We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty and expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Paris Republique
Ranked #576 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel looks very nice and comfortable - at the first view. The pricelist in the room I saw like a joke (€ 590,- without breakfast). A very high (and wrong) price in the room and a good lounge do not make a high class hotel.
The room was nice but very dark. The lights are not enough. The bathroom dirty, hair on the floor, tiles on the wall broken an the tap look very old and was full of chalky deposit.
I opend the window and got frightened. So much dirt on the window (outside) and on the fence I have never seen bevore.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UrsulaDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Customer Service at Crowne Plaza Paris Republique, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear UrsulaDI,

We are disappointed to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay with us.
Please be assured that we reviewed your comments with the concerned department heads and some of the comments shock us and thanks to your feedback we can make improvements and exceed our clients’ expectations.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Paris République during your next stay in Paris, allowing us to show you that we are able to respond to your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

The Guest Relations Team
Crowne Plaza Paris République

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,635)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Paris Republique
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

951 - 957 of 2,635 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is a nice hotel in a good location of Paris. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room was nice and clean. We enjoyed the breakfast every morning. We also had a great dinner in the dinning room on our last night. It was awesome! We had our hair dryer break the first morning we tried to use it and they fixed it the same day. There was some confusion when we tried to have an item sent out for laundry service but I think it had to do with us traveling with a large group (no credit card on file, etc.) I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the city of lights.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Customer Service at Crowne Plaza Paris Republique, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Diana P,

We read with great pleasure and interest your excellent comment about your recent stay with us. We would like to thank you for your feedback and we also would like to thank you for taking the time to include your positive remarks about our staff and we all appreciate your kind words. These encouraging words indeed boost our motivation to continue to provide personalized services to our valued guests.

We hope that you will continue to trust the Crowne Plaza Paris République during your next trip to Paris.

Yours sincerely,

The Guest Relations Team
Crowne Plaza Paris République

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

(I will admit a bit of bias on this review, given we had the best Crowne Plaza experience in Bruges right before staying here.)

The Crowne Plaza Paris Republique hits all the necessary notes for a hotel in Paris - central location near the metro, plenty of choices for food in the 3rd arrondissement, and they had friendly and helpful staff.

Not sure if its throughout the hotel, but in the 1st floor where we stayed, the carpets were a bit rundown and seemed a bit older. Our TV was hung crooked on the wall, and the numbers on the remote control almost rubbed out. The room was spacious for a central Paris hotel, and the bathroom was adequate.

Wifi wasn't free which sucked, but the business center PCs are so that helped a bit.

Overall, it's a slightly above average hotel in Paris - if it can update some of the worn down touches (carpet, tilted TVs), I would give it a higher rating.

Room Tip: I've seen better reviews for higher floors so I would say request those. The first floor carpets...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100%Love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Customer Service at Crowne Plaza Paris Republique, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear 100%Love,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Paris Republique!

We thank you very much for choosing the Crowne Plaza Paris République for your stay and for pointing out our convenient location and the service of our” friendly and helpful staff “ in your review.

We are terribly sorry for the carpets: Besides shampooing all guest room carpets on a frequent basis internally, in addition the carpets of all our rooms are also deep cleaned twice a year by an outside company.

It will be a pleasure to share your feedback with our staff and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon again.

Yours sincerely,

The Guest Relations Team
Crowne Plaza Paris République

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Very pleased with this hotel, location is great and really handy for the metro. Room was clean and comfortable which is all that really matters on a city break, especially if you aren't paying a fortune. Breakfast was very good, really busy on the weekend though and not replenishing things to accommodate that let it down, however that was literally the only fault found- would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsD_93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Customer Service at Crowne Plaza Paris Republique, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear MrsD_93,

We are truly delighted that we succeeded in giving you a very pleasant experience, and that you were overall satisfied with the great location, the clean and comfortable room, the Full American Breakfast in the Dix Restaurant even if it has been very busy on the weekend

Comments like yours are an excellent and motivating tool for our team to ensure that we are able to always provide the highest of standards for our loyal guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Crowne Plaza Paris République during your next stay in Paris.

Yours sincerely,

The Guest Relations Team
Crowne Plaza Paris République

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed here recently. Very nice room. Was upgraded from two single beds to two doubles. Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Room was clean and modern. Close to metro and in a central location.
Restaurant was nice but service a little slow.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Lana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Customer Service at Crowne Plaza Paris Republique, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Lana K,

It was a treat to read your excellent remarks.
The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back and providing you again with the very best of our hospitality.

Yours sincerely,

The Guest Relations Team
Crowne Plaza Paris République

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here for a week over the Christmas 2013 period and was happy with the stay overall.

Pros:
The hotel is in a perfect location right in the heart of Paris and has a metro stop right outside the front door.
The hotel and the room we had on the 2nd floor were clean and well kept.
The staff were very nice overall, especially the concierge.
It's priced very reasonably.

Cons:
The wifi policy is draconian - they were asking for €10 per day for wifi access which in 2013 is laughable to say the least. On the first day we went to the front desk and offered the staff €5 per day for the week paid upfront to meet in the middle but they rejected it straight out. Thankfully their terrible wifi policy is met with a fairly terrible wifi setup, as we paid €2 for an hour per day but had unlimited access to that wifi all day as it never kicked us off.

The food/bar prices are astronomical. It's Paris, things are expensive and that's to be expected, but to charge €7.5 for a 330ml can of coke and €10 for 500ml of mediocre beer is an utter joke. Thankfully there's a supermarket within 5 minutes walk that sell these things at 10% of the price. There's also an ice machine on every floor and an ice bucket in the room, so a quick trip to the supermarket and the ice machine equals cold beers/drinks and food in the room for very little - money which would be going to CP if their prices were in any way reasonable.

The room had a terrible view looking inward toward offices. The heat in the room was also pretty surreal. It's winter, it's relatively cold out (about 10 degrees celcius on average) and yet the room was absolutely scorching almost all the time - we had to keep the windows open day and night in order to keep it at a comfortable temperature. The cleaning service seemed to put little effort into actually cleaning the room also. Every day the bed would be half made and we'd routinely be missing towels/robes/etc. that were taken and meant to be replaced.

Overall it was decent. The location in particular makes up for a lot of the downfalls of the hotel, and the price being decent doesn't hurt either. I would stay there again if I return to Paris.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the Place de la Republique. The other views are pretty terrible. Go to the...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Paris Republique, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Richard B,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the fine location of our hotel in the area and found our staff to be nice. Please allow us to apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stay regularly at the Crowne Plaza. This is very conveniently located at place de la République in Paris. Paris's main attractions are easily accessible, bus and metro just outside the hotel. Our last visit in November was perfect. Our room on the 3 floor responded to our requests: spacious, clean, non-smoking, quiet overlooking the courtyard. The breakfast was ok. The staff at the reception was much more welcoming than the previous times: friendly smiles, advices and suggestions gived spontaneously, and helping hand to solve internet problems ...

Room Tip: ask for the renovated rooms
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gytta50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Customer Service at Crowne Plaza Paris Republique, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear gytta50,

Thanks for your preference for Crowne Plaza Paris Republique and the time you took to write this review.

We are proud that we were able to fulfill all your needs and we are glad that you spent an “perfect visit” with us while you were in Paris in November.

Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon

Yours sincerely,

The Guest Relations Team
Crowne Plaza Paris République

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Novotel Paris Les Halles
Novotel Paris Les Halles
#396 of 1,804 in Paris
3,747 reviews
Hotel Eiffel Seine
#345 of 1,804 in Paris
2,168 reviews
Grand Hotel Francais
#103 of 1,804 in Paris
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#116 of 1,804 in Paris
1,650 reviews
Hotel Ares Paris
#73 of 1,804 in Paris
2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Paris Republique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Paris Republique

Address: 10 Place de la Republique, 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#333 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#524 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $163 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Paris Republique 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Crowne Plaza Paris Republique is a unique building easily accessible and only few minutes away from all attractions (Grands Boulevards, Montmartre, Eiffel Tower...). Parisian people love going around the numerous bars, restaurants and shops that surround the Place de la République which is easily reached by 5 metro lines. For a comfortable stay, the Crowne Plaza Paris République is newly renovated with its 328 air-conditioned rooms , 1 Restaurant, 1 Bar and WI-FI access in public areas. Come to the restaurant 'Le Dix' to taste our buffet and the 'a la carte menu' featuring French cuisine, or to the 'Le Dix' Bar from where you can enjoy a nice view of the Place de la République Crowne Plaza Paris République also offers 18 meeting rooms, all have natural day light. These rooms can welcome up to 250 persons for conferences, in front of our historic inner courtyard. Last but not least, the hotel is only 3 metro stations away form the Eurostar, Thalys & TGV East Terminal in Paris and from stations where high speed metro arrive from Roissy Charles de Gaulle and Orly Airport to Parc des Exposition de Villepinte, le Bourget and the Stade de France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Paris Republique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Paris Republique Hotel Paris
Paris Crowne Plaza
Holiday Inn Paris Republique
Paris Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Republique Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing