We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille
Nearby Hotels
$334
$297
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Eiffel Seine(Paris)
$174
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$1,619
$1,138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$401
$360
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$351
$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$543
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$324
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$214
$206
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Saint James Paris(Paris)
$511
$498
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$715
$679
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,198)
Filter reviews
1,198 results
Traveler rating
331
618
174
52
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
618
174
52
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssex shop next doortrain stationminute walkconvenient locationking bedsmall balconynice roomthe hotel is cleaneiffel towerbastillegareihgcafesrerproximityfrenchcheckin
Filter
Updating list...
383 - 388 of 1,198 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2014

well .. after we stayed to another lovely hotel for the fisrt 2 days of our trip , i was very excited about this one ... but honestly, i was expecting more ... the location was not very nice , though very convenient , next to the big station Gare de lyon , but the staff was not as they should be in my opinion, given they are working at the hospitality business... not all of them ... some of them where extra polite and positive.. the room was ok, nth special ... the breakfast ok... anyway ... i was expecting waaaay more for a holiday inn ... if i stayed again? No. No. No.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Elizampeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XAVIER D, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.
We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations, about our location and our staff.
We hope that you have enjoyed better the rest of your trip.
Thank you very much for your review and staying with us.

Kinds regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I was a little hesitant to stay at this property after reading some reviews about the sex shops and neighborhood, a bad experience at the Holiday Inn Elysees, and some email correspondence with the hotel about their overpriced breakfast, but it turned out to be a very pleasant stay. Because of my Platinum status, we did receive a room upgrade from “2 single beds” to a slightly larger than average, for this hotel, corner room with king bed. I forgot to write down the room number, but we were on a higher floor (not the top) in the L-shaped area (inside on the 90 degree angle) where the two lines meet so it was larger than most of the rooms but not the largest ones. It was very close to the elevator, but noise was never an issue. The view was nothing special except rooftops and the backs of apartment buildings but again quiet! Along with the bed, there was a chair with footstool, luggage stand, a desk with phone & radio (one problem was the clock reset every time the master electric switch was turned off since you had to put a key in there for electricity), plus a tv and desk and a small safe that did hold my mini-laptop. We received 3 bottles of water (2 still and 1 gas) plus a bottle of OJ. There was a coffee machine with 4 coffee packets provided. We had to ask for an extension cord which they promptly made available so that we could plug our breathing machines in. I made sure that we returned them the next morning as we were leaving to do errands so that we wouldn’t be charged. The bathroom was small but functioned well except no ledges or space to put stuff. There was a good shower but no tub. It had a nice rain shower head and also a hand held device for rinsing. There was also a toilet and sink, and typical Holiday Inn amenities (shampoo, soap, etc.) were provided. I used points to pay for the room and noticed that if one were booking a room (and paying), there was the option to choose an add-on for breakfast for 2 guests for 18 euro total. If paying at the hotel, it was 18 euro each, which was too much for what they provided. They either did not understand my question or were unwilling to let me pay for breakfast in advance at this discounted price so I found a restaurant called “Breakfast in America” 2 metro stops or about a mile (1.4 km) walk away. It was something different than we’re used to in Paris, and a separate review will be written on TripAdvisor.com. A major reason that we chose this location was that this was the mid-point of our European trip (first night in Paris after Berlin and Prague), and we wanted to do laundry, which we’ve never done before during our 30+ prior trips, because many times we just fly over for a long weekend! We were going to stay at the Holiday Inn CDG (Roissy), but they had no laundry (except sending out by the piece), and there was nothing to be found in Roissy. There were a few near the hotel, and we went to the one at 8 Avenue Daumesnil. It wasn’t very expensive, took a few hours, was safe, and set a precedent for future trips!
In summary, I liked this hotel and would stay there again. I am giving it a 4, which is a high mark for me. The people were mostly friendly (no one rude but sometimes standoffish), the room was a decent size for Paris hotels, the location was great, etc. etc. Merci!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerlinG-ParisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XAVIER D, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your long feedback regarding our hotel.
We are very pleased to know, you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We will be very pleased to welcome you again.


Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel, the room was fairly clean and the location is close to the Metro at Gare de Lyon. We arrived in the morning after a trans-Atlantic flight, and the front desk was able to get us into a room early, although they had originally said it would not be available until housekeeping could get to it after lunch. We were pleasantly surprised, as we had not asked or expected to be checked in that early, so that was greatly appreciated when the front desk came and told us while we were getting our bags ready to be stored.
Breakfast buffet is good, the fresh squeezed orange juice is a welcome touch to start the day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awayupnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XAVIER D, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.
We are very pleased to know, you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you very much for your review and staying with us.


Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I have been to Paris a number of times and wanted to stay in a different part of the city and hence, why I stayed at this hotel. What surprised me given my previous experience in Paris was how big the room and bathroom were. The room appears to have been remodelled recently and allowed to to sleep well during my stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XAVIER D, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.
We are very pleased to know, you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you very much for your review and staying with us.


Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Loved the hotel, the location was close to quite a few cafes and restaurants, easy access to the rest of the city. The rooms were clean and quiet. The shower let a lot of water out onto the bathroom floor and this was hard to avoid, so be careful when you step in and out. Other than this, I have no complaints!

Room Tip: Facing the courtyard was perfectly quiet!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XAVIER D, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.
We are very pleased to know, you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you very much for your review and staying with us.


Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews