacious. Staff is very good & go extra mile with useful info. Breakfast is ok. But this hotel is very popular & almost always full, so book early. Heavily recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alhadraje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Great location and staff. It was a perfect hotel and location for 4 days in Paris to see the sights. Each day we were gone by 8am and didn't return until after dark. Room was tiny and not a lot of space for bags. The bathroom was a good size and had a good shower. Beds were comfortable and the windows kept out the street noise. I will probalby stay here again on my next trip to paris.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Two blocks from Siene, Notre Dame, restaurants and fun! First time in paris and we were a bit afraid. Yes, the rooms are tiny. So are all rooms in most places in Paris Center. The rooms were immaculate and well tended. Great new beds. The rooms facing street were noisy but had with a great view. The ones facing the alley had no view but were very quiet. The service was great. Breakfast was perfect and plentiful. Good selection; great coffee! The decor was elegant and slick. Wireless was great. Just one block from the Cluny-Soborne Train stop. We got to and from CDG airport in less than an hour - one straight shot. Can't beat the quality, location, and value. we will surely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I recently stayed here for 1 week with my girlfriend. The hotel staff were very friendly & welcoming on arrival & throughout our stay. The hotel is located in a great area for bars & some really good restaurants. It's only a 5 minute walk to Notre Dame & 15 - 30 minutes to most other attractions. It is also only 5 minutes walk to the train station that will take you directly to Versailles. The downside to the hotel is that the rooms are very small, in the room that we stayed in there were no mirrors in the bedroom, the bathroom had plenty which made it awkward for my girlfriend to get ready when the mirrors were all steamed up.
The walls in the hotel are paper thin & you can here the next room taking a shower & using the toilet at 3am. Unfortunately for us, our stay coincided with several inconsiderate guests that were very noisy until 2 am talking & shouting etc.

Would I stay here again? Yes based on the location, price & the hope that next time I stayed, other guests would be more quiet

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Dazzydazzlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres
Quartier Latin
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
#259 of 1,802 in Paris
816 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
#554 of 1,802 in Paris
581 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Central Saint Germain
Hotel Central Saint Germain
#705 of 1,802 in Paris
410 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Quartier Latin Pantheon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris Notre Dame Saint Germain des Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Notre Dame Saint Germain des Pres

Address: 20 rue du Sommerard | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN La Tour Notre Dame Saint Germain des Pres)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#419 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $145 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Notre Dame Saint Germain des Pres 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-minute walk from Notre Dame Cathedral, Île de la Cité and Île Saint-Louis, opposite the Sorbonne and right in the heart of the Latin Quarter, the Mercure Paris Notre Dame Saint Germain des Prés hotel enjoys a prime location. The hotel is easy to access from the RER B, RER C or Saint-Michel and Cluny-La-Sorbonne metro stations. Enjoy a relaxing stay in one of its comfortable, contemporary, air-conditioned rooms. In Paris city center, the Mercure Paris Notre Dame Saint Germain des Prés hotel is ideally located in the Latin Quarter to visit Paris, to go shopping or just to hang out. You will find nearby the Notre Dame Cathedral, Saint-Michel, the Louvre, the Sorbonne, the Panthéon, the Luxembourg Garden, and Châtelet Les Halles. Its great location allows a direct access to the Roissy CDG and Orly airports through RER B, as well as Montparnasse train station, Gare du Nord, Gare de l'Est and Austerlitz train station. The Mercure Paris Notre Dame Saint Germain des Prés hotel is a short walk away from the Panthéon, has a bar and a meeting room that can accommodate up to 25 people. The hotel gives you easy access to all of Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Paris Notre Dame Saint Germain des Pres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Tour Notre Dame Hotel Paris
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing