We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Understated and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Daunou Opera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Daunou Opera
Ranked #628 of 1,812 Hotels in Paris
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Understated and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Booked by my daugter, this was going to be a surprise whatever the outcome. It is understated compared to all the grand hotels in the vicinity and tucked away in a narrow little lane. We relied heavily on the comments on Tripadvisor when deciding and were not let down. The descriptions were accurate and dependable.

The staff were very friendly, very helpful, had great local knowledge and spoke fluent English. We were able to drop our luggage in pre check in and the room was more than sufficient for my wife, daughter and myself. We took the advice re the front rooms (which right on cue were automatically booked into). We asked politely for an alternative, waited for 5 minutes while someone spoke to someone else and voila - an extremely quietly located room which provided us with excellent sleep. The beds were spot on as well.

We were looking for location, economy and a 3 bed room with good, clean amenities - Hotel Daunou Opera delivered. Great breakfast, lunch and dinner options all around within 1-5 minutes level walk - we loved the choice and loved the food - and very reasonably (cheap by Australian standards) priced. An easy 15 minute level walk to the Louvre and Jardin de Tuilleries, shops all around, another 5-10 to D'Orsay across the river. In the other direction, 5-10 minutes to L' Opera, 10 more to the Paris Hard Rock Cafe. Moulin Rouge, Arc de Triomphe, Nortre Dame, Eiffel Tower are all about 5-10 Euros away in a taxi in each direction. It's a great location.

I rate this with five dots because it suited us perfectly. It is a boutique hotel and will suit most travelers not needing 5 star services. We recommend thoroughly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod-VIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this review, July 28, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post this nice comment.
We are very happy to see that you had a good time at the Hotel DAUNOU opera.
We appreciate your review and all the staff is warningly thanking you for that.
Your impressions are important and gives us the uportunity to improve.
We hope to see you very soon.
Best regards,
The front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    198
    71
    13
    15
See reviews for
116
108
33
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Spent 3 nights at Daunou Opera end of August'12. On first impression the hotel is very small, just a door way on the street next to a bar but upon entering it we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel staff were all excellent no matter what time of day, we travelled as a family and they were wonderful with my daughter. We stayed in a triple room on the top (6th) floor, the room was spacious and clean, with a good sized bathroom. Both bedrooms had a flat screen tv mounted on the wall, a mini bar if you needed anything and a hairdryer in the bathroom. Towels were replenished daily and the room cleaned, beds made up nicely, we didn't take breakfast in the hotel but found Starbucks near the Louvre, along with numerous places down the back streets.

The Opera House and metro were under 5 minutes walk and the Louvre took only 10/15 minutes to walk to also. This was my first time staying in the Opera area, I felt safe at all times even returning late at night, the area can be expensive but we found pletny of nice places to eat and there's a supermarket not too far.

I would gladly return to this hotel and would recommend it for families, singles and couples alike. The road has several lively bars that I would have loved to try had I not been travelling with a child and the noise didn't disturb us at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etne05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this review, July 28, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post this nice comment.
We are very happy to see that you had a good time at the Hotel DAUNOU opera.
We appreciate your review and all the staff is warningly thanking you for that.
Your impressions are important and gives us the uportunity to improve.
We hope to see you very soon.
Best regards,
The front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockholm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here already 3 times,and i like it a lot.
The location close to the opera and just across the new york harries bar ,you really need to visit that,you will be blown back to a movie from the twenties.
The breakfast was ok ,and staff was friendly.They refurbished the rooms and I have to say ,very good now,for the price ,this is the best in Paris,do not mind the small entrance ,the hotel is bigger then you think in the back.

Stayed September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank louise70Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this review, July 28, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post this nice comment.
We are very happy to see that you had a good time at the Hotel DAUNOU opera.
We appreciate your review and all the staff is warningly thanking you for that.
Your impressions are important and gives us the uportunity to improve.
We hope to see you very soon.
Best regards,
The front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is our 2nd visit (first one was in December 2011). The hotel is extremely well-located, 3-5 minute walk to the Opera (& metro station) and another 3-5minute walk to major shopping centres Printemps and Galeries Lafayette.

The hotel room is clean and well-maintained and fairly spacious (we had a triple). However, the bathroom was a little small, but nothing we couldn't accept.

Service is good, helpful, efficient, polite and friendly. We never had any problems/issues.

In all, a hotel which was very good for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jia Jia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this review, July 28, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post this nice comment.
We are very happy to see that you had a good time at the Hotel DAUNOU opera.
We appreciate your review and all the staff is warningly thanking you for that.
Your impressions are important and gives us the uportunity to improve.
We hope to see you very soon.
Best regards,
The front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

2 blocks from Paris Opera and subway stop. Clean and reasonably priced for Paris. We needed a triple room which is not easy to find and although the room was small, it was acceptable by Paris standards. Nice bathroom.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Aud57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this review, July 28, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post this nice comment.
We are very happy to see that you had a good time at the Hotel DAUNOU opera.
We appreciate your review and all the staff is warningly thanking you for that.
Your impressions are important and gives us the uportunity to improve.
We hope to see you very soon.
Best regards,
The front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This hotel is located to the opera district and in walking distance to the Louvre. The hotel was always clean, and the customer service was mostly helpful. Just so you know, they take your hotel room key from you at the front desk every time you leave for "safety precautions". I didn't understand why and I felt like no one could fully provide an explanation for this. The housekeeping services were wonderful.
It was 3 of us and we stayed in the Duplex which was quite comfortable. The bathroom was quite large, but had a bathtub only with an extension off the tub for shower-like capabilities. Many restaurants nearby, Chez Clement was my favorite. Overall, I would stay there again if I wanted to stay in that area of Paris.

Room Tip: Ask for more than one room key, and keep one with you in case someone is not at the front desk which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cswtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this review, July 28, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post this nice comment.
We are very happy to see that you had a good time at the Hotel DAUNOU opera.
We appreciate your review and all the staff is warningly thanking you for that.
Your impressions are important and gives us the uportunity to improve.
We hope to see you very soon.
Best regards,
The front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Choiseul Opera
Hotel Choiseul Opera
#859 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Volney Opera Hotel
Volney Opera Hotel
#488 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel France d'Antin
Hotel France d'Antin
#716 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Westminster
Hotel Westminster
#230 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 844 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel
Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel
#217 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Daunou Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Daunou Opera

Property: Hotel Daunou Opera
Address: 6 rue Daunou, 75002 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#533 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Daunou Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Daunou Opera enjoys a prestigious location in the heart of the right bank of Paris. It offers every imaginable comfort in a quiet and sophisticated setting. The hotel is superbly located between the Opera and Place Vendome, a few minutes from the Louvre, the Grevin Museum, the magnificent Tuileries Gardens, major department stores (Galeries Lafayette, Printemps Haussmann) and Gare Saint Lazare. It is convenient to the Olympia music hall and theatres such as Theatre De La Michodière, Théâtre de Paris, Théâtre de la Pépinière, Théâtre Edouard VII, Théâtre Daunou, Théâtre des Variétés and Théâtre du Gymnase. The Hotel Daunou Opera offers you Paris in all its splendour : Garnier Opera: 100m The Louvre: 800m Place Vendome: 100m Department stores (Lafayette & Printemps): 300m ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel Daunou Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daunou Opera Hotel
Daunou Opera Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing