We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Paris Notre Dame Saint Germain des Pres
Ranked #832 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
NY/NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

PROS
- great location - walking distance to everything! (notre dame, boulevard st. michel, etc.)
- clean
- comfy bed

CONS
- super small room on the 5th floor. i know parisian hotel rooms are supposed to be "quaint", but it felt really cramped. hard to unwind after a day of walking with barely any room to maneuver through amidst our 2 luggages

i'd still recommend this hotel tho based on the location

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbc115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    353
    146
    50
    36
See reviews for
94
399
34
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa
Level Contributor
124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was a very good place to stay, second to de College du France, which is right around the corner. The rooms are small and quaint, as you would expect from a hotel in the old latin quarters of Paris. It is in an great location, 5 minutes from Notre Dame and the Pantheon. Also, St. Michelle is right around the corner which offers all kinds of amenities and bus lines. A good place to stay in interested in seeing all there is in old town Paris.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel and overall had a very enjoyable stay. The hotel was very close to the metro and RER lines which gave easy access to both airports and to travel to city sights. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was good but included in our stay, I am not sure we would have paid separately for this. The location of the hotel was fantastic with alot of pubs and restaurants within easy walking distance. The one issue I would say was the size of the shower, the room itself was small but trying to shower was a bit of a challenge due to the shower size. Overall I would recommend staying at here and would chose to stay here again ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are very small, and carpete smells something bad, between cigars and old things. The location is ok, but you can hear everything from others rooms due to bad dry wall... Definately, it is not a big deal... Low price, low services. .... It is nice? We don't think so.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regis Arthur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

My friend and I booked a twin room here for 4 nights. The location was great with Notre Dame Cathedral, Athens Louvre, Museum d'Orsay and Museum d' Cluny in short walking distance as well as the Metro close by. The staff were polite and helpful and spoke good English which was good as our French is minimal. The room we were given was very small with the twin beds pushed together. We were only able to move the about 15cm apart and we couldn't move around the room. The bathroom was very mouldy and there was no exhaust fan. The rest of the room was very clean but the toiletries were limited and not replaced. One day we were only given one towel and our room cards didn't work. There is only 1 staff member on duty at night so we had to keep coming back down from the third floor to nip train the towel and get our cards fixed which was annoying when we had come back exhausted after being in the go all day and well into the evening.

Room Tip: Okay for one person or for two small people but great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

1. location: A ten minute walk to the Notre-Dame church, close to many tourist shops, la Sorbonne school, McDonalds for those craving something familiar. There is a big variety of restaurants with cuisines including Tibetan, French, Japanese, Indian. Close to metro/RER stations and this will get you fast around town. Nearby St-Michel district has a lot of restaurants offering three course meals at about 11 euros. This hotel is located in a busy enough neighborhood but it is quiet and safe enough. I felt safe at night getting back to the hotel.

2. Rooms: I had a room on the 4th floor with a view of the roof. Windows could open. Size of the room was like a cubicle. There was a single bed with clean linens, wall mounted flats screen tv with a clock, a stool, a
small table, safe and large enough closet. I made myself tea with one of the cups and then finished all of it then left it on the table . After housekeeping, the same cup was placed inverted on the rack and you could see the tea stains in the cup. The bathroom was also small but I was appreciative of the "normal" shower. That is , it wasn't a wet bath. All in all, the room was very clean.

3. Staff: generally pleasant. When I checked in they didn't even ask me for my passport.

4. Food:
I only had one beakfast here where it is served in in the basement in a cave-like room. A nice assortment of foods such as cereal, Danishes, baguette, coffee cake, fresh fruits , yogurt, cheese, cold cuts, figs, fruit juices, coffee and tea, jam, honey etc...about 14 euros!

Taxi from CDG Airport is about 45 euros!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BleuPanda3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Spent long weekend here - as has been said before the rooms are very small, we had a deluxe room, goodness knows how small the standard rooms are. However, hotel was very clean, beds comfortable and continental breakfast plentiful. Although our room faced a busy street the double glazing did its job properly.
The location was ideal - close to most of the major sights or metro stations to those further out, hundreds of restaurants serving just about every cuisine you can think of.
All in all ideal if you only want B&B.
Warning: if buying metro tickets from a machine beware of man offering to help. My husband and his brother were having trouble whereby the machine didn't seem to want to accept their credit cards. A guy came up and offered to try with his card. He got four tickets for us and we gave him the cash. At the time my husband thought it strange that the guy put his card in upside down, but thought no more of it. The first leg of our journey was fine, but when we came to return I got stuck in the barriers (!!) and when the guy from the ticket office came out to help he discovered that we were trying to travel on children's tickets.....

Room Tip: Corner rooms on floors 2 and above have small balcony. Room 18 air con wasn't working but fan p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pashkaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres
Quartier Latin
Best Western Le Jardin de Cluny
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#179 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Central Saint Germain
Hotel Central Saint Germain
#684 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#124 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#162 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris Notre Dame Saint Germain des Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Notre Dame Saint Germain des Pres

Property: Mercure Paris Notre Dame Saint Germain des Pres
Address: 20 rue du Sommerard | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN La Tour Notre Dame Saint Germain des Pres)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#395 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Notre Dame Saint Germain des Pres 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-minute walk from Notre Dame Cathedral, Île de la Cité and Île Saint-Louis, opposite the Sorbonne and right in the heart of the Latin Quarter, the Mercure Paris Notre Dame Saint Germain des Prés hotel enjoys a prime location. The hotel is easy to access from the RER B, RER C or Saint-Michel and Cluny-La-Sorbonne metro stations. Enjoy a relaxing stay in one of its comfortable, contemporary, air-conditioned rooms. In Paris city center, the Mercure Paris Notre Dame Saint Germain des Prés hotel is ideally located in the Latin Quarter to visit Paris, to go shopping or just to hang out. You will find nearby the Notre Dame Cathedral, Saint-Michel, the Louvre, the Sorbonne, the Panthéon, the Luxembourg Garden, and Châtelet Les Halles. Its great location allows a direct access to the Roissy CDG and Orly airports through RER B, as well as Montparnasse train station, Gare du Nord, Gare de l'Est and Austerlitz train station. The Mercure Paris Notre Dame Saint Germain des Prés hotel is a short walk away from the Panthéon, has a bar and a meeting room that can accommodate up to 25 people. The hotel gives you easy access to all of Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Priceline, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Paris Notre Dame Saint Germain des Pres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Tour Notre Dame Hotel Paris
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing