We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not recommended for business” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Paris Republique

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Paris Republique
Ranked #514 of 1,812 Hotels in Paris
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not recommended for business”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

I stayed for five nights on a business trip. I can't really recommend it for either business or pleasure. There are four reasons to stay here: the staff is friendly and helpful (but it can be very busy at the front desk and concierge), the room I stayed in was large with a very confortable bed, the location at the Place de la Republique has convenient access to 5 Metro lines, and the area surrounding the hotel has a good mix of shopping, restaurants, and other facilities. If you don't mind the room rate, it can be a good base for exploring Paris on vacation. For business, it was the typical mid-to-luxury expensive hotel. Broadband Internet access is 25 euro extra per day. Local calls for toll-free calling card access is still 3 euro per call. Hotel laundry service is extremely overpriced - 4-6 euro each for simple items like socks, underwear, more for washable slacks and shirts. The hotel breakfast can be included in some room rates, and may be reasonable on that basis. If purchased separately, it's much too pricey and you are better off going outside to a neighborhood cafe or even (ugh) McDonalds.
Bottom line: For business, find an all-inclusive hotel and save, save, save. For vacation, if you can afford the room, it's a good place to sleep and plan your adventures.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a corner. Ask for a room not overlooking either street to minimize noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin_Allentown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    1,041
    453
    148
    86
See reviews for
778
672
91
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We have arrived in the evening & had to wait for some time to check in, there was a queue. To ask concierge about directions or any sort of assistance, you've got to wait again, as there is a queue. We were given room on 1st floor, right opposite of the lift & found hair on the floor in the bathroom & stains on the floor in the room. Did not inform anyone about this, as we were very tired, but i am sure they would have fixed it if we had.
Generally, the staff was helpful, but somehow, there was nothing special about the service or general feeling about the hotel.
It is located 1 minute walking distance to the metro & about 5 minutes to the bus stop (the one where you can hop on the bus & take a city tour).

Room Tip: Not on the first floor & not next to the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pikpik_tm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greensboro
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed here on the beginning of a month long European adventure and could not have had a better send-off. We had a Club level room which is the best value. The room was large and tasefully appointed with a very comfortable bed. Club level rooms allow you free internet, breakfast and access to the Club Lounge which opens around 6 each evening with cocktails and appetizers. the hotel is very centrally located and the concierge, Bruno, was extremely helpful and charming. An excellent experience and we will definitely stay here again next time we are in Paris.

Room Tip: Club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happycat1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for a weekend in May and were very pleased with the experience. The hotel served as a nice base for touring Paris ( walking distance to lovely neighborhoods, including the canals in Paris, and an easy metro ride/taxi to many of the main sites). Multiple cafes and restaurants are available in the neighborhood and small markets are nearby for snacks and drinks. We also enjoyed the crepe stand in the park immediately in front of the hotel. Our room was upgraded to a club level room, probably due to priority club membership. While we didn't have access to the club level lounge, our room was a bit larger than the standard room with a nice seating area. We had a lovely courtyard view which kept away the street noise at night. We found the concierge at the hotel to be very helpful with a restaurant recommendation, and we were also pleased the quality of the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank discover124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We checked in and found our room to be filthy. The carpets had major stains. The door looked as if had been opened with a crow bar - the wood around the door was shattered.
Early the next morning we were awakened by the sound of garbage trucks and this continued for fifteen minutes. The good news is that we were given a satisfactory room after we complained.

The main floor and the entire hotel was very worn, particularly the carpets. Good location but we have stayed at much better in the Marais.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank blackJackalexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Like most hotels in Paris, this one costs more than you feel like you're getting. That aside, it's a perfectly nice hotel in a great location - it's a very short walk to the Republlique metro stop and to many bars, restaurants and shops.

I haven't stayed in many European hotels that have in-room coffee. The CPPR has instant - not perfect, mind you - but very, very good, considering. We didn't have breakfast there - not sure it's offered - but we did take in some soccer and snacks in the bar and everything was very good, if quite expensive (though not within the context of Paris generally).

Our check-in was a bit of a nightmare. We had come in by train from Germany, and it was quite late. We'd booked ahead, of course, but the hotel had over-booked (!) and the lobby was full of exhausted guests who had just arrived from Dubai. People were being turned away and sent to other hotels, despite having reservations, as we waited. We were told we wouldn't get a room, then were told to wait, which we did, and for quite a while - perhaps 20 or 30 minutes. Eventually we were given the key to a room. We went to the room and found it occupied. (Wow.) Of course we went back to the desk to report this, um, problem, and after a barely stifled laugh from the desk clerk (at this point it was sort of funny, though we were also tired and over it) we were escorted to a room that was clean, comfortable and, most importantly, empty.

We spent very little time in the hotel - I mean, Paris! - but beyond the initial madness of getting our room I have no complaints about the hotel. Maid service was great, the bartender was terrific, and internet access worked ($$), the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and had everything we needed.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbaroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This property is not luxurious, but it is nice. It's location is very close to good transportation and many rooms look out onto the park in the center of the Place Republic. Unfortunately the homeless were being feed on the particular night we stayed, but this only added to the charm and was not a big deterrent. The rooms are small, but not so small we could not add a roll away bed. Many good restaurants are nearby and the area seemed safe to me. The staff was helpful and courteous. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a park view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darleensun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Holiday Inn Paris-Gare de L'Est
Bastille / Oberkampf
Le Mareuil
Le Mareuil
#103 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Fabric
Hotel Fabric
#9 of 1,812 in Paris
5.0 of 5 stars 908 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Holiday Inn Paris Opera-Grands Boulevards
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Paris Republique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Paris Republique

Property: Crowne Plaza Paris Republique
Address: 10 Place de la Republique, 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#282 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#525 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Paris Republique 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Crowne Plaza Paris Republique is a unique building easily accessible and only few minutes away from all attractions (Grands Boulevards, Montmartre, Eiffel Tower...). Parisian people love going around the numerous bars, restaurants and shops that surround the Place de la République which is easily reached by 5 metro lines. For a comfortable stay, the Crowne Plaza Paris République is newly renovated with its 328 air-conditioned rooms , 1 Restaurant, 1 Bar and WI-FI access in public areas. Come to the restaurant 'Le Dix' to taste our buffet and the 'a la carte menu' featuring French cuisine, or to the 'Le Dix' Bar from where you can enjoy a nice view of the Place de la République Crowne Plaza Paris République also offers 18 meeting rooms, all have natural day light. These rooms can welcome up to 250 persons for conferences, in front of our historic inner courtyard. Last but not least, the hotel is only 3 metro stations away form the Eurostar, Thalys & TGV East Terminal in Paris and from stations where high speed metro arrive from Roissy Charles de Gaulle and Orly Airport to Parc des Exposition de Villepinte, le Bourget and the Stade de France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Crowne Plaza Paris Republique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Paris Republique Hotel Paris
Paris Crowne Plaza
Holiday Inn Paris Republique
Paris Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Republique Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing