We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic hotel at a great location with helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Ranked #220 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I was here a 2nd time this year for a conference. The hotel has a classic look with great rooms in central Paris. It's very close to the Opera and Galleries Lafayette.

I arrived quite early and the lady at the reception was kind enough to not only help me put the luggage away but also ensured that it was in my room later when it was allotted. The hotel has a classic look about it and the breakfast area is quite grand. The main conference room is one of the most beautiful I have seen.

Many attractions like Place de la Concorde, Louvre, Montmartre are within. 20 min walking distance. I arrived late from my tours on both days close to midnight walking the streets alone with a camera and felt completely safe. There is an Orange store close by for buying SIM cards. Eiffel Tower is accessible by taking the metro to Trocadero.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PMtraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality Department at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear PinakiMishra,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to read that you were well taken care of by our staff and that you felt comfortable and safe in and around the hotel.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Paris in the future, maybe for a leisure trip!

Kind Regards,

Sally Durrant
Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,971)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,010 - 1,016 of 2,971 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

Front desk staff put us in a closet room despite our reservation for high end room, which another front desk staff told us was open, but mean spiteful anti-American boss at front desk refused to budge. Poorly indicated room location, really a hike down hallways with un-numbered rooms until finally found housekeeping assistance who directed us. No twin, queen, or king size bed, two singles pushed together. Electricity failed in room despite Euro adapter, took a while to fix, just really not the "Gay Paris" one expects for $$$$. Other staff besides mean one at front desk very warm and helpful. And this is just the first day!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SteveLaverson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear SteveLaverson,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room assignment prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Le Grand was everything I would imagine an upscale European hotel to be. I don't travel to other countries looking for an American-style hotel, so I was thrilled. The staff was fantastic, especially the concierge. We had a view of the Opera which was amazing when lit up at night, it felt like we were so close that we could touch it! I also enjoyed listening to all the street performers in front of the Opera from our balcony. The location is good for shopping and several metro lines pass through the Opera station. The Louvre and Champs-Elysees is not too far to walk.

Room Tip: Ask for an opera-view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chaska_MNChaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality Department at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Chaska_MNChaska,

Thank you for your glowing review here on Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the view over the Opera House did contribute to this enjoyment. It really does have something magic!

Thank you for your compliments on our staff, these will passed on to the teams, especially to the Concierge.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the InterContinental Paris Le Grand in the future.

Kind Regards,

Sally Durrant
Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We went on a Taulk Tour to London and Paris May 2014. Our Paris Hotel was the the Le Grand. I would compare it to the Plaza in NYC.The room was lovely ,wonderful bedding ,great bathroom,small balcony. The hotel itself was beautiful.The staff ,decor ,and service is that of a five star hotel. The location simply perfect. I would stay are this hotel again when I visit Paris.

Room Tip: Bathroom with bathtub and shower that are separate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TerriJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality & Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Terry John,

First of all, we want to thank you for choosing the InterContinental Paris Le Grand on the occasion of your last stay in Paris and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to see that you found our very central location convenient and that your room contributed to your comfort during your stay with us.
Also, we would like to thank you for your compliments on our hotel , we are pleased that you enjoyed our Empire style decoration. Thank you for your kind words.

Also, we are thrilled that our quality of service was over your expectations and that our hotel staff contributed to your well-being. Be assured that your comment will be shared with them.

Dear Terry John, we would like to thank you once again for your review and for all your compliments. We are sincerely glad that your experience has contributed to make your stay memorable and we would be pleased to welcome you back at the Intercontinental Paris Le Grand Hotel very soon.


Kind regards,
Quality & Administrative Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel is in a great location. Close to a lot of areas. You can walk to the Lourve, Arc De Triomphe, the Champs- Élysées, Musee d'Orsay and it's right by the Opera house and the Metro. Glad I chose this area.
The hotel has nice size rooms and has good service. The staff was friendly.
When we arrived our room was not ready so we sat and had complimentary coffee and macaroons.
I requested double beds which we did not get. We were told they can separate the beds which we found out could not be done. We were then switched to a better room and given 2 separate comforters. They upgraded us at no charge. Our beds were turned down every night.
I would have like a better concierge service. They did not have great suggestions but they were very nice.
I definitely suggest this hotel.

Room Tip: Try a room on a higher floor and if you can get a Opera House view that would be great. We faced som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality & Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Rochrossi ,

First of all, we want to thank you for choosing the InterContinental Paris Le Grand on the occasion of your last stay in Paris and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to see that you found our very central location convenient.
Our hotel is indeed ideally located for sightseeing or shopping.
Also, we would like to thank you for your compliments on our hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your welcoming. Thank you for your kind words. We are attached to the quality of service delivered to our guests.

Regarding our concierge service, we are deeply sorry that it has not completely met your expectations. However, we certainly appreciate your compliments regarding our hotel staff as well as for our quality of service.

Dear Rochrossi, we would like to thank you once again for your review.
Despite of some inconveniences that you have been faced during your stay with us,we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Intercontinental Paris Le Grand Hotel soon.

Kind regards,
Quality & Administrative Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Le Grand and loved every second. We booked the room with our IHG points and were upgraded to an Opera view room on the 4th floor. We spent a lot of time on our little balcony, staring out at the city scene below. I'd call the room standard size for a large city, with all of the amenities you would expect. The hotel is located right next to a Metro stop. You can also take the Roissybus straight from CDG to the Le Grand, which is an easy way to get to the hotel from the airport. Lastly, we experienced exemplary service from all of the staff at the Le Grand. The concierge went out of their way to give us train information and restaurant recommendations.

Room Tip: The Opera wing should afford you a view of the Palais Garnier, which is very beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curtiswcallaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality & Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Curtiswcallaway,

First of all, we want to thank you for choosing the InterContinental Paris Le Grand on the occasion of your last stay in Paris, for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor as well as for your loyalty as an IHG Rewards Club member.


Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted that our hotel staff, as well as our quality of service have contributed to your well-being during your stay with us. Be assured that your comment will be shared onto our teams. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests.
We are attached to the quality of service delivered to our guests.

Moreover, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your room with its fabulous Opera view and that it has contributed to your comfort during your stay with us.

Also, we are delighted to see that you found our very central location convenient.

Dear Curtiswcallaway, we would like to thank you once again for your review, as well as for all of your compliments.
We are glad that your last InterContinental Paris Le Grand Experience has been over your expectations and we hope to welcome you back at the Intercontinental Paris Le Grand Hotel very soon.

Kind regards,
Quality & Administrative Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Amazing hotel, superb location, amazing staff - well done InterContinental Le Grand Paris - will be back in August. The Club room, concierge and front desk team was wonderful - located close to The Opera, very Central - just perfect in Paris!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveToTravel888999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality & Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear DD Paradise,

First of all, we want to thank you for choosing the InterContinental Paris Le Grand on the occasion of your last stay in Paris and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to see that you found our very central location convenient.
Our hotel is indeed ideally located for sightseeing or shopping.
Also, we would like to thank you for your compliments on our hotel.

Also, we are thrilled that our quality of service was over your expectations and that it has contributed to make your stay memorable.

Thank you once again for your kind words. We are delighted that our hotel staff, contributed to your well-being during your stay with us. Be assured that your comment will be share onto them. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests

Dear DD Paradise, we would like to thank you once again for your review and for all your compliments. We would be pleased to welcome you back at the Intercontinental Paris Le Grand Hotel very soon.


Kind regards,
Quality & Administrative Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Hyatt Paris Madeleine
#249 of 1,804 in Paris
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
The Westin Paris - Vendome
The Westin Paris - Vendome
#485 of 1,804 in Paris
3,734 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Hilton Paris Opera
#301 of 1,804 in Paris
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Paris Le Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Paris Le Grand

Address: 2 Rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in Paris
#125 Family Hotel in Paris
#153 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#190 Business Hotel in Paris
#201 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $286 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Paris Le Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Paris Le Grand, opened during the reign of Napoleon III, is located in the very heart of the city: across the street from the Opéra Garnier, close to some of the best-known Parisian attractions, world-famous department stores and the wonderful Place Vendôme. The hotel contains 470 rooms, all richly decorated in the colours of the Opéra, and a warmly illuminated haven of peace and serenity in the bustle of Parisian life: la Verrière. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Paris Le Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Paris Le Grand Hotel Paris
Le Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing