We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Ranked #196 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2011

By pure chance (and some TripAdvisor research) we have chosen Albe Hotel as our base for the 5 day Paris trip. What a find! The location is right in the heart of everything, especially if you are not into metro/bus/taxi. Nestled in the most colourful part of central Paris, the Latin Quarter, it provides the unique experience if travelling to Paris for the first time. Saint Michel Boulevard is just around the corner (supermarket, shops), cute little places for spot of lunch or dinner everywhere around you. Notre Dame is 3 minutes walk away, the city island with a market just near the Notre Dame, and 3 more minutes of walkin - voila, you're at the famous Hotel de Ville, on Rue de Rivoli (shopping, Louvre, Musee d'Orsay, etc.) Since the Albe hotel is located just by the river, there is a convenient way to get to different city location cruising down the river Seine (look for Batobus stations).
Back to the hotel - great location, very clean, friendly (English speaking) and helpful staff. We stayed in a triple room which was OK in size (concerning it is Paris, famous for tiny rooms), with three double-glazed french balcony windows (no street noise in the room). The breakfast was very satisfying, buffet style.
Overall, Albe Hotel is a little gem and comes highly recommended! Will come back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tijanav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

567 - 573 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2011

My mum and i stayed at Hotel albe for 5 nights in September 2011. We caught the euro star from London to Paris and found it very easy to catch the metro from Gare du Nord to St Michel. The hotel is a 1 min walk from the metro station. It is in the food area of the latin quarter. There are so many eateries to choose from. The hotel was very modern, clean and comforatble. The staff speak excellent english and are very accomodating. They are also very helpful in booking any tours, shuttles to the airport and printing boarding passes. Our room was on the 1st floor. It was a lovely, clean room. It was very spacious for Paris as was the bathroom. The hotel is within walking distance to the Notre Dame, Louvre, Jardin de Luxembourg, FNAC, St Germain De pres and Pantheon. We did not have breakfast at the hotel but there is a fantastic bakery right next to the hotel if you choose not to have breakfast at the hotel. Although it can be very noisy on the streets at night, you could hardly hear any noise in your room.The hotel was the most expensive out of our whole european adventure but that is Paris for you. Hotel albe was in a great location. I would most definitely stay at this hotel again and i highly recommend it to others!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa26186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

The first thing to note is the very friendly and helpful staff. The room was a good size for Paris and the bathroom was surprisingly large, with a great shower. The breakfast was very good, and the location of the hotel is perfect. A very good choice!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francoise&David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

The highest compliment is to say you would choose again - and we would! The location is about two minutes walking from the metro stop and you feel as if you are in the center of Paris. The room was small, clean and very comfortable with little street noise. We did not have A/C but it was not a problem. The breakfast was more than we expected and the staff was quite willing to help with questions. From this location, you can walk almost anywhere in Paris or take the metro right outside this hotel. We'd love to come back and when we do, we'll choose Hotel D'Albe again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GnC4850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

I stayed here in May 2011 with two friends and had a wonderful weekend with my husband in early September 2011. The hotel is a typical bed and breakfast hotel, with nice and clean rooms and a pleasant breakfast room, serving good breakfast. The staff is very serviceminded. Though the rooms and bathrooms are not amongst the greatest you probably will find in Paris, you have enough place. Albe Hotel is within walking distance to several tourist attractions, such as Louvre, Notre Dame, Pantheon, Jardin de Luxembourg. Bouleward St Michel is just around the corner, and RER with direct connection to CDG Airport only 100 metres away.
We would really recommend this hotel and would definitely go there again!.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank inger2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We chose the Hotel D'Albe from the recommendations of friends who'd stayed there. We were in no way disappointed! From the moment we arrived, to when we left, we received excellent service from the pleasant and obliging staff, and enjoyed every moment of our stay. The Hotel is a charming old building, which has been extensively modernized, including an elevator. This is small but serviceable and certainly beats lugging cases up flights of narrow stairs. The room we were in was of adequate size, and had a separate toilet and bathroom, both of which were just large enough for their intended purposes. The bed was comfortable and the quality of linen and pillows excellent. We slept very well here, as the windows are double glazed and keep out street noise very effectively, even though you are right in the middle of a bustling, crowded area. The air conditioning is very effective in keeping the room cool, so you don't miss an open window. (The windows do open if you want some "atmosphere"!)
Free Wi-Fi is provided and works well.
The breakfast buffet selection is large and of high quality (this is France!), the dining room is large and charming, and the waitress friendly and helpful.
We loved our stay here - it is so close to so many iconic Paris attractions and convenient to transport too. An ideal place to spend a memorable week or so in this wonderful city. We will happily choose to stay at Hotel D'Albe again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

If you are looking for a hotel in a great location, this is a good hotel to be in. It's an old hotel so don't expect much. But you just walk out of the hotel, and right outside in the street is a crepe open till the wee hours of the morning and people are lined up. If you can't sleep with noise, this isn't for you. Noise even puts me to sleep. I'm just one of those kinds of people. They wash and clean the streets at 2 or 3 a.m. You wake up and it's like nothing happened the night before. If it's your first time in Paris, you don't even have to take the bus. Just perfect location! You can walk to Notre Dame, Seine River, even the Louvre or the bus if you're not up to it. So much to discover here. It's really up to you.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Parisbreakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
#227 of 1,802 in Paris
828 reviews
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#235 of 1,802 in Paris
926 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#193 of 1,802 in Paris
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Les Rives De Notre Dame
Les Rives De Notre Dame
#797 of 1,802 in Paris
222 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albe Saint Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albe Saint Michel

Address: 1 rue de la Harpe | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#154 Family Hotel in Paris
#162 Business Hotel in Paris
#238 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $177 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albe Saint Michel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Albe Saint Michel is a in Paris with a chic, contemporary decor located right by the legendary Place Saint-Michel and rue de la Huchette, just a few steps away from Notre Dame. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Albe Saint Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Albe St Michel
d Albe St Michel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing