We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Elegant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Ranked #219 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We stayed using points from my husbands stays at Holiday Inns. It was a very nice hotel. Multilingual staff, efficient valet, elegant. The room was nice, but i would have been upset if I really paid 700 euros a night and it looked like a normal room. We never ate or drank at the restaurant. Breakfast was almost 40 euros per person and drinks were 15-20 euros each. Staff was friendsly. A few minutes walk from the metro (the opera was beautiful at night). Overall we had a nice expereience, but it is expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Govar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 24, 2010

Dear Govar,

We appreciate you sharing your experience and thank you for having chosen our hotel for your last visit to Paris and hope to welcome you soon again.

Sincere regards,

Krumma Jonsdottir
Front of the House Director
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
krumma.jonsdottir@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,970)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,776 - 1,782 of 2,970 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2010

The best thing about this hotel is the location. Right across from the Opera and a block away from the huge shopping area with includes the Galerie Layfayette. Many good restaurants are nearby and the area is not too touristy which is pleasant.

The hotel itself is luxurious and if the company is picking up the tab, this would be a good choice. However, the rack rate for the basic room is over 700 Euros and this hotel is just not worth that. To further add insult to injury, internet is 24 Euros per day and a beer in the bar is at least 12 Euros. My personal favorite, the mini bar soda... 9 Euros for a 12 ounce can of Cola. Even the fitness center was 25 Euros a day.

I don't mind paying for a good hotel but I hate to feel completely overcharged. This hotel is simply not worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shannon2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Visually, the hotel is very "Grand" and has ornate furniture and decor throughout the whole hotel. I don't have any complaints about the service, but nothing stands out as exceptional either. As far as location goes it is very close to department stores and the opera, and a 15-20 minute walk to the center of Paris. The breakfast is extremely expensive (45+ dollars) - I've been there on business and I didn't feel ethically ok paying this much for breakfast so I caught breakfast at a close local cafe. I would recommend this hotel for a more conservitive guest. I would not recommend this hotel for a modern guest or a guest that wants to be close to non commercial shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happy_TravelerMPLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 19, 2010

Dear Happy_TravelerMPLS,

Thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisors readers.
We are pleased to see that you felt the hotel convenient although we would have hoped to meet your expectations in all aspects.

I can agree with you that we are not considered as a modern hotel. It was Napleon the 3rd that had the hotel built and it was inaugurated in May 1862 by Eugenie the Impress. We provide ofcourse all modern service and tecnhology but in regards to decoration we are proud of our origins and wish every guest to feel the tradition and the impressive history of the Grand Hôtel even before it became an InterContinental Hotel.

Next time you'll be visiting Paris, step by and ask for the historical visit made by our employees, I am sure that we will capture your curiosity.

Yours sincerely,

Krumma Jonsdottir
Front of the House Director
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
krumma.jonsdottir@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

Great hotel. It is well situated to explore and only a couple of minutes walk to the metro. Our room was well appointed and charming (we had an executive). It was also spacious, clean, well serviced and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and had a great variety that catered to all palates. The customer service was what you would expect for a big luxury hotel chain. The staff were always pleasant, warm and formal....but not personable in that, they would know you or greet you by your name (but that is generally the norm in a large hotel with numerous staff).

We spent our honeymoon in this hotel - September last year for a week. What I found memorable was the service we received upon our arrival. We were greeted very warmly by front desk and upon entering our rather spacious room, we had waiting for us a fruit platter, chocolates, lovely champagne and a warm welcoming card hand signed from guest relations. We were given a balcony room with a clear and beautiful view of the Eiffel. Tired and exhausted after a 24 hour flight, it was a pleasant interlude to what was a nice and comfortable stay at Le Grand Intercontinental.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lys0N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 19, 2010

Dear Lys0N,

Thank you for your comments,

We are happy to see that you enjoyed your visit and our services.
Hoping to welcome you soon again,

Yours sincerely,

Krumma Jonsdottir
Front of the House Director
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
krumma.jonsdottir@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Actually my family has stayed at this "Grand" Hotel on 2 seperate occasions. We were thrilled ...and loved every thing about this wonderful hotel...from the lavishly decorated rooms and baths..to the Grand Ball room...to the views of Opera Garnier from our top floor rooms...to the Cafe de la Paix...and the wonder staff.....and Conceierge.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sterling_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 19, 2010

Dear Sterling_USA,

What to say, "thank you", thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Looking forward welcoming you soon again,

kindest regards,

Krumma Jonsdottir
Front of the House Director
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
krumma.jonsdottir@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Very smart and clean, but beware the room you are given. I was upgraded on arrival from a standard room on 4th floor to a junior suite on 1st floor. The room was huge and plush, but seemed to be just above the Metro, so much noise and some vibration. After a considerable amount of searching, they found me another room on 2nd floor (Scribe wing), more normal size. Some very slight noise and vibration fro the Metro.

Although having to move was a pain (and I still wonder whether my 'upgrade' was because someone else had the same problem too), I cannot fault the efforts of the staff to find the other room.

One other big plus: I ordered room service breakfast, it arrived within 10 minutes, a real first for any Paris hotel. Food is excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller2010ABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 19, 2010

Dear Traveller2010ABC,

Thank you for your comments,

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff has been attentive to your needs.
Out of our 470 rooms no 2 rooms are the same and the same number of guest will have the same number (or more) of different needs. We are devoted to find the right thing for the right guest at the righ occasion and do admit it can sometimes take time.

We hope to have the occasion to welcome you at least 470 times so you will discovers all our different rooms and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might need.

Yours sincerely,

Krumma Jonsdottir
Front of the House Director
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
krumma.jonsdottir@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

I'm a fan of the Intercontinental in London, so when my family decided to spend a few days in Paris, I booked us into the Intercontinental in Paris. The two hotels are very different. While the I in London looks to be a less luxurious, the one in Paris seems, at least at first glance, to be the real deal. I'm not, however, so sure.
My kids are shouting out to remind all the the lounge in the la Grande in Paris has the best hot chocolate in the world. I will agree.
Our room was fine. Classically decorated. As a member of their points program I got a gift of some Madelines which was nice. The room was small, but that's what one expects in Paris.
The front desk staff was fine. The waitstaff in the lounge was fine. Nothing positive or negative to report.
We ate in the hotel at the famous Cafe de le Paix. The food was great, the mice running around our feet were not. Even more distressing waa the fact that no one, besides the patrons were concerned with having rodents in the restaurant. We informed the front desk. They sent a basket of cookies and fruit the next day to apologize.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mkouzmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 29, 2010

Dear Mkouzmine,

Thank you for your post on TripAdvisor.
We are happy to see that you are a regular guest at the InterContinental Hotels in general and that you have chosen our property for your last stay.

We regret to hear that during a pleasant stay you have seen a mouse at the restaurant tarnishing your opinion of our hotel.

Unfortunately we have identified that this "visit" is due to some construction work outside the hotel. Immediately an action plan has been put in place and we are reliefed to already see its
benefits.

We hope to welcome you soon again in Paris and remain at your entire disposal.

Sincere regards

Krumma Jonsdottir
Front of the House Director
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
krumma.jonsdottir@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Louvre / Palais-Royal
The Westin Paris - Vendome
The Westin Paris - Vendome
#489 of 1,803 in Paris
3,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Paris Madeleine
#252 of 1,803 in Paris
1,180 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
#295 of 1,803 in Paris
390 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Paris Le Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Paris Le Grand

Address: 2 Rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in Paris
#125 Family Hotel in Paris
#152 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#190 Business Hotel in Paris
#201 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $230 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Paris Le Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Paris Le Grand, opened during the reign of Napoleon III, is located in the very heart of the city: across the street from the Opéra Garnier, close to some of the best-known Parisian attractions, world-famous department stores and the wonderful Place Vendôme. The hotel contains 470 rooms, all richly decorated in the colours of the Opéra, and a warmly illuminated haven of peace and serenity in the bustle of Parisian life: la Verrière. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Paris Le Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Paris Le Grand Hotel Paris
Le Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing