We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st. trip to Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Ranked #215 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, South Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“1st. trip to Paris”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Sorry the review is so late. I am new to trip TripAdvisor! I stayed here for almost two weeks in the fall. I wasn't completely blown away by this hotel. It was very nice. Service was a little on the snotty side but that's fine. I wasn't going to let that hinder my trip.
The reason this hotel didn't receive 5 stars from me is the view from my bedroom window was the outside inside of the hotel. It was all pipes and wires and ac unit things, not a pretty Paris view. We couldn't be moved because the hotel was full.
Other then that the service was great. The hotel food was amazing, some of the fish dishes I didn't care for but there where plenty of other options. The beds and rooms where comfortable. The spa I did not get to use because they apparently book up very fast so they where full on the times I needed. Bar was great, drinks where wonderful! Concierge was very very helpful. Close to lots of shopping and restaurants. We walked a lot of places.
Overall this was a nice trip. I really did enjoy this hotel and I would stay here again but definitely ask for a room with a view!

Room Tip: Be sure to let them know you want a room with city view not an inside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality Coordinator at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Anna H,

Thank you for posting your review here on Tripadvisor.

I regret to hear that you were not satisfied with your room and moreover that we were unable to change the room for you due to high occupancy. In order to secure an outside view room, I would advise you to book either the Eiffel Tower view room or the Opéra Deluxe room. For all other room types the outside view is a request and unfortunately depending on availability we cannot always honour such requests.

We are glad to see that your enjoyed our central location and it will be a pleasure to pass on your kind comments to our Concierge Team.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Paris in the future.

Kind Regards,

Sally Durrant
Quality Coordinator
Sally.durrant@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,594
    764
    276
    117
    75
See reviews for
523
1,133
165
606
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Terrigal, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Recently stayed, booked club room but don't believe that was what we got, although we did have club access. Had a room with beautiful view of opera house but was only a small room. There was no introductory letter in our room outlining club benefits and no special bathroom amenities as we have come to expect in other InterCon club rooms.Check in was very ordinary and whilst there appeared to be a dedicated area for Ambassador club members it was not being utilised.No one took our bags as we walked through foyer, nor did anyone even offer to take our bags to our room. As an Ambassador Club member I have always been upgraded from the club room to a suite when staying in Europe but this did not happen. The staff in the club lounge were wonderful, extremely obliging, very attentive and most helpful without any stuffiness. I certainly recommend the hotel as it has a wonderful ambience and is a superb Paris experience but I believe the hotel has some systems issues which need to be addressed to give it that extra star.

Room Tip: High floor, opera view is superb, ask for king bed not two twins zippered together as you still get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callmehelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality Coordinator at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Callmehelen,

Thank you for your sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor.

I regret to hear that you were disappointed with some elements of your stay.

We do indeed have a dedicated area for Ambassador Member check-ins at the reception desk and for guests having reserved a Club room there is a private check-in desk directly up in the Club Lounge.

As an Ambassador Member, one of your privileges is a complimentary room upgrade. You received an Opéra Deluxe view room which is indeed an upgrade from a Club room. I regret if you felt that this was not a satisfactory upgrade.

I would like to apologise that nobody offered to help with your bags. This is not the usual level of service that we strive to provide and your comments have been passed on to the teams involved and their management in order to take corrective actions.

It will be a pleasure to share your compliments with the Club Lounge team and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Paris in the future.

Kind Regards,

Sally Durrant
Quality Coordinator
Sally.durrant@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The setting of this Hotel, right next to Opera is great. However it is an InterContinental Hotel and so you expect certain standards. I was most disapointed to find that our room did not have any tea or coffee making facilities and that, when the morning coffee came (ordered through room service), it was warm not hot! The Hotel assured me that they have plans to put tea/coffee making equipment into all the rooms.......... Hmmn

Secondly the air-conditioning temperature control did not work properly (at least any adjustments that we made did not affect the temperature). Thankfully the window opened onto an internal courtyard and so we were able to have the window open without city noise intruding. Even so, there was not enough breeze to keep us comfortable.

The Hotel makes much of its history and location. I would rate it as 'faded elegance' and feel that some significant upgrade needs to take place before it meets the excellent standards of other InterContinental Hotels I have stayed at.

Room Tip: Make sure that you test the air-conditioning when you first enter the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HielanDrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality Coordinator at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear HielanDrover,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review here on Tripadvisor.

I regret to hear that you had some difficulties regarding the in-room heating. I do hope that you did let us know about this during your stay, giving us the opportunity to repair it.

We are indeed working on installing tea and coffee making facilities in all of our rooms and this should be in place over the next few months.

Your comments have been well noted and shared with the management.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Paris in the future.

Kind Regards,

Sally Durrant
Quality Coordinator
Sally.durrant@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

While the property seems to be clean, we found bed bug.
I have pictures.
Checkin was fine until A sup. Caroline showed up whispering behind the clerks back in a very rude unmanner ways.
Very unprofessional behavior to end up finding bed bugs and having to change rooms.
While the location is good it is no different f
from many other hotels nearby that most likely don't have bed bugs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tripadvfan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality Coordinator at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Emelende,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We sincerely regret if the attitude or behaviour of one of our team members made you feel not respected, please accept our apologies for any upset caused at the time of check-in. Your comments have been passed on to the Front Desk Management team to take corrective actions.

I am deeply concerned to read your claims of bed bugs in the room. As this was reported during your stay, a complete check of the room and beds was carried out and found no evidence to confirm the presence of bedbugs. I do apologise for any unease or discomfort that this may have caused.

Our guests comfort and safety is of paramount importance to us and we have very strict controls here at the hotel regarding health and hygiene, including regular interventions from the company Rentokil who check our rooms and bedding.

I do invite you to contact me personally should you wish to discuss this matter further.

Kind Regards,

Sally Durrant
Quality Coordinator
sally.durrant@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

stayed in the hotel a few days together with officemates. Check in was a problem since there were some people in our group who had no rooms until 8pm (waited from 5pm until 8pm to have their rooms ready). Location is superb... Shopping malls (Gallaries La Fayette), metro (Opera), sightseeing (walking distance to Louvre Museum). Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margel_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality Coordinator at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Margel_01,

Thank you for posting your review here on Tripadvisor.

We regret to hear that you experienced some difficulties upon your check-in and would like to apologise for the inconvenience that this caused to you and your group.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed our central location and hope to see you again in Paris!

Kind Regards,

Sally Durrant
Quality Coordinator
Sally.durrant@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights with my wife and daughters. This is just a beautiful building with all the charm of an old classic, yet nothing feels old or looks worn or run down. And the location is fantastic. It's an easy walk to the Louvre, Orsay, L'Orangerie or just for a stroll along the Seine. The Metro is also right outside your door along with all the shopping you can handle (if that's your thing).
The staff was great. Very professional, friendly, and helpful. Given a chance I'd certainly stay here again.
My one complaint was that we had booked club rooms, but when we arrived we were told that the club was being rented out for a private function. We were given some drink coupons to use at the bar, and told we could eat breakfast in the Cafe instead. It seems to me they should have just offered you the room at a standard room rate instead.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solarchem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality Coordinator at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Solarchem,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review here on Tripadvisor.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused regarding the privatisation of the Club Lounge. We regret that the alternative offered to the Club Lounge access was not satisfactory and your comments have been shared with the management in order to revise such procedures.

We are glad to see that you did enjoy our central location and your compliments will be passed on to the staff here at the hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back to the InterContinental Paris Le Grand in the future.

Kind Regards,

Sally Durrant
Quality Coordinator
Sally.durrant@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We loved the location of the hotel, right behind the Opera.

The property is remarkable, strategic to shopping centres and attraction.

Check in was a breeze, however, was a tad disappointed with the room as it was too warm for our liking, and couldn't be adjusted for some strange reasons.

The size of rooms are big by Paris standards, but the windows in the bathroom with little curtain cover provided less confidence of being peered through. That was just a perception.

The breakfast spread was excellent - a must try! The concierge was helpful and speaks good English.

Otherwise, an excellent hotel for a Paris visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality Coordinator at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Kezsin,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I regret to hear that you experienced some difficulties in your room concerning the temperature. I apologise for the discomfort and disappointment that this caused.

We are glad to see that you did otherwise enjoy your stay, making the most of our central location and enjoying our famous Café de la Paix breakfast buffet!

It will be a pleasure to pass on your compliments to our Concierge team.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Paris in the future.

Kind Regards,

Sally Durrant
Quality Coordinator
Sally.durrant@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
#193 of 1,801 in Paris
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Westminster
Hotel Westminster
#240 of 1,801 in Paris
996 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
The Westin Paris - Vendome
The Westin Paris - Vendome
#467 of 1,801 in Paris
3,598 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Paris Le Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Paris Le Grand

Property: InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Address: 2 Rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in Paris
#125 Family Hotel in Paris
#150 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#191 Business Hotel in Paris
#202 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Paris Le Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Paris Le Grand, opened during the reign of Napoleon III, is located in the very heart of the city: across the street from the Opéra Garnier, close to some of the best-known Parisian attractions, world-famous department stores and the wonderful Place Vendôme. The hotel contains 470 rooms, all richly decorated in the colours of the Opéra, and a warmly illuminated haven of peace and serenity in the bustle of Parisian life: la Verrière. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Paris Le Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Paris Le Grand Hotel Paris
Le Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing