We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Location and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg
Ranked #1,063 of 1,812 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Location and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Friends of ours who are frugal travelers recommended this hotel to us, and trusting their pick, we stayed here for 6 nights. The hotel itself shares a similar name to a number of hotels around Les Jardins du Luxembourg, and our online receipt happened to not have the street address printed on it, so be sure you make a note of it!
The hotel is situated well-in on a deadend street, so nicely quiet at night for a city such as Paris. Our room seemed to have sound proof glass, because once you opened it, you could hear a little noise at night, but nothing like a night in New York! This is a consideration because air-conditioning in Paris is not like what I suspect most of us in the US are used to, so we found opening the windows at night often was cooler than what the room A/C could achieve... hence some city sounds along with it.
To tour Paris, we felt the location was terrific. The hotel is a two minute walk from the "B" Line Metro stop (Luxembourg) on Rue Saint-Michel, and only a 5 minute walk from there to Boulevard St.-Germain. Another 5 or so minutes in that same direction, and you are at the Seine, Musee D'Orsay, Notre Dame, etc. Of course, Les Jardin du Luxembourg is just across from the Metro stop, and if you like to run, it has a terrific shady route or is nice to just casually stoll. By the way, you can take the Metro to and from Charles DeGualle airport to the nearby stop on the Metro B Line for just under 10 Euros and in an estimated half hour. Get the Paris Metro app.... the subway in Paris is simple and safe, and it beats an 80-100 Euro cab fare!!
The room was smallish as compared with many hotel accomodations we have experienced around the world, and it took a day to get used to it. However, if you unpack using the furniture in the room, and store your suitcase on top of the armoire, it's a big help. We also tend to not "hang out" in our room, preferring to be out and about the city, so it was very comforable for us. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. In the course of our stay we spoke with at least 4 different people on the front desk, and each one spoke English well and also worked happily with my efforts to use my rather elementary French. Bottom line, if you are expecting a 4 or 5-star hotel, then you likely will be disappointed, but if you like hidden boutique places to stay, then you should be happy.
We had 4 breakfasts at the hotel, two in our room and two in their dining room. We like to have coffee in our room to start our days when we travel, so on our first evening, we left an order for "coffee" the following day, but were surprised by a complete breakfast tray in the morning.... besides the coffee there was juice, yogurt, coissants and other breads, cheeses, preserves, etc. This replicated pretty much what was available in the dining room, although there you could also get scrambled eggs, bacon, fruit salad, cereal, etc. There was plenty to choose from and nice quality. It is important to note that if you have certain dietary restrictions, they may not be able to accommodate you. For example, we prefer no-fat yogurt and they could not provide it, so there may be other inflexibility there.... you can ask via email for more info before you arrive.
Also, to stay here, their best rates are available if your book online at their website which in English is: http://www.les-jardins-du-luxembourg.com/en/

Room Tip: We stayed in room 22 on the top floor (5th), and our room was bright in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank snorkelingfan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    69
    28
    11
    7
See reviews for
15
55
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are clean but the safety box did not work and was not fixed during my stay. The shower is badly constructed so the floor becomes like a swimming pool. They did not accept credit cards for paying the city tax and the staff in the reception was rather rude.

Helpful?
2 Thank Sjalander
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Despite the fact that my hotel room was kind of small, the location was great with a 10 min walk to reach Notre de Dame de Paris. The Jardin de Luxembourg was 100 yards away.
The front desk manager at night was very friendly which made a big difference for me.
Nice place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I enjoyed my stay here. The location is great (morning runs in the Jardin de Luxembourg), the room was so comfortable, and the staff was supremely helpful. I will stay again next time in Paris on business. I would not stay here with my young children - rooms too small and I saw no children although it was not tourist season. I ate breakfast one day at the hotel, the price is a little high but it was a generous breakfast. Also - it is very easy to get to the hotel from CDG on the RER.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Thank you Aurore/Reservations for your prompt/efficient correspondence to assist us with our booking.
I liked the calm & quiet atmosphere of this hotel - considering its location in the Latin Quartier.
Everything about the room & en suite was comfortable & functional.
Front Desk personnelle - the only ones we met - were very welcoming.
I would recommend it for anyone else visiting this area.
Merci beaucoup!

Room Tip: We did not eat at this hotel as we were visiting a friend who lived nearby. There was no pool here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SophiaLenferna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I have stayed in many hotels in Paris and this one is well worth it. The rooms are classic, smallish Paris rooms, however the furnishings are pleasant and the desk staff is superb! We stayed five nights which allowed us to see much of Paris and to get familiar with the local area restaurants. The quiet dead end street was a plus and the breakfast staff was more than accommodating. I'll be here again at my next visit to Paris.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

After I arrived in Paris, I saw that I could easily find something better for the same price just few blocks from this place. Old place, decadent decoration, the elevator seems that it is going to break every time I get in there, etc. I would say it is a 1-2 stars hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSantichio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
#633 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel du Bresil
Hotel du Bresil
#1,224 of 1,812 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#367 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel de Senlis
Hotel de Senlis
#1,496 of 1,812 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg
Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg
#1,026 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg

Property: Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg
Address: 5 impasse Royer Collard | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,063 of 1,812 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins Du Luxembourg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing