We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closing next Year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de Crillon, A Rosewood Hotel
Ranked #1,017 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield
Level Contributor
216 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Closing next Year”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

How shocked were we to find Hotel De Crillon will close next year 2013 for a complete refurb. expected to take 2 years,
We have been staying here for maybe 10 years and love it as our bolt hole in Paris.
Our dilemma where shall we stay in the meantime? Why? because we love this hotel, yes its expensive I am sure that a great room can be found for half the price, but where would you find decor like this ? Rooms thats are spacious and bathrooms to die for, we can only hope the refurb doesn't over run and the new Crillon is as before. We hope that we shall find the marble still gleaming as usual and the same staff who are so fantastic waiting to greet us again.Nothing is too much trouble for them and our great friend Thioulf on the front desk always greats you with a smile.
If you can fit in a stay, then do before the hotel closes.

Room Tip: Rooms on Rue Boissy D'Anglas can be noisy early morning, the refuse men arrive to empty the refu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladygourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucdelafosse, Directeur général at Hotel de Crillon, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for this review and look forward to welcoming you back before we close or when the Crillon reopens!
Luc Delafosse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    76
    37
    9
    20
See reviews for
81
213
24
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Hotel de Crillon is wonderful and grand, and is situated at the perfect location - close to Tuileries, Louvre, Orsay, Orangerie, and of course shopping and wonderful dining! But the most impressive asset of the hotel is the staff! They are all personable, helpful, and friendly! I cannot explain how welcome the staff makes you feel from the first arrival to the sad day of departure! We stayed for 7 days (October 6-13) in room 415 (Deluxe room), and the room was large with a beautiful marble bathroom with double sinks and separate bath and shower (equipped with a rain shower head). The room overlooked the quiet side street (rue Boissy d'Anglas), and even though the room was next to the elevator, we never heard any sounds through the double doors. The Hotel de Crillon will close at the end of the year for a 2 year renovation. Fortunately, none of the historical areas will be preserved in their current grand style. My wife and I enjoyed our wonderful stay at the Hotel de Crillon, and we hope to return again some day. I thoroughly recommend the Hotel de Crillon if she's on your hotel list for your first/next visit to Paris!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank VenturaDaddyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucdelafosse, Directeur général at Hotel de Crillon, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you very much for this feedback.
Luc Delafosse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Spent 3 nights at this central Parisian hotel. It's high-end, far from down to earth, so be ready if that's not your style. The room decor are delightful and beautifully appointed. Spaces are relatively small relative to price, compared with other cities spoilt with space. (Tthere is no swimming pool). You cannot fault the services of the staff and their politeness and always ready to help. This hotel is a bit too posh for my liking, however, I thoroughly appreciated all the decor and style within this hotel. If after viewing the website, it is something you desire, then it's definitely worth booking in. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tobazblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucdelafosse, Directeur général at Hotel de Crillon, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you very much for this great feedback...
Luc Delafosse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 8 nights at this beautiful property with outstanding service. We thought the staff was extremely friendly and happy to speak with us in English, or to help us practice speaking in French. Our favorite concierge Phillippe worked very hard to help us secure tickets to George Michael's Symphonica Concert at Palais Garnier. This was an impossible ticket, and Phillippe managed to fulfill our request. He also recommended a memorable evening on the Don Juan 2 of Yachts de Paris. After that extraordinary experience, I can't imagine going on one of those touristy boats that you see so many of, crammed with people and likely, average food. In addition to a fabulous staff, we had a gorgeous room with excellent housekeeping services. The public rooms were perfect in every way. The salon was exquisite and a fabulous way to start each day with a filling and yummy breakfast. The Winter Garden was a tranquil space to enjoy a glass of wine after a day of touring. The intimate piano bar was lively and fun! My only sadness is that this amazing hotel is closing temporarily for some renovations. When it reopens, we will surely be back!! My husband and I are very seasoned luxury travelers and we expect a lot when we are paying a lot. This gorgeous hotel in the perfect location was outstanding!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucdelafosse, Directeur général at Hotel de Crillon, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
I really enjoyed reading this feedback which shows very well what the Hotel de Crillon is about...
Luc Delafosse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW FOEST
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Spent a weekend at this lovely Hotel; Staff treated my daughter and myself well, friendly, helpful and chatty, nothing was too much trouble. Lovely bright room, nicely furnished and spotless as you'd expect. Always felt chic and pampered and the reception was a nice place to sit and people watch. Lovely food and good service.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucdelafosse, Directeur général at Hotel de Crillon, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you so much for this nice feedback!!!
Luc Delafosse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Every year we travel to Europe and stay at very high end hotels- this was the topper! The rooms were spotless, well appointed and beautiful old world. The service was at your beck and call. The location was terrific! Very expensive but you get what you pay for!
The staff was always pleasant , always trying to help in any way. They also have a hotel car that can drive you to places within a certain mile radius free of charge. It was a great place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babbyNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucdelafosse, Directeur général at Hotel de Crillon, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Great comments on the experience of the Hotel de Crillon!!! Thank you.
Luc Delafosse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

After reading such varied ratings on the Hotel de Crillon, I became concerned with the swings in comments one to another. I have a perfect romantic trip scheduled in November with my wife and I want it to be just that...perfect in every way possibly. I personnaly contacted the hotel to discuss my concerns and received a reply from Mr. Wassim Mathlouthi, Guest Relations Manager, and, I was instantly put at ease. If the promptness and warmness of the staff shows five star quality even before the visit - this is the place for us. We are looking forward to a wonderful stay at this magnificent hotel. It often appears that sometimes doing unto others what you would have done until you is still the best option. Thank you Mr. Wassim Mathlouthi, you certainly showed exceptional professionalism and class and it is truly appreciated.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank John M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucdelafosse, Directeur général at Hotel de Crillon, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you very much for information and comment on Wassim before your visit in November.
Luc Delafosse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Ritz Paris
Ritz Paris
#81 of 1,802 in Paris
286 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#38 of 1,802 in Paris
1,109 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
#212 of 1,802 in Paris
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Buddha-Bar Hotel Paris
Buddha-Bar Hotel Paris
#100 of 1,802 in Paris
661 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Hotel Plaza Athenee
#31 of 1,802 in Paris
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Crillon, A Rosewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Crillon, A Rosewood Hotel

Property: Hotel de Crillon, A Rosewood Hotel
Address: 10, Place de la Concorde | 8th Arrondissement, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#85 Spa Hotel in Paris
#168 Business Hotel in Paris
#220 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#448 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#510 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Crillon, A Rosewood Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Crillon, A Rosewood Hotel, is more than just one of the world’s most iconic hotels. It is a timeless Parisian landmark. Dating back to the 18th century, this historic treasure will reopen in 2017 as a luxury palace hotel for 21st century travelers. Commissioned by King Louis XV in 1758 and built by Ange-Jacques Gabriel, the greatest architect of his time, it would later come to be the personal residence of the family of the Count of Crillon before becoming a palace hotel in 1909. Over the years, this legendary palace has captivated generations of guests including royalty, heads of state and luminaries drawn to the City of Light. Located at 10 Place de la Concorde in the heart of Paris, Hotel de Crillon’s past provides a rich backdrop to its modern-day story. While the hotel has been closed for a major renovation, master craftsmen, artisans and designers have been tirelessly working to strike a deliberate and delicate balance between conservation and transformation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Crillon, A Rosewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Crillon Hotel
De Crillon Paris
Hotel De Crillon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing