We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing fancy, expensive.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres
Ranked #522 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Brunswick, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nothing fancy, expensive.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Small & overpriced. I honestly can't recommend this hotel to anyone. The only good things I have to say about the place is that it's clean, and that it's conveniently close to the St. Placide metro station, which is about a 3-4min walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendall R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Kendall R,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    495
    193
    68
    29
See reviews for
172
413
50
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great location, nice neighbourhood and literally just a few steps away from a metro station. Also a good number of shops, pubs, caffes, nearby, and the hotel is at a walkable distance from very prominent attractions of Paris.
The hotel is nice, amenities include the basic you need, the breakfast is abundant and varied (buffet-style) and the reception staff, friendly and helpful.
The room was rather small, but aceptable. I have two big complaind though: (1) the shower has a small glass door that forced us to be extremely careful not to wet the entire floor (most of the time we failed!) and (2) the room cleaning was uneven, some days it seemed well done and others the opposite (for example, one day I found a lid of a coke can I had the day before under the bed! I find this unacceptable for a hotel of this Price).
I liked the look of the room (decoration) except for the dark colors (carpets, beds, curtains...). This doesn't help the cleaning either (darkness "hides" the faults in the cleaning)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ys_scl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear ys_scl,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so pleased you liked the fine location of our hotel in the area and found our staff to be friendly. Please allow us to apologize you were not well satisfied with the room accommodations you had and the housekeeping services you received. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Clean, comfortable hotel. I asked for extra towels for each day of our stay and it was not a problem. Laundry only 2 min walk away from hotel. Asked reception for change to use at the laundry ... No problem. Great location, near metro and many cafes. Orange store and other shops close by.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene_Bne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is just another boring Holiday Inn hotel. While I do appreciate some of the IHG hotels, the Holiday Inn has never really been a good experience. Unfortunately Intercontinental was fully booked, and I opted for the conveniently located Holiday Inn at St Germain Des Pres.
Rooms are small and dark, WiFi is painfully slow, the decor not to everyones taste, but all of that really doesn't matter, cause all you need is a place to sleep and then hit the town. The hotel is about 50 meters from line 4 on the Metro, and you can easily reach any destination in Paris within 30 minutes. Very good location.
At checkout there was a line of about 6 or 7 people, meaning it took the best part of 25 minutes to check out. This is not ok for an early morning checkout where time is of the essence.
This is not a memorable hotel to visit, but it is still a good and convenient place to stay for a a short layover in Paris.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Peter J,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from you enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future and provide you with the an excellent service you deserve and expect from us.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I usually stay in the Marais, but this trip, my friend and I wanted to stay in the St Germain area near friends with an appartment on Rue de Dragon. The Holiday Inn is contemporary and our corner room was standard by European standards. The bath was small, with a glass door into the bedroom. Everything was clean.

At first, we were disappointed with the location, but after 1 day, we realized it was a perfect location with easy access to everything we needed. Patisserie, brasserie, metro station are all within 50 yards of the hotel door, but the hotel is slightly off the main street and therefore very quiet.

The staff was very nice and helpful. We were accomodated with a late night supper in the bar one night, but otherwise, we ate in the neighborhood cafes.

Excellent hotel, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clm-OKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

My mom enjoys spending the hot Texas summers in Paris, France. This year we went to Holland for a couple days and on to Paris to get her settled in the Holiday Inn for the duration. I spent a couple nights there with her before returning home. Mom is 70 and prefers a hotel over an apartment for the safety and convenience of a front desk staff at the ready. She has stayed at the St. Germain Des Pres location quite a few times and continues to return for the attentiveness and kindness of the entire staff.
A couple years ago the hotel renovated and modernized the look and feel. It's not the old world look and feel we usually enjoy when staying in smaller mom and pop type hotels, but it is clean and comfortable. The rooms are smallish, but it is Europe and in my experience, that should be expected! There is an odd feature with the bathroom in some of the rooms...there's a window in the shower, not to the outside, but to the main space of the room! I get that it makes the room seem larger, but it's still a little weird! This last visit it was clear they'd had some complaints because there was an opaque shade that could be drawn.
There is a small bar in the lobby that has a fairly limited food selection during the day/evening but for breakfast there is a larger dining room downstairs. Breakfast is a plentiful buffet, but it is not inexpensive. There are area patisseries and other small eateries if you prefer.
Bus stops are very convenient, but it is only about a mile and a quarter walking to the Eiffel Tower, Musee D'Orsay or Notre Dome...the hotel is very central to the main attractions.

Room Tip: The back side is a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We opted to stay in a different area of Paris from previous trips and when we arrived at the hotel our first thought was that it was a bit out of the way. After the first day we agreed that the area was very nice and quiet and only 50 metres from the nearest Metro. A good location choice by our agent.

The room was a good size and had everything you needed. The bathroom was very narrow but functional. The hotel itself provided an efficient service with very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel only has a breakfast restaurant and it was very nice with both hot and cold selections. The staff were great and pleasant to deal with.

We would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear luv2travel123456,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the breakfast served during your stay, room accommodations and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
BEST WESTERN Aramis Saint Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Saint Gregoire
Hotel Le Saint Gregoire
#1,073 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Littre
Hotel Le Littre
#205 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Holiday Inn Paris Opera-Grands Boulevards
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres

Property: Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres
Address: 92 rue de Vaugirard | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#293 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#454 Business Hotel in Paris
#491 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Paris Saint Germain des Pres Hotel is ideally situated in the prime location in the heart of Paris at Latin Quarter area, and Montparnasse area neighbourhood. We are the perfect three stars hotel for business and leisure. Great hospitality and adventures in Paris are waiting for you The hotel is easy to get to : 25 minutes from Orly, 40 minutes from Charles de Gaulle airport, at walking distance from the Montparnasse train station and bordering the Saint Placide metro station, line 4. The hotel provides a private parking.The hotel is located close to the main monument Notre de Dame, Musee du Louvre, Tour Eiffel, Cabaret and Theater. At walking distance to Seine River and Luxembourg Garden. With a total of 134 rooms including 22 superior rooms and 8 family rooms, the Holiday Inn Paris Saint Germain des Pres Hotel will welcome you in a cosy and modern environment. Our family room provides all the facilities of 2 separate rooms. The hotel offers a restaurant, room service and a friendly bar. Our three meeting rooms can cater to all your business needs and have a capacity of maximum 50 people. IMPORTANT INFORMATION : a renovation of our corridors has began month oct 2014. Floor by floor, if you want a room with no corridor renovation do not hesitate to ask it at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres Hotel Paris
Paris Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing