We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Fresh”
Review of La Clef Louvre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Clef Louvre
Ranked #19 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed here in October 2013. It was delightful to stay in a beautifully renovated and charming hotel with beautiful decor, amenities, and with excellent food and service, where there is a luxury infused into the atmosphere. I think it is very easy to stay in an older, non renovated place in Paris that is not half as nice or beautiful. The breakfasts were extra, and about $20, which seemed like a lot, but there were many food selections that seemed very french. The food quality and presentation was excellent. There were many things to select that we don't have in the US. This is a great location for visiting the Louvre and the Musee d'Orsay which we like better than the Louvre. By the way, the bathrooms have bathtubs, so if you like to have a hot soak after a heavy day sightseeing, you can have it here. The bed was very comfortable too--not like many hotels in Europe with very hard beds--this bed was softer and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank renaissancetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
There are newer reviews for La Clef Louvre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 637 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights over New Year to celebrate his 50th birthday. An absolutely stunning hotel in every aspect. The room itself was high-class, spacious, luxurious, clean and tasteful. The bed was the most comfortable ive ever slept in. The curtains block out all the light and the kitchen has everything you could possibly need. On the day of my husbands birthday, there was a card - handwritten by the manager, and a box of handmade chocolates wishing him a happy birthday. The little touches made it very special.. from the slippers, bathrobes, to the toiletries - even cotton buds and body lotion! The only downside was that we didnt spend as much time inside the hotel due to exploring the city! I wouldnt return to Paris itself due to the queues, extortionate prices and quite rude people but this does not take away from its magnificence!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed at the Citadines Suites Louvre for five nights over new years eve. A wonderful hotel - our apartment was on the sixth floor overlooking La Comedie Francaise. The staff and in particular, Chloe went out of their way to be helpful. The apartment itself was terrific, the bed luxuriant, and the washing machine and dryer well used. Love Cafe Ruc on NEW Years eve, and the Jules Verne restaurant at the Eiffel Tower whilst expensive was well worth it. Loved Paris, but have decided is should not be called the City of Lights but the City of Queues......... Thankyou Citadine for a great stay - we will be back

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greg637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I will start by saying this was the best hotel we have ever stayed in. We have stayed in larger, we have stayed in more expensive, we have even stayed in higher rated.....but never has there been a more classy or sophisticated place as this The Citadines Louvre. I am trying to figure out how to hack the TripAdvisor software so we can rate it with 9 or 10 stars, instead of the customary 5 for excellent.

The Staff: Cristian, Sophie, Jon and the rest. Were the most impeccable and friendly people you would ever want to meet. We had never been to Paris before, so how is it that when we walked through the front door we already had best friends in France.

They were aware of our anniversary, because several family members had called in advance
to order flowers, wine, balloons etc. to be placed in the room. The staff was so patient with the multiple inquiries! When we arrived they had upgraded our room to a top floor suite.

Since we did not want to lock ourselves in to dinner plans ahead of time; many times we would call downstairs at 5 or 6 pm for a dinner recommendation later the same evening. Within a few minutes we had multiple recommendations to choose from. Each time the recommendation was a great... we had some of our best meals at the last minute recommendation of the staff!

Beyond the staff and accommodations, the location could not have been better. The metro, the Louvre, the opera house, the shopping, the restaurants, wine bars etc all within a 5 min walk. I hope that we have the chance to visit again-

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Myers8156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I recently traveled to Paris with my wife to celebrate the New Year. We researched a lot of hotels and decided on the Citidines Suites Louvre. We travel a lot both personally and for business so we tend to expect a lot from a property. I can say that Citidines Suites exceeded our expectations! This hotel has recently been renovated and you can tell. Everything looks and feels new! Stay at this hotel and you will not be disappointed. It will be your home away from home. The staff went above and beyond to make our vacation memorable. They are great! Our room was exceptionally clean and even had a kitchen that included a washer/dryer. The best part: They have a honor bar just off the main lobby. You can enjoy a quiet drink before your night out in Paris! Location is great - a 2-minute walk to the Louvre. You will get a lot of value for your money at this hotel. The next time I travel to Paris I will be staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Went to Paris for New Years on a mother daughter trip for five nights. I cant review this hotel high enough. From the moment we walked in we were treated so well. Our room was beautiful with lovely attention to detail. From the nespresso machine in the immaculate fully appointed kitchen to the l'occitane bathroom accessories. Even the hair dryer had multiple attachments. The location was outstanding. We walked to everything. A large Monoprix market is a five minute walk and good to have to stock up on basics, wine, cheese, bread etc...We did not take advantage of the breakfast buffet but it looked good. There are a bunch of really good places to eat on Rue de Richelieu, we especially liked the Bistro Richelieu.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelproGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

This proved a really good spot for our family to see Paris from - close to metro and handy for local shops and restaurants! Although the flat was very small the settee became a quite comfortable double bed. Staff were very helpful too !! Would recommend for families or couples .

Stayed: January 2014
4  Thank Artentity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#93 of 1,804 in Paris
1,092 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel La Tamise - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
#15 of 1,804 in Paris
1,509 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#17 of 1,804 in Paris
370 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#36 of 1,804 in Paris
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Clef Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Clef Louvre

Address: 8 rue Richelieu | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France (Formerly Citadines Suites Louvre Paris)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#28 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#111 Business Hotel in Paris
#127 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $388 - $747 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Clef Louvre 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Clef Louvre Paris is located in the cultural and historical heart of Paris, opposite the Comedie Francaise theatre and the Louvre Museum and just a few minutes' walk away from the Rue de Rivoli and the Opera Garnier. This luxury "Boutique Residence" will seduce by you with its stunning Art Deco architecture, as well as its distinctive elegance and exceptional location. La Clef Louvre Paris is, in itself, a beautiful work of art. Built in 1908, it features an Art Nouveau façade made from dressed-stone, adorned with balconies, sculptures and colonnades, a perfect complement to the immaculately designed suites - your haven in the city. La Clef Louvre Paris offers a fitness room, a living room area equipped with a LCD TV and a computer with free Internet access and a printer. In our lounge area you can savor our buffet breakfast composed of fresh local products or relax at the end of the day with refreshment from our Honesty bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Clef Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Paris Le Louvre Hotel Paris
Citadines Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing