We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Ranked #230 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2014

After being in France for two weeks, with two separate visits to Paris, I wish we'd chosen the InterContinental Paris Le Grand for both of our stays instead of just the last one. The location is excellent, within easy walking distance to everything (and a metro stop only steps away - literally). The service is excellent. The room was gorgeous and spacious - not as big as typical American hotel rooms, but much bigger than anything else we experienced in Europe. Our room was on the top floor, and had small balconies off of the bedroom and in the bathroom. The hotel was very clean, the amenities were excellent and the staff was very friendly and helpful. From here on out, this will be the only hotel that we stay at in Paris. I cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor if you'd like a good view and small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanda_n_byrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality & Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Amanda_n_byrum,

First of all, we want to thank you for choosing the InterContinental Paris Le Grand on the occasion of your last stay in Paris and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are please that the bathroom with all of the bathroom supplies and amenities provided were up to your expectations. We are attached to conserve an old-fashioned style on your hotel in Paris.

Moreover, we are pleased to see that your room was up to your expectations. What a pleasure it will be to share your comments with our teams. Thank you for your very kind comments!

Dear Amanda_n_byrum, we want to thank you once again for you great review and we hope that your comment will be useful for many travelers.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the InterContinental Paris Le Grand soon.

Kind regards,
Quality & Administrative Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,036)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,140 - 1,146 of 3,036 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is a historical hotel with stunning rooms and excellent services. Being a Royal Ambassador member I was upgraded to a beautiful suite and the mini bar was restocked daily as well as the fruit platter and the amazing fruit juices they bring to our room. Although we did not need the bar to be refilled too much since we are out at different restaurants daily, their attention to details is amazing. Of course we have been staying at a number of Intercontinental hotels in Europe in past 12 days but the Le Grand is by far the most memorable. So much so that we decided to return despite living in a long distance country such as Austtalia.

Mr. Gillies and Ms Annabel at the Executive Lounge were excellent. There is nothing they won't do to help and they gave us good advice as to where to go. As we had early departure Mr. Gilles even arranged breakfast in our suite so we do not have to go to the Executive Lounge too early in the morning. His service is just impeccable! The hotel is very centrally located and we can see the Opera from our room, just magic in the evening when the lights are up. Boulevard Haussmann, Gallerie Lafayette and Printempt are just 5 minutes walk, going to Rue St. Honore , Place Vendom and Rue Cambon may take 15 minutes walk maximum.

Hotel Le Grand is a definite must for us to return, this hotel is excellence at its best.

Room Tip: Book the a royals Suite, just stunning and don't forget to look up Gillies and Annabel at the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackMSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality & Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear JackMSydney,

First of all, we want to thank you for choosing the InterContinental Paris Le Grand on the occasion of your last stay in Paris and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay. We want to thank you for your compliments and we are glad to see that our hotel staff contributed to your well-being during your stay with us.
Also, we are delighted that your found our central location and facilities convenient. Our hotel is indeed ideally situated for sightseeing or shopping!

It is great to hear that you enjoyed our Club Lounge and also, I certainly appreciate the compliments for Mr. Gillies and Ms Annabel and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests.

Dear JackMSydney, We look forward to welcoming you again soon to the InterContinental Paris Le Grand.

Kind regards,
Quality & Administrative Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

A peruvian reviewer.

We got the penthouse of this hotel facing the Opera, we have 3 windows with terrace just for us in the very corner of the hotel, ohhh yeah ! Like we were a couple of meters from Le Palais Garnier, we weren't now tourist anymore, they were on the earth we were near the sky. Hahaha.

Ready to give this 5 stars hotel a 5 stars review but then i go to the GYM in the morning and i cannot make my routine because the GYM is tiny tiny tiny, even the shower room has just one chair !

Honestly IHG Le Grand, your 5 stars dont match your GYM, you need an urgent update !, you are loosing a 5 stars review here.

Besides that, i recommend for sure this hotel, just a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Easy, get the opera view and a high floor. The rest is on you. :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeManInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality & Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear PeManlnLondon,

First of all, we want to thank you for choosing the InterContinental Paris Le Grand on the occasion of your last stay in Paris and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to read that you found our very central location and facilities convenient.
Thank you for your compliments on our hotel and we are glad that the quality of service that we provide to our guest was up to your expectations.

We are sorry to hear that you did not find certain areas of our hotel up to your expectations.
We can completely understand your frustration concerning these issues and can only apologize for the troubles that these have caused you.

Dear PeManlnLondon, thank you once again for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the InterContinental Paris Le Grand soon.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon to continue to discover everything Paris and the InterContinental Paris Le Grand have to offer.

Kind regards,
Quality & Administrative Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Recently spent 3 nights in Paris. It's a beautiful hotel right in the heart of the Opera district of Paris. The room was very clean as was the whole hotel. I found all the staff to be very helpful especially the concierge who helped us with numerous suggestions for dinning out.
As it was my first time in France I was worried about the language difficulties that people talk about. The staff at Le Grande were more than happy to try and help me in English unlike other places I later visited in France.
This hotel is very central to the Louvre and Eiffel Tower as well as the metro rail network. I was able to purchase a ticket to the Louvre from the concierge which gave me access to a priority line when I got there.
All in all was happy with this hotel except having to pay a high price for WiFi. At approx $700 AUD/ night this should be free
Stuart

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality & Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Stuart M,

First of all, we want to thank you for choosing the InterContinental Paris Le Grand on the occasion of your last stay in Paris and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
Moreover, we are pleased to see that you found our very central location and facilities convenient.

Also, we are delighted to that our hotel staff contributed to you well-being during your stay with us. Your comments will be shared onto them.
Then, we are delighted to read that our Concierge service contributed to your enjoyment during your stay.

Dear Stuart M, thank you once again for your kinds compliments.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon to continue to discover everything Paris and the InterContinental Paris Le Grand have to offer.

Kind regards,
Quality & Administrative Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Despite being upgraded to a superior room at check in, I encountered moldy walls and peeling wallpaper in the bathroom (see photos). I requested to be moved to another room, but was told only standard rooms were available. I was also assured that the problems would be fixed by maintenance, so I decided to keep the original room. When the problems were not fixed on Day 2 or Day 3 of my stay, I asked the staff at the Guest Relations desk to cancel the last two days of my stay, but they convinced me to stay by offering an upgraded top floor room with an Eiffel Tower view. When I returned to the hotel at the time they informed me the new room would be ready, they changed their story and said they could only move me to a larger room with no Eiffel Tower view -- and on a lower floor than my original room! The bottom line is that the hotel has rooms in disrepair and a haphazard manner of handling legitimate guest complaints. I will not be returning for a 3rd visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Travel E,

Thank you for your review. As hospitality professionals, it is our goal to consistently provide superior service at our hotel and we are truly sorry we did not manage this during your stay. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of the points you've raised in this review and shared them with our Management team to review the procedures we have in place and make necessary improvements to ensure guests do not experience this in the future.

Thank you again for posting your comments.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Club Room: Gilles (concierge #1-helped with reservation confirmations, took care of our room problems, etc), Lody(provided great conversation and professional service), Ernesto (welcomed us the first time and showed us around), Abdelghani helped up with our reservations during the early afternoon, and Valentin assisted with my egg orders at breakfast and was just very attentive, cute, and friendly.
Concerns: small shower but biggest concern was when I saw woman on 3rd floor smoking while I was having breakfast in the 5th floor lounge. She was standing by her window and would step over to the window to exhale and flick her cigarette. When I told someone in the lounge, the response was so? If you are going to claim to be a totally smoke-free hotel, then enforce it. In the US and Canada, there are signs posted warning of a huge cleaning fee (usually $200 or about 150€). The next guest will notice unless the person was acrobatically standing on the ledge with the wind blowing away from the room. It’s like the people who smoke in their cars with their arms out the window; they still have to bring the cigarette back to their lips. The only way these addicts will learn is if they have to pay the price!!!
Upon arrival, the television would not turn off, change channels, etc. Also, there was a dull buzzing noise about every 2 minutes from the mini-bar fridge. A technician came promptly and fixed the tv, but it took several hours to get the buzzing stopped. Once it was fixed, the fridge was warm, but they did something, and in a few hours, it did start to cool off. We only used the personal ledge for our stuff because we had access to the lounge and didn’t need to use items from the fridge. Gilles and Lody arranged for us to receive a complimentary bottle of champagne, a bucket of ice, and a bowl of nuts for that evening after the lounge closed. Normally, the charge is 115€ (or about $150) for room service to deliver a bottle of the same champagne. Great Customer Service!!!
As Platinum Ambassador, we booked a club room and then received at least a one level upgrade so we had an Executive Twin. They redid the bed arrangement so it became one bed without a crack in the middle to fall through. Each half had separate duvets so that was a nice touch. We were in room 5103. The air was on and worked enough to help keep the room bearable along with the open window at times, but it was not as comfy for us Floridians who like good ac. The bathroom was nice with a tub, vanity, a toilet off to the side, and a separate shower. The shower was small for us, but we made it work. After the IC Frankfurt with a shower big enough for a basketball team, this was a bit of a shock. We received a complimentary tin of cookies and a Paris memo pad due to our Ambassador status. We also received one bottle of water per person (2) per day. Unlike the Marceau, we couldn’t drink the non-alcoholic beverages in the mini-bar for free, but that is because they have an Executive Lounge where we could get those plus beer, wine, and champagne all day as well as spirits in the evening. The room had 2 separate closets. One had a very appreciated safe. There also were an iron and ironing board, but we did not use either. We both needed an electrical outlet by the bed, but each side only had the one with the lamp plugged in so we had to unplug both bedside lamps. This could be an area for upgrade-put in lamps with built-in outlets or add a free outlet on each side of the bed! In conclusion about the room, I have no complaints except that we should lose weight in order to fit better in both the tub and the shower. The two problems (tv and buzzing noise) were resolved plus they went above and beyond to make amends.
I would recommend the lounge if you are a big breakfast eater, like a few glasses of champagne or wine, and snacks. I believe it’s about 130 euro (I think per room per day) to access if it’s not included in your room type. Since breakfast is 49 euro per person and drinks and snacks aren’t too cheap in the main areas, this is a bargain plus you get to enjoy the breakfast, snacks, and drinks in a very relaxing area. The lounge’s second floor has great views of the rooftops of Paris including the Opera, the Galleries Lafayette, and more. The team members in the lounge are all attentive, kind, and very professional. Service is top notch. Also, for breakfast, they cook made to order eggs and omelets. (the nice lady who checked us in at the front desk in the lobby did not think we could have eggs made to order so if you have any questions about the hotel, ask the Executive lounge staff or the concierge in the lobby) If you want to do it cheap, book the smallest room in the hotel and then add lounge access. Spend all of your time at the hotel in the lounge except to sleep and bathe! You won’t be disappointed and you will get your money’s worth, but if you want to spend a lot, book the best room in the house and enjoy! You can splurge a little or really do it up big time! This is excellence at its best!

Room Tip: Outer room for Paris view-inner for quiet (or possibly a view of someone in their undies or less?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BerlinG-ParisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality & Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear DisneyParis,

First of all, we want to thank you for choosing the InterContinental Paris Le Grand on the occasion of your last stay in Paris and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to notice, despite a few technical issues in your room during your stay, that you enjoyed our central location and that your room contributed to your comfort during your stay with us.

We are glad to read that you found our very central location and facilities convenient.
Also, we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience in your room. We are please that the bathroom with all of the bathroom supplies and amenities provided were up to your expectations.
Your very detailed description will certainly be useful to many travellers and we hope you will have the opportunity to try out many other different types of rooms we have.

Dear DisneyParis, we want to thank you once again for your kind compliments on our on our hotel staff, rooms and building. We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the InterContinental Paris Le Grand.

Kind regards,
Quality & Administrative Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

What excellent service and fabulous rooms
Perfect for families as rooms are bigger than normal
It's In an excellent location
Concierge has been more than helpful
The atmosphere is very good Nd very busy around the area
I would stay Again at the intercon
As it's a very good chain

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Feral23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality & Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Feral123,

First of all, we want to thank you for choosing the InterContinental Paris Le Grand on the occasion of your last stay in Paris and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to read that you found our very central location convenient and hope that you enjoyed the wonderful view from your room!

Your compliments have been passed on to our concierge team; I am thrilled to see that they contributed to your enjoyment.

Dear Feral123, we look forward to welcoming you again soon at the InterContinental Paris Le Grand.

Kind regards,
Quality & Administrative Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Hyatt Paris Madeleine
#261 of 1,809 in Paris
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
#281 of 1,809 in Paris
402 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Louvre / Palais-Royal
The Westin Paris - Vendome
The Westin Paris - Vendome
#488 of 1,809 in Paris
3,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Paris Le Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Paris Le Grand

Address: 2 Rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Spa Hotel in Paris
#66 Family Hotel in Paris
#162 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#190 Business Hotel in Paris
#201 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $334 - $611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Paris Le Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Paris Le Grand, opened during the reign of Napoleon III, is located in the very heart of the city: across the street from the Opéra Garnier, close to some of the best-known Parisian attractions, world-famous department stores and the wonderful Place Vendôme. The hotel contains 470 rooms, all richly decorated in the colours of the Opéra, and a warmly illuminated haven of peace and serenity in the bustle of Parisian life: la Verrière. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Paris Le Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Paris Le Grand Hotel Paris
Le Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing