We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Grand Palace Hotel in Paris” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Paris Le Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Ranked #218 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
NY/Westport/Provence
Level Contributor
330 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
“The Best Grand Palace Hotel in Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

I have said it all in my previous two reviews but I was back in Paris last weekend and spent two nights. First, the reviewer who said that they don't live up to Prioirity Club rules must have been incredible obnoxious or not a platinum member. With all the amazing things I've written about this hotel I can add that as a priority member, , I was upgraded three levels up to a Jr Suite. I wrote a letter thanking the General Director and I received a bottle of champagne! No..I have never met M. Laure, but I certainly admire how he runs this best of the best...in Paris. Read my previos reviews if you want to know the 'real deal' about the Hotel that I return to several times a year when I am in Paris.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeTerrible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,494
    731
    266
    115
    70
See reviews for
492
1,075
154
578
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

It's a perfect location (2 blocks from the 2 largest shopping centers in Paris). It's a classic hotel redone in 2003 -- the lobby bar is beautiful, with an all glass atrium ceiling, and the room floors are well maintained.

The rooms are small -- our double bed was quite tight for myself, my wife, and our 3 month old sleeping in the middle. But the bathroom was quite magnificent, with good sized tub AND shower (and L'Occitane products).

Most impressive was the service. From check-in to check-out, we were well accommodated, even thought I was using 2 free nights. They found a room for us to check in earlier before noon. They answer the phone in 2 rings, at 6:30 in the morning to have housekeeping to bring up a kettle. They helped us countless time bring our baby buggy out of the hotel. And they let us check out at 3pm when leaving.

I've stayed at a lot of hotels, and for the first time in a long time I didn't feel like staying at a chain hotel while staying at a chain hotel.

Well done Paris-Grand. We'll be back.

Mr. Valueseeker

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrvalueseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

We have very much enjoyed our stay at Intercontinental Le Grand.
The hotel itself is beautifully decorated, the rooms are very comfortable with good size bathrooms for Paris standards.
We had a room with inside view on the cafe/lobby which was very quiet and calm.
The staff was friendly and helpfull at all times. Location in central Paris is the best!
Only minus I can think off: internet is not for free and no coffee/tea making facilities in the room.
Would definitely come back here if I can!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sairlines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

PRIORITY CLUB MEMBERS BEWARE.....this hotel will not honor the same amenities you get in the states...and will make no bones about it.Platinum members are treated like regular street customers......no newspapers,no business ctr access,no continental breakfast,...and a charge for everything..The worst hotel experince in my life....and I am diamond on hilton honors,platinum on SPG Starwood,and holiday inn..Avoid if at allpossible

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tstar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur Qualité at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Dear Tsar2

Thank you for your comment.
We are surprised to learn that you feel not having been recognized as an active Priority Club Member.
At the InterContinental Paris Le Grand we are invested to respect the standards and service owed to our loyal customers.
All our guest have access to our Business Center, however it is correct that free continental breakfast is not provided as it is not a standard of the Prioority Club program.
Should you decide to give us a second chance (which we hope) we remain at your entire disposal.

Kindest regards

Krumma Jonsdottir Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jordan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

my husband and i spent the weekend in paris at le grand hotel for the second time ,the standered of this hotel didnt change ,exellent .we stayed in the standerd room very nice , spacious and clean .breakfast was excellent , the location is the best in paris ,sightseeing and shopping.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nisreen-a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

Spent a long weekend at the InterContinental with four of my girlfriends. We had a great time in the city of Paris but our trip was marred by unfortunate circumstances once at the hotel. I used my credit card once the whole trip and that was to leave it with the girl at the front desk of the hotel. I found out when I returned home that I had over $10,000 in unauthorized charges on my account as well as an $800 fee for services rendered at the hotel. None of which we were responsible for. My credit card company is giving me a hard time but will probably ultimately relieve me of the charges. And last but not least our rooms smelled like cigarette smoke...oh well, we were in Paris after all. Traveler beware.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank courtsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

First off be warned if you stay on the Opera side of the hotel you will be disturbed by the vibrations of Metro trains every ten minutes all day and most of the night - we didn't sleep! And you pay more for the privilege! When we first arrived, the opulence and grandeur of the entrance and lobby (not to mention the high rates) set us up to believe that we were about to experience a truly luxurious stay. However, scratch beneath the surface and only disappointment awaits. We booked a night there for my wife's birthday at the tail end of a business trip - it was the fourth hotel between us that week - and had booked a room with an Opera view which is supposedly the highest category of room apart from the suites - so better than superior and classic etc... We were paying over 400 euros. The view of the Opera was beautiful and the room itself was spacious, very elegant, luxurious looking and beautiful. So at first we were very impressed. It turned out though that the bathroom was literally the size of a closet. We asked reception if there was a room with a larger bathroom but after initially suggesting we pay more to upgrade to a suite and later insisting that the hotel was full, we got the truth that there were rooms with better bathrooms but they were reserved for VIPs. OK, so we decided to live with it, no big deal in the end.
Really it was the disturbing vibrations of the Metro that really ruined our stay in the end. The hotel should warn people who book on the Opera side of this, when we complained the staff freely admitted that this was an issue. How the hotel can charge extra for these rooms is incredible. What is the point of a great view if it feels as if there are minor earthquakes going off every ten minutes.
The final disappointment was the quality of food from room service - edible but truly disappointing given the prices.
Overall, the staff were very polite but frankly I felt that the hotel is so big and so busy that they have no real reason to be helpful, they gain nothing from it, which is a shame because so many people had told me the hotel is good and I had stayed there almost ten years previously and remembered it to be good. However, we will never recommend it or stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mustafarawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Directeur Qualité at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Dear Mustafarawi,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
At the InterContinental Paris Le Grand we offer 470 guest rooms.and suites, no 2 rooms are 100% identical.in shape or size. As you mention in your comment we do have rooms facing the magnificent Opera Garnier and guest are able to request this view. You are also right that like almost every building in Paris the metro is present in the underground. However the trafic is reduced as of 10pm and unexisting during the night.
We regret that you felt uncorfortable in your room due to the metro and the size of the bathroom, and that you did not appreciate the quality of the food served by Room Service.
We hope that you are ready to give us a second chance to show you that we are devoted to serve our guests and meet their expectations.
Sincere regards,

Krumma Jonsdottir Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
#142 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
InterContinental Paris-Avenue Marceau
Opera / Bourse
Maison Athenee
Maison Athenee
#114 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Opera / Bourse
W Paris - Opera
W Paris - Opera
#346 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Paris Le Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Paris Le Grand

Property: InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Address: 2 Rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in Paris
#126 Family Hotel in Paris
#142 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#191 Business Hotel in Paris
#203 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Paris Le Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Paris Le Grand, opened during the reign of Napoleon III, is located in the very heart of the city: across the street from the Opéra Garnier, close to some of the best-known Parisian attractions, world-famous department stores and the wonderful Place Vendôme. The hotel contains 470 rooms, all richly decorated in the colours of the Opéra, and a warmly illuminated haven of peace and serenity in the bustle of Parisian life: la Verrière. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your InterContinental Paris Le Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Paris Le Grand Hotel Paris
Le Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing