We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in the Latin quarter near to Notre Dame”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Ranked #186 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel has a great location in the latin quarter, near to everything. The rooms are clean, but small. There was nowhere to put our suitcases in the room. They also have rules about a lot of things. Not allowed to put your medicines or your drinks in the mini bar. It is only for use of drinks provided by the hotel. Not allowed to rince off clothing in the sink...
you only get one key for each room - which is very unconvenient. When my friend went to bed before med the receptionist had to walk me to the room an lock me in..... weird.
You also cannot take the key with you when you got out, but HAVE to leave it at the desk.

You can hear everything in this hotel - walls are thin. Stay in a room far from the elevator and as high up as possible.

The staff in reception was very helpfull and pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 1,272 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great location but didn't find the staff very helpful or friendly! We were fortunate enough to stay at some hotels with some fantastic staff and owners and they made such a positive difference on our stay, so we were a little bit disappointed with Hotel D'Albe. However the location and price were great so if they are your main priorities then this may be a good choice for you!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boru80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Excellent customer service provided by Carol who is such a gem. She is so busy and accommodating still, the hotel should give her an assistant to help her out. Seriously.

Location is excellent, the top reason why we chose to stay here as it’s right smack in the heart of the Latin Quarter. A stone’s throw away from Fontaine St. Michel, Musee de Cluny, and my favourite, Notre Dame Cathedral- only 3 to 5 minutes walking distance. Easily accessible by the metro, half a block away, and right outside is the local bus which is what I regularly took aside from being able to walk everywhere from this location. We are surrounded by massive choices of food from greek, asian, european, to your local french, dishes courtesy of Rue de la Huchette- a street with endless rows of restaurants and some boutique shops. Along Saint Michel are where the affordable shops are and where local Parisians shop as La Sorbonne is nearby. Monoprix grocery store is also a block or two away.

Hotel room is modernly deocrated with colours of red and white. Bathroom is eco-friendly. The room of course is small, as all modest-priced Parisian hotels are, but it was adequate size for two people. Room size was not a concern for us as we had previously been to Paris before and had expected it. Whoever expects a big as North American sized room like the ones in Vegas should be realistic and change their frame of mind unless they are willing to pay the price of staying at a much pricier hotel.

This boutique hotel is worth the price of 230 euros a night with complimentary standard continental breakfast.

It is also a short walk to the Ponte des arts and the Louvre, about 20+ minutes.

They offer group shuttle from hotel to the airport which is a lot cheaper than taking a cab.

Hotel Albe St. Michel will be my next go to when I am traveling to Paris again. Although I must say, Rome & Florence trumps Paris a-n-y-d-a-y!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ysabel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed here with my husband for 2 nights. Our room was normal size for Paris but the bed was very comfortable, linens excellent, bathroom very clean and modern with plenty of hot water and water pressure. We were worried that being on the 3rd floor we might hear too much street noise but it really did settle down and we had very restful nights. We didn't hear any of our neighbors or hallway noise so the insulation must be pretty good.

The front desk clerks were awesomely helpful and spoke excellent English.

This hotel, for us, was difficult to find only because we arrived in our rental
car thinking we'd drop off our luggage then go drop off our car. Bad idea.
The street this hotel is on is a one-way, one lane, mostly pedestrian street which, to us,
looked like we couldn't drive on it at all since there were so many people walking
in the street.

The other useful thing to know is that the lobby is small, no bellman or anything,
just the really nice people at the front desk. The elevator is really small, max
4 people type. The halls are narrow as well. You have to walk up 3 or so steps
to get to the elevator. There was someone in a wheelchair who was in the lobby
when I was there so there must be some sort of accommodation for handicap
access but it wasn't obvious to me.

If you arrive in a taxi or on the Metro you'd be best off. The Metro is really close
and works really, really well. You can also walk to sooo many places just like
all the other reviewers have said. This section of town is VERY busy with lots
of nighttime activity in the streets.

We did have the breakfast downstairs for 12 euros. It had yummy espresso drinks
that you made yourself, an egg boiler for hard boiled or soft boiled eggs, fruit,
cold cuts, cheeses, pastries, plenty to eat and all self-serve. The woman assisting
kept everything well-stocked and clean.

I think for the price and the helpfulness of the front desk you can beat this place
not to mention the totally comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

As a first timer to France I had no idea what to expect. This hotel was a treasure. In a perfect location, we walked to the Louvre & Notre Dame. The rooms are small - but spotless and modern. A big bonus was having a bar fridge - which is not that common over there. It meant we didn't always have to eat out & could make our own coffee in the room with our travel kettle. By opening the windows you could here the bustling vibe of music & buskers - yet we were able to get a good sleep. You could hear water running through the walls via plumbing alot of the time which was a bit weird, but then, the rooms are so close together. No complaints overall and a very good base to explore Paris on.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozgirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Visited this hotel for a 3 night stay with a Canadian friend who had never been to Paris before. The room, although small, had everything we needed and I liked the little balcony. The bathroom was immaculate. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. The location was great for a first time visitor to Paris. We could walk to Notre Dame, The Louvre, Luxembourg Gardens etc. and there was no shortage of restaurants to chose from. It was great to have free wifi, something that I felt the lack of in another nearyby hotel on an earlier trip to Paris this year. We didn't try the breakfasts, having discovered the adjoining bakery, so I cannot comment on them. I would definitely return here and recommend it to other people

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed here on recommendation of a contact of a family member. Great place, couldn't believe how easy it was to find emerging from Metro direct from Charles de Gaulle when I had no idea where it was! Room was a bit cramped, especially the bathroom - could have been because we had a corner room overlooking the "Y" intersection the hotel is located at. Breakfast fairly spartan but all that was needed. Wifi net access not very reliable and sometimes a bit of a problem. But can't beat the location for a reasonable price, right in the heart of the Latin Quarter with Notre Dame so close.

Room Tip: Not sure as no idea what other rooms are like
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fabsnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#262 of 1,804 in Paris
937 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
#227 of 1,804 in Paris
857 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#192 of 1,804 in Paris
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Les Rives De Notre Dame
Les Rives De Notre Dame
#822 of 1,804 in Paris
222 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
#569 of 1,804 in Paris
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albe Saint Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albe Saint Michel

Address: 1 rue de la Harpe | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#77 Family Hotel in Paris
#162 Business Hotel in Paris
#238 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $178 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albe Saint Michel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Albe Saint Michel is a in Paris with a chic, contemporary decor located right by the legendary Place Saint-Michel and rue de la Huchette, just a few steps away from Notre Dame. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Albe Saint Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Albe St Michel
d Albe St Michel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing