We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better for leisure than business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres
Ranked #550 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed June 5, 2007

I stayed here for three nights - one night for business, and the other two for a weekend away as a couple.

The experiences were quite different. The first night, I had an odd room. It was large - but sparsely furnished and pretty rundown, and the bed so uncomfortable that I lost quite a lot of sleep. There was no shower curtain so the bathroom flooded. The breakfast the next morning was not up to much either. And the cheapest rate available was expensive - over 200 euros a night. My colleagues had similar experiences too.

The other two nights we booked through an auction site, and got moved to a different room. This one was smaller but fine for a weekend. It was like a pretty standard hotel room but was in much better condition. We did not get breakfast, but that was no great loss (there are two great bakeries round the corner). And the nightly rate was less than half the rate for the first night.

The location is excellent - especially as a tourist with a straight metro to gare de nord and lots of other places in town.

So overall, its definitely worth staying if you get a discount rate!

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank RandR-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you for your comment concerning your stay in our hotel.

We have the pleasure to inform you the renovation of the hotel has been done on 2010 and 2011.

We hope to welcome your once again during your next stay in Paris

Yours faithfully
Joel SABOURIN
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

679 - 685 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2007

Just as every othr review of this hotel indicates, it is in a great location! One Metro station across the street, another just a block away, and one of the largest stations in the city just a few minutes away. Cafe's and restaurants are all over and there are several pastry shops and small grocers around as well.

I thought the room was adequate size and the bathroom was very spacious and clean, especially by European standards. The bed was comfortable as was the room temperature (the window opened as well).

The staff was fairly good and willing and able to speak English. The wireless internet service available (for a daily fee) in the "bar" did not always work real well, but they did credit my account when I brought it to their attention. Also, if you use the airport shuttle they offer, please leave more time than usual to get there because the shuttle provides service to other hotels. Two guests from another hotel who were in the shuttle when we got on arrived at the hotel nearly an hour later than they were promised and likely missed their flights. All in all a great hotel in a great location for a great price. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank pdunn611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you for your comment concerning your stay in our hotel.

We have the pleasure to inform you the renovation of the hotel has been done on 2010 and 2011.

We hope to welcome your once again during your next stay in Paris

Yours faithfully
Joel SABOURIN
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2007

The hotel was in a good location near 2 metro stations, and many cafes and shops. Our room was a decent size, however it seemed very worn with peeling wallpaper and some mold in the shower. Overall I rate it as average based on the good location and reasonable price ($144/nt) for a fairly expensive city.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMTram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you for your comment concerning your stay in our hotel.

We have the pleasure to inform you the renovation of the hotel has been done on 2010 and 2011.

We hope to welcome your once again during your next stay in Paris

Yours faithfully
Joel SABOURIN
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2007

I stayed at this hotel with a group tour so the choice was not mine, but I applauded the tour organizer for picking a hotel with such a fine location. Metro just steps away, as many choices of restaurants within walking as one could want. Also, markets and fruit stands. However - the hotel itself is dark and dreary and desperately in need of an overhaul. Latches on windows would not latch, bedspread torn and repaired in several spots and also thread-bear in others. Rooms are smaller than a standard small European room, and on this visit which included 5 hotel stops, the HI here had the smallest rooms. Fine for one person, but not enough room for 2 with luggage and shopping bags.

The buffet was included in the tour and I must say the choices were excellent and well prepared, the service staff friendly and courteous.

I would go again if they ever update/upgrade, but not sure I would spend money to stay there outside of the tour environment.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank QuiltTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you for your comment concerning your stay in our hotel.

We have the pleasure to inform you the renovation of the hotel has been done on 2010 and 2011.

We hope to welcome your once again during your next stay in Paris

Yours faithfully
Joel SABOURIN
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2007

This is the 4th time we have stayed in this hotel. As with all the reviews, yes, the rooms are small, but have everything you need. The location is probably the best asset, this hotel has to offer, metro station outside (St Placide..line 4), basically 5 stops (5-10 mins) to Notre Dame and city centre. It is located a 50metre walk from Rue de Rennes, ( great shopping ). Dont pay the 18 Euro for Breakfast, little coffee shop across the street offering a great contintental breakfast for 6 Euro. There is also a little convenience store nearby. We can recommend this hotel fully, have never paid more than 130 euro per night.

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank stevielatphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you for your comment concerning your stay in our hotel.

We have the pleasure to inform you the renovation of the hotel has been done on 2010 and 2011.

We hope to welcome your once again during your next stay in Paris

Yours faithfully
Joel SABOURIN
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2007

We have just returned from four nights in Paris, we are a family of five, with one child under 12years. We Got a fantastic deal in the Holiday inn St. Germain, a family room , which was actually two rooms side by side, one room larger than the other. Both rooms have a double bed, and for the extra person their is a single bed added to the room. Hotel is in a fantastice location, with the metro station St. Placide (Porte d'Orleans metro line 4 ) only steps (literally) around the corner. Everything was spotless in the hotel, and snacks left in the room everyday ( crisps , a little chocolate, tea coffee , ) Did not eat breakfast in hotel as there were lots of little cafes around , and a family could eat for abount 25 euros. Hotel breakfast was about 18 euros a head. Larger room had large bathroom...One note of caution...windows in room are very big and open all the way...with no safety chain., , and easy enough to open from the inside. we paid a Total of 840.00 euros for four nights which was excellent value for the space and facilities provided.The area is nicer than Montparnasse which is about an eight minute walk futher up the road. I would definately stay at this hotel at this price again, and would recommdend this to my family and friends.

2  Thank 2007Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you for your comment concerning your stay in our hotel.

We have the pleasure to inform you the renovation of the hotel has been done on 2010 and 2011.

We hope to welcome your once again during your next stay in Paris

Yours faithfully
Joel SABOURIN
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2007

I stopped in this hotel with another friend and on first impression it seemed quite pleasent. Staff were friendly with good English. The hotel was well located, with metro station nearby.

The room was quite small even for a European City hotel, and decor needed updating a little. Our first morning we were awoke at 7am by banging from the room above. It turned out they were being refurbished. After asking if we could move room due to the noise we were told this was not possible. After another two morning of being awoke at similar times, and constantly complaining and asking for the manager (who obviously didn't exist!) we still had no luck.

When checking out, the receptionist was quite rude, when we asked if there was anyway of being compensated. There is definately no way I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a relaxing few days in Paris.

  • Stayed: January 2004, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beck_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you for your comment concerning your stay in our hotel.

We have the pleasure to inform you the renovation of the hotel has been done on 2010 and 2011.

We hope to welcome your once again during your next stay in Paris

Yours faithfully
Joel SABOURIN
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Best Western Aramis Saint-Germain
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
#155 of 1,804 in Paris
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#140 of 1,804 in Paris
525 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Royal Saint Germain
Hotel Royal Saint Germain
#546 of 1,804 in Paris
582 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Chaplain
Hotel Chaplain
#226 of 1,804 in Paris
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres

Address: 92 rue de Vaugirard | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#315 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#453 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $126 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Paris Saint Germain des Pres Hotel is ideally situated in the prime location in the heart of Paris at Latin Quarter area, and Montparnasse area neighbourhood. We are the perfect three stars hotel for business and leisure. Great hospitality and adventures in Paris are waiting for you The hotel is easy to get to : 25 minutes from Orly, 40 minutes from Charles de Gaulle airport, at walking distance from the Montparnasse train station and bordering the Saint Placide metro station, line 4. The hotel provides a private parking.The hotel is located close to the main monument Notre de Dame, Musee du Louvre, Tour Eiffel, Cabaret and Theater. At walking distance to Seine River and Luxembourg Garden. With a total of 134 rooms including 22 superior rooms and 8 family rooms, the Holiday Inn Paris Saint Germain des Pres Hotel will welcome you in a cosy and modern environment. Our family room provides all the facilities of 2 separate rooms. The hotel offers a restaurant, room service and a friendly bar. Our three meeting rooms can cater to all your business needs and have a capacity of maximum 50 people. IMPORTANT INFORMATION : a renovation of our corridors has began month oct 2014. Floor by floor, if you want a room with no corridor renovation do not hesitate to ask it at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres Hotel Paris
Paris Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing