We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille
Ranked #449 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
warragul
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top Location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed one night here on our return to Paris from Avignon as we were flying out from CDG the next day. I picked this hotel because it was close to Gare de Lyon and the reviews were pretty good. I must say I wasn't disappointed. When we emerged from the train station the Holiday Inn sign was clearly visible and we easily walked up the street with all our luggage. The reception was lovely and although the lift was a very tight squeeze, it added to the charm. Our room was very nicely decorated although pretty small but I believe this is pretty common. We did have a king size bed though so that might give an indication of the size. There is also a little foyer section when you first enter the room with a second door so if noise from the corridor was a problem you could close this off, (we had no noise at all). The view wasn't particular special from our room, but we did have opening windows which I like. The bathroom was very nicely fitted out. We had room service for dinner as we couldn't be bothered going out although there were plenty of cafes and restaurants around. On arrival the lady at reception was particularly pleasant and helpful. While my husband and I discussed getting to the airport the next morning she kindly gave us all the options with costs and travel times and when we decided on taxi, (a set charge from the hotel), she arranged everything for us. The next morning when we arrived down to check out the taxi driver was there in reception to greet us. The breakfast was probably a little pricey but we decided to have it there anyway as it was convenient for us. It was very nice. If we hadn't been leaving early we probably would have wandered up the street and found somewhere else. As mentioned in other reviews there was renovations underway and in the corridors the carpet was being laid or pulled up or something and there were a few cables laying about but we saw no sign of any workers and definitely no disturbances. For the price I paid 116 Euro, it was excellent value. The location too was nice as we took a lovely stroll along the river right to the other end of Paris. When we booked it was listed as a 3 star property, I think it is really worth the 4 stars it now has. Great value for money. By the way the bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank compqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    550
    150
    50
    22
See reviews for
231
410
59
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Flackwell Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had a 2 bedroom (v large by Paris standards!) suite on the top floor (7th) which was definitely the right choice. 2 large rooms (both with plasma screens) and a bathroom and toilet in the connecting corridor. 5 mins from Gare du Lyon and very peaceful. A number of good local restaurants, a great local bar - live rugby and football. Plus a Carrefour 100 yards up the road for the essential snacks and drinks. A perfect base for our trip

Room Tip: Suites on the top floor are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marc_matthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

pros:
- not far away from the train station "Gare de Lyon" (a taxi is not needed)
- next to hotel are several bars where you can have breakfast
cons:
- very expensive hotel
- old fashioned and small rooms
- during my stay, the hotel was a construction site; I had to walk over cables and on the corridor there were power tools of the craftsmen
- there was no notification on the webpresence that the hotel is under construction
- expensive breakfast
for the sake of clarity: the room, in particular the bathroom, was clean
For the money requested, I found in Paris better hotels in the past.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cosmopolit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

IHG should inform their members when booking this hotel of their undergoing renovation. Otherwise, you'll be surprised by the messy construction during the day (thank goodness we were spared of the noise at night). While locating our room, we were greeted by a couple of the housekeeper's messy carts, with dirty linens scattered on hallways with horrible carpet flooring. Housekeepers speak very little English and act a bit dodgy. Room was small but comfortable. Toilet and shower were too small; not enough space for toiletries by the sink-mirror area. There is a small refrigerator for your perusal but no coffee making facility. They have free WiFi connection but you have to re-register every hour. Go figure. If not for the hotel's proximity to Gare Lyon, we wouldn't have stayed here.

Room Tip: Book a room after their renovation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaWenLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
161 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have just returned from our second stay at this hotel. The hotel is currently undergoing a huge refurbishment, we spoke to one of the recepionists and were told it will probably be finished around about december this year This has been required since they have recently been awarded a fourth star.
Apart from seeing the odd workman, the disruption to the hotel seems very unobtrusive. We stayed on the 3rd floor, our room was one of those that had been refurbed, and we were very happy with it. They have now included tea and coffee items, which is new since last year.
The bathroom was a very good size, and the beds were so comfortable.
We did have a small problem on one particular day, we had left early in the morning to go to Disneyland, when we returned just after midnight we discovered that the cleaner had left our room unlocked all day. Fortunately we were at the end of a corridor so there was not any passing traffic, we were very lucky that nothing had been taken. We reported it to the receptionist the next day, but he seemed to struggle to understand what we were saying. Apart from that everything went smoothly.
The air con was a very welcoming after the high temperature's outside. The staff go out of their way to help. The breakfast is great, so much choice, both hot and cold. The fridge in the room is an added bonus. Only a two minute walk to Gare du Lyon station. Or if you take the bus from Gare du Nord, just jump on the number 65 outside the station and get off at Gare de Lyon-Diderot. The hotel is about twenty steps away.
The area seems one of the better ones considering there is a huge station there, we returned late on quite a few evenings and never once felt uncomfortable.
We look forward to our next stay at this hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I chose this hotel for my family to stay in Paris for two reasons - convenience to the Gare de Lyon, and use of Priority Club points.

Unfortunately, when we went to check in, they told me we could not have the room we booked due to a party of four (2 adults, a 6 yr old and a 2 yr old). I was very upset, as I had booked my reservation over the Priority Club phone line to confirm this - many rooms have a max capacity of three.

The staff was able to find a way to accommodate us, thankfully, after some review of reservations. We were able to get a room on the top floor with a very nice view.

The room was as expected from a Holiday Inn - comfortable beds, clean, well-maintained, free WiFi, and a small fridge.

The only downside was the bathroom - being on the top floor, we had the slant of the roof, making it very tough to stand in the shower!

Otherwise, the location was perfect, with an easy walk to the Gare de Lyon and a perfect walk along the Seine to Notre Dame.

One thing to be aware of is the presence of a sex shop right next door. There is nothing blatant or untoward, but if traveling with a family, it makes for an interesting question from kids.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

The main reason for choosing this hotel was the proximity to the gare de Lyon. The price was reasonable, and the room was decent. There was some obvious refurbishment, but no noise. As previously commented on, small room, and poor air conditioning but not uncomfortable. Nice shops and bars in the rue De rivoli and Bastille area just a few blocks away. We did not try the breakfast as 17 euros each seemed a little steep!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank V S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
#610 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Terminus Lyon
Hotel Terminus Lyon
#490 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon
Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon
#444 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Viator - Paris Gare de Lyon
Bastille / Oberkampf
Ibis Paris Gare de Lyon Ledru Rollin 12eme
Bercy / Nation
Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille

Property: Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille
Address: 11 rue de Lyon | 12 Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#263 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#491 Business Hotel in Paris
#496 Family Hotel in Paris
#559 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Press on this following link to discover our hotel video de l'Holiday Inn Paris Bastille. The Holiday Inn Paris Bastille hotel is ideally located in the historical heart of Paris with its famous Place de la Bastille and only a 5 minute walk from the Gare de Lyon train station with its direct access to Disneyland Resort Paris and convenient metro access to Paris Expo Porte of Versailles Exhibition Center. Only walking distances away and easy metro accesses ( metro Bastille ) from the most famous Paris leisure attractions like the Louvre Museum, Notre Dame of Paris, and George Pompidou Center. Stroll along the Seine, or go for a nice shopping spree and enjoy the exclusive Shopping District Rivoli where you can enjoy the latest Paris fashion and visit various well known Department Stores.Only a short distance away from Orly and Charles de Gaulle airports, the Stade de France, and La Defense business district, this 3 star hotel is the place to be for both leisure as well as business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Paris Bastille Hotel Paris
Paris Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Bastille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing