We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location up but service almost non-existent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris
Ranked #288 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Location up but service almost non-existent”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

It was my first ever experience in an apartment hotel. The location turned out to be better than what I had imagined. Rooms are stocked with usual amenities and this is where it ends. Yes, it is great to be able to walk up to Seine or Notre Dames or even up to nearest Metro station. The staff doesnt understand much English. If you need any refills for tea/ coffee or any amenity, forget about it. I had to remind three times to front desk and when their housekeeping staff arrived, this guy shouted at me in French. The Front Desk seemed unconcerned on lodging a complaint. The “ light housekeeping” service concept was new to me. I didn’t like their concept of not cleaning used crockery or even not replacing used crockery.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darewalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    700
    132
    34
    32
See reviews for
716
630
58
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in room 1524 and got the best sleep of our 3 weeks in Europe - good beds+aircon, plus we couldn't hear any neighbours through the walls. From the number of guests we saw, we guessed it was almost full yet we got good service from all hotel staff we called upon. The clothes washers and tumble dryers in the basement were easy to use and we found it handy to be able to use them at all hours to suit our movements.

And the location is fantastic - we walked almost everywhere and Paul's bakery around the corner soon became everyone's favourite stop. The Metro was close by for trips to the Eiffel Tower or Arc de Triomphe, and getting to the hotel from Gard de Nord (and vice versa) is a straight forward single ride on the Metro (RER B if my memory holds true), which is 350m away from the hotel's front door.

In short, I'll be looking for a Citadine/Ascott property in all the cities I visit from now on.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the central courtyard, rather than the street, are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The studio is just what a traveler needs for a one week stay. The bed is comfortable, the kitchen and bathroom have everything you need, and you may get a nice balcony like I did. We used the workout center to supplement our daily walks.
The front door opens to the Seine and is a short stroll from Notre Dame and really not that far from the Louvre, the Place de la Concorde and the Champs Élysées. In the other direction are some superb neighborhood cares.
I give the staff an A-plus!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZLover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed with family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children) for 4 nights in July. We had tried the Citadines du Louvre in 2012 April and we have been pleased with the convenience in terms of location and amenities provided. Unfortunately the rooms happened to be fully booked in Palais Royale this time and instead chose this location which turned out to be as great as the last one. The room interior is like a modern condominium with enough space to pleasantly enjoy breakfast or dinners with the comfort of having the kitchen right by you. The front-desk seemed slightly understaffed but waiting time was average if not shorter than a legacy hotel in Paris. No pretentious attitudes from the part of the staff. The area is even more touristic than Rue De Richelieu along which the Citadines du Louvre is situated so you need to walk a good 15 minutes South to find a reasonably-priced authentic French restaurant. 20 minutes walk to the Luxembourg Gardens and 15 minutes walk to the Louvre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillaume S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, staff are very helpful and public areas of the hotel are clean. The kitchen area was well equipped and very clean. We however, had a number of ants in the bathroom and bedroom area. We reported to the staff the evening we got there and discovered this and were told it would be looked after in the morning. Not sure what they did, but there were still ants remaining for our next two days. There was also a very moldy smell in the washroom.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EastYorkCindyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

While this hotel is not located in the main shopping area or within a walking distance to the greatest attractions, there are many pluses to it. Being Paris such a large city, there are certainly a few attractions nearby such as the cathedral of Notre Dame, the Sainte Chapelle, and the City Hall. There are many little restaurants close by and you can't beat the fact that it is right in the middle of the city, where train and subway connections are handy. The hotel has a very nice breakfast and you have to use your key card to access the lobby after 8, as an added security feature. By the way, the area is very safe and, a friend of mine, who stayed in this hotel for an entire year, never had any complaints. Wifi is fast and reliable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joaneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Travelled as family of 4, with 2 adults, 14 and 10 y.o. 4 bags and backpacks. Arrived by RER from CDG to St Michel Notre-Dame, which was followed by a 5-10 min uncovered walk along the riverside to the hotel. Citadine is located in the heart of Paris on the left bank overlooking Notre Dame and the Louvre. We did not have a view, but the central location meant we could catch all the delights of Paris at a moments notice, or return for a rest as required.

Stayed in a well equipped 1 bedroom serviced apartment, which offered peace of mind for keeping the family together as well as offering enough living space for all. 1 comfortable queen bed with a sofa lounge which converted into 2 equally comfortable single beds. Beds were made daily. Combined Shower/bath in good condition, good size kitchen with sufficient equipment. Free high-speed Wi-fi worked well.

Staff were very friendly, helpful and fluent in English, as well as patient with our broken French. A continental breakfast is available downstairs.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Citadines Les Halles Paris
Citadines Les Halles Paris
#454 of 1,798 in Paris
947 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Citadines Bastille Marais Paris
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Left Bank Saint Germain
Left Bank Saint Germain
#169 of 1,798 in Paris
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citadines Tour Eiffel Paris
#374 of 1,798 in Paris
201 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
La Clef Louvre
La Clef Louvre
#33 of 1,798 in Paris
560 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Madison Hotel by MH
Madison Hotel by MH
#160 of 1,798 in Paris
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris

Property: Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris
Address: 53, ter Quai des Grands Augustins, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#168 Family Hotel in Paris
#181 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#247 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#416 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Seine, Apart'hotel Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Prés Paris is set in the heart of the Latin Quarter. Soak up the truly exceptional atmosphere of the famous Boulevards Saint-Michel and Saint-Germain, its narrow streets and its art galleries. You'll have front-row seats to a historical performance. In addition to numerous bus routes, you can count on Metro lines 4 and 7 as well as RER lines B (direct to Charles de Gaulle Airport) and C to get you where you need to go. Our reception is open 24/7. Since parking in this district can prove something of a challenge, a private car park (charges apply) is available. Because we are committed to guaranteeing you an exceptional stay, enjoy our many lounge areas, where coffee and tea are available, as well as our fitness room. Your Apart Hotel offers you an uninterrupted view of the banks of the Seine and its bookshops that will plunge you into a typically Parisian atmosphere. The Pont-Neuf, the oldest bridge in Paris, is directly opposite your door. Cross it to reach the Ile de la Cité and Notre-Dame. You can then head off to drink a hot chocolate at the Café de Flore, one of the iconic institutions of Saint-Germain-des-Prés. In the afternoon, why not go to sample one of the famed ice-creams at Berthillon, on the Ile Saint-Louis? But perhaps you would prefer to go shopping along Rue de Buci, visit the Louvre or stroll along the paths of the Luxembourg gardens. For your evening, don't forget to book a theatre seat at the Théâtre de la Ville, the Théâtre de l'Odéon or the Théâtre du Châtelet. Whether you are in Paris on business or for your holidays, our serviced apartments hotel offers you modern accommodation that is suited to your needs. From our studios for one or two people to our two-room apartments for three or four, all offer a fully equipped kitchen, cable television, air conditioning and complementary WiFi. Personalise your stay with a whole range of à la carte services: daily housekeeping, laundry and dry cleaning, buffet breakfast and flexible modular meeting rooms with views of the Seine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Prestige Saint-Germain-Des-Pres Hotel Paris
Citadines Paris
Citadines St Germain Des Pres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing