We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and highly functional, but lacks romance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris
Ranked #293 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2009

As everyone says the location is spot on situated between Pont Neuf and St Michel metro stations and the hotel/apartment complex has a feeling of a home away from home, with there being a 24 hr front desk. We stayed in a studio apartment and slept on a pull out/sofa bed, which was quite uncomfortable, but given you get a kitchen also, I guess this is the price you pay. We had a room situated on the opposite side of the building to the Seine and there was quite a lot of noise from the courtyard the window faces during the night. Internally there also seemed to be a lack of insulation, you could hear neighbouring rooms and we were woken early morning both nights. St-Germain is a great and lively area with lots of places to eat and bars around. Based on our studio stay, I would recommend this apart/hotel for business, or longer stays but wouldn't recommend it for romantic escapes or for short stays as I think there are more comfortable options.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nvintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,948)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,170 - 1,176 of 1,948 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2009

At the rack rates of 250 euros/night upwards I wouldn't be so generous, but I picked up a deal on this hotel for 3 nights in December at just over 100 euros per night. For that, I got a "studio" (basically a room with a fold-out sofa bed, but a quality sofa bed), a kitchen complete with microwave and dishwasher, and fully equipped with utensils, and a large bathroom.

The piece-de-resistance in my room was being on the 7th floor and having a large walk-out balcony with views over the rooftops of Paris, from Notre Dame round to the Eiffel Tower. Awesome and very cool.

The location is fantastic, right by Pont Neuf on the Seine, on the Left Bank. Staff were pleasant and friendly. There's a supermarket down the road to pick up essentials if you want to self-cater (obviously very easy to do with the kitchen facilities). Internet access was plug-in ethernet not wifi in the rooms, and wasn't particularly fast, but was at least free.

Overall, if you can get this place at this kind of price, I would say it's some of the best value lodgings in central Paris. Lots of space, facilities, and location, for not a lot of euros.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LandyLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

A great apartment with so much room. The room was very clean. Four adults shared this apartment.. We stayed 6 nights and would have liked at least one or two changes of towels in that time. The staff were always very professional, pleasant and extremely helpful. the hotel was a peaceful haven after a log day sightseeing. We loved that the hotel was so close to many attractions, across the road from the Seine, down the little back strreets were fantastic little cafes. We could soak up all things French.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sprankos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

Four of us stayed for 6 nights in a large 1 bedroom apartment that we booked directly on the citadines website. the size of the apartment was fantastic and the location was close to all the majors - across the road from the Lourve, 500 metres from Notre Dame, and we walked to all of the other sites including the eiffel tower. the metro station is close - st michel notre dame.

the staff were very helpful any time of the day or night. the room was large and the fold out bed was amazing for two people. we had plenty of space for hanging clothes and for two couples it was not at all intrusive.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tandjadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

This hotel is in the 6th arrondisement, I believe, and is right on the Seine river. Perfect central location 5 minute walk to Notre Dame-St. Michel metro station.

Couture shopping is right outside your door. Notre Dame 10 minute walk. Louvre 10 minute walk. Everything central is just right outside your door. You won't be disappointed at all. And for the price in central Paris for a relatively fancy hotel, it can't be beat.

The breakfast in the morning is quite good, nothing spectacular but you get good value. The concierge and hotel staff were all friendly. The room is small however you are in central Paris so it was actually quite large with a kitchenette. The gym is quite small in the hotel so I would recommend going for a morning run instead of working out inside the hotel. Afterall you are in Paris and why not run outside and explore at the same time.

Excellent hotel to stay at for a few days to several weeks.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spankyshorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

As a hotel/apartment it is a different type of property. Location at St Michael metro in the 6th district. The location is perfect for a traveller who wants to see all the major Paris sites. The kitchen had all the basic items needed to prepare a meal. A grocery store and outdoor food stalls are within in a 5 minute walk. The staff spoke excellent English and was very helpful with any questions. In room internet works very well and the hotel has 3 computers available in the lobby. We booked a studio and its use as a base for touring was fantastic. If you want to lounge in the room its simple but functional furniture may not be the best choice. TV channels selection geared to French speakers. Room has CD player. Room cleaning service comes only on your seventh day of your stay. Earlier room service or towel change result in an extra fee. We did not try the small breakfast buffet in the lobby. We elected to go the the many cafes in the area instead.
This well always be our hotel for future visits to Paris.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AAAmericanflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2009

I stayed in the Citadines for a month as part of a study abroad program and had a wonderful experience. Almost all the staff were extremely helpful to our group of thirty American college students making all kinds of requests. The rooms were very nice, especially the bathrooms. I loved having the kitchenettes, which helped us save money on eating out every day. The location was ideal- in between Notre Dame and the Louvre, close to shopping, cultural activities, and the metro. the one flaw was that there was no wifi in the rooms, only in the lobby. There was an ethernet cord in the room, although with two college students sharing it there was some bickering over it.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rdc_squam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Citadines Les Halles Paris
Citadines Les Halles Paris
#479 of 1,804 in Paris
1,101 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Citadines Bastille Marais Paris
Citadines Tour Eiffel Paris
#448 of 1,804 in Paris
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Left Bank Saint Germain
Left Bank Saint Germain
#138 of 1,804 in Paris
866 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
La Clef Louvre
La Clef Louvre
#18 of 1,804 in Paris
666 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#22 of 1,804 in Paris
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris

Address: 53, ter Quai des Grands Augustins, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#198 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#245 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#415 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $183 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Seine, Apart'hotel Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Prés Paris is set in the heart of the Latin Quarter. Soak up the truly exceptional atmosphere of the famous Boulevards Saint-Michel and Saint-Germain, its narrow streets and its art galleries. You'll have front-row seats to a historical performance. In addition to numerous bus routes, you can count on Metro lines 4 and 7 as well as RER lines B (direct to Charles de Gaulle Airport) and C to get you where you need to go. Our reception is open 24/7. Since parking in this district can prove something of a challenge, a private car park (charges apply) is available. Because we are committed to guaranteeing you an exceptional stay, enjoy our many lounge areas, where coffee and tea are available, as well as our fitness room. Your Apart Hotel offers you an uninterrupted view of the banks of the Seine and its bookshops that will plunge you into a typically Parisian atmosphere. The Pont-Neuf, the oldest bridge in Paris, is directly opposite your door. Cross it to reach the Ile de la Cité and Notre-Dame. You can then head off to drink a hot chocolate at the Café de Flore, one of the iconic institutions of Saint-Germain-des-Prés. In the afternoon, why not go to sample one of the famed ice-creams at Berthillon, on the Ile Saint-Louis? But perhaps you would prefer to go shopping along Rue de Buci, visit the Louvre or stroll along the paths of the Luxembourg gardens. For your evening, don't forget to book a theatre seat at the Théâtre de la Ville, the Théâtre de l'Odéon or the Théâtre du Châtelet. Whether you are in Paris on business or for your holidays, our serviced apartments hotel offers you modern accommodation that is suited to your needs. From our studios for one or two people to our two-room apartments for three or four, all offer a fully equipped kitchen, cable television, air conditioning and complementary WiFi. Personalise your stay with a whole range of à la carte services: daily housekeeping, laundry and dry cleaning, buffet breakfast and flexible modular meeting rooms with views of the Seine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Prestige Saint-Germain-Des-Pres Hotel Paris
Citadines Paris
Citadines St Germain Des Pres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing