We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hotel stay in Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Ranked #188 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect hotel stay in Paris”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent 10 glorious days at the Albe, and everything about this place was exactly what we were looking for. *VERY* clean and modern interiors with immaculate bathrooms. My girlfriend and her mother loved soaking in the ample-sized tubs with lots of hot water and surprisingly high water pressure, while I enjoyed the shower attachments (yes, even the tub-only rooms have shower attachments). Sure the rooms are small-ish, but what are you wanting to do in your room? Enough room so that when two friends come over, you can offer them a seat while you sit on your bed or stand near the door. Plenty of closet space to put away luggage for two and very comfortable near king-sized beds. The twin bed room next door was actually slightly larger, but had a smaller bathroom. The mini-safe in the closet was perfect as it just held my 14-inch laptop, along with camera, passport, US dollars, etc. Nice desk for reading with a little tv that has one english channel (CNN World which we watched everyday). They tell you not to store personal items in the mini-bar, but we did without incident, and I'm sure we are not the first. The staff was so helpful with advice for things to do, and they genuinely enjoyed helping me with my high-school level french. But of course the #1 thing about this hotel is the location, which CANNOT be beaten. 2 minutes from the metro, RER, and the Seine, and a 5-minute walk to Notre Dame. (Tip: when arriving from the airport CDG, take the RER to St. Michel/Notre Dame, and go to Sortie #6 which has an elevator which will take you and your luggage to the street level about 3-minutes from the hotel.) There are dozens of cafes and restaurants within a two-minute walk and this area really comes to life at night (like a mini Mardi Gras). Even the native Parisian who came to meet us one night was impressed with the location. I told him to meet at the famous Fontaine St. Michel which is two minutes from the hotel and a great landmark. So many fun things to do. My only advice would be to avoid the hotels breakfast buffet which was actually good but a little over-priced at 12 Euros. Go instead to the little bakery next door and order a formule duo for 7.90 which will feed two (and tell Pierre hello!). There is even a McDonalds, a Pharmacie, and a little shopping supermarket within a three-minute walk. Everyone in this area speaks english better than you speak french (unless you are fluent), though when you ask them if they do, they all so "only a little bit." The free hotel wi-fi was something we definitely appreciated for checking e-mail, looking up train schedules and buying museum tickets in advance. On our next trip to Paris we wouldn't even consider looking anywhere else (why?). Finally, a couple of tips on what you must do in Paris. Walk up the 700-some steps to the 2nd floor of the Eiffel Tower (surprisingly easy, a total blast, and only a 5-minute line), go see Versailles (simply amazing), and definitely take the train to Vernon and go see Monet's Garden at Giverny (an unbelievable experience).

Room Tip: If traveling with women, get a room with a tub. They really enjoyed soaking in it after a long day o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    500
    72
    23
    6
See reviews for
307
464
77
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located near metro stops. Arriving by Eurostar train and departing from Charles de Gaul was easy. It is also close to many sights. The rooms are very clean, but tiny. Even though we had a room that faced the street, noise wasn't a problem. This wasn't a bargain; a similiar hotel in the states would be much cheaper.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zlin, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great location. Small rooms, even for European standards. On a busy tourist street but quiet when windows are closed. Problém with sewage gas emanating from shower drain. Clean and comfortable. The employees at reception were friendly but generally unknowledgable. The wifi worked well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Location +++++ Staff +++++. Easy transportation from Orlyairport : Orlyval stopped at Anthony- changed with RER B stopped at St.Michel and just 4-5 mins until the hotel. There is lugage room if arrive too early or if have late flight All I can say Me and my parents had a great stay in this hotel. Will stay again in this hotel for another visit to Paris. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank xodoudouxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Our hotel was literally next door to Notre Dame, right by a train station, and a easy walk to the louvre. This made it an ideal place to base ourselves for a few days in Paris. We speak no French, but the staff all spoke excellent English and were super friendly and helpful. The rooms were not huge, but they were big enough for us. We travelled with two kids, and had to book two rooms, this was not a problem, but it did highlight that some rooms have showers and some baths, so ask for your preference when you book. The hotel is very small, four floors with five rooms on each. It was much nicer than staying in a bland, cookie cutter chain hotel, but still very reasonably priced. I'd definitely make this my first choice for any future stay in Paris.

Room Tip: The main tip would be, let the staff know if you want a room with a bath, or one with a shower. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Whoever took pictures for this hotel is pretty creative. It appears more modern and sleek than it actually is. It is pretty average. The location may work for some but it did not for us as this was in the heart of St Michel busy and touristic. Though I have to say it was not noisy at all.
A few minutes away from a Metro station and close to RER from and to the airport which was a plus. The room we had was pretty spacious especially by Parisian standards. There is a mini bar and a large bathroom. it may be a good place for families
For the price I would have expected a little more charm

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Yasmine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights with our 13yr old son. The staff was very kind, the room was clean & comfortable, and breakfast was good. The location is perfect, so many places to eat and shop. The metro is so close, but we only used it a few times as we just walked everywhere. I would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank DebbieJGS
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
#242 of 1,802 in Paris
634 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#205 of 1,802 in Paris
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#271 of 1,802 in Paris
881 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
#631 of 1,802 in Paris
544 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
#445 of 1,802 in Paris
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albe Saint Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albe Saint Michel

Property: Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Address: 1 rue de la Harpe | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#154 Family Hotel in Paris
#163 Business Hotel in Paris
#239 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albe Saint Michel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Albe Saint Michel is a in Paris with a chic, contemporary decor located right by the legendary Place Saint-Michel and rue de la Huchette, just a few steps away from Notre Dame. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Albe Saint Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Albe St Michel
d Albe St Michel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing