We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille
Ranked #459 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Very good stay during a long weekend away.

Rolled two bokings together with no issue so we could stay in the same room. Rooms very good by Parisian standards and it seems a make over is happening. Think we were in one of the finished rooms as quality of furniture, decor etc was very good.

Breakfast was included for first night and quality was good. Nice range meats, breads, yoghurts, fruit etc. However we did not buy breakfast on the second day as we thought 17 Euros each a bit much. Excellent breakfasts available cheaper in surronding cafes.

Location is excellent being next to the Gare de Lyon for trains and metro for all attractions. Gay quarter easily walkable and to stagger home.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dazbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,103)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

467 - 473 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

This Holiday Inn is a stone's throw from the Gare de Lyon train station in Paris and is well located apart from the large Sex Shop next door. But don't worry, it is not a bad area. This is one of those was very nice hotels, in it's day. That's why they are renovating it. But I don't want to walk down corridors with no carpet and have workmen outside the room painting and running cables everywhere when I stay in a hotel. The staff were really good, the room was dated but clean and breakfast was fine. When it's finished it will be OK. At least when I complained they threw in breakfast free, which was some compensation.

Room Tip: Wait until the renovation is finished on your floor
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1000000Rosscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Bastille in June and the only real positive was that Gare De Lyon Train station is a couple of minutes walk from the hotel. Thank goodness we were only there two nights as the area was horrible, there were no nice restaurants to eat at and the staff were less than pleasant. The hotel has been given a negative rating for the following reasons:

- I left the "do not disturb" sign on the door however the maid still went into our room. Not only did he/she enter when we did not want them to, they took all our towels. I walked down to reception to request more and there was no apology whatsoever. PLUS our towels were not brought up to the room for another 40 minutes.
- No ironing board/iron in the room. I had to go down to reception to borrow one AND THEN when we were checking out the receptionist said to me "you borrowed the ironing board. Where is it? I replied the board and iron were still in my room, upon which she ORDERED me to go up and get it before we could check-out!
- Area is grotty, with hotel right next door to a sex shop
- rooms are small, which is fine, but the bathroom "door" is almost transparent (you can see the outline of whoever is in there from the room)
I would only book here if you have an early train to catch the next morning like we did. I am disappointed we didn't stay in another area/hotel.

Advantages:
- Bed is very comfortable
- Although renovations are taking place, we were not put out (I suppose because we were there on a weekend so there were no tradesmen onsite)
- Close to Gare De Lyon Train Station

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sambo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XAVIER D, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.
I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your stay.
We will take the opportunity to do a training with our team.

Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope that the remainder of your trip in Paris was most enjoyable.

Kinds regards.

xavier Dessaivre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed with the family at this hotel for 5 nights. Location was perfect, across the road from Gare de Lyon, one of the largest train terminals in Paris. Room was standard and small as it usually is in Paris but comfortable. They gave us an adjoining room for the kids so it was great. Breakfast was also nice. We were expecting some noise from the renovations currently being done but we were not bothered at all. We checked out at 4am to catch an early flight but the night receptionist could not organize a taxi for us. My husband had to go outside and flag one instead from the station. Overall, we had a good experience at this hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RowD2192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

I really have no complaints. I stayed for 7 nights room was ok bar was good lots of resturants around bus/subway close what more could i want staff was helpful every night i walked to a different nearby bar to get drunk on a beautiful night

Thank charlie0325
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

It took me a while to settle on a hotel in Paris. I ended up with this one for 2 reasons. 1 - its location and 2 - its a holiday inn.

Location

The location is in the Bastille district, which some people not seem to like very much. To be frank, I cannot see why. The area was clean, full of historic looking Parisian buildings and had a good selection of bars and restaurants nearby.

The one things they don't show in the photo is the large "sex shop" just to the left of the hotel's front door. I think it's more a shop for 'accessories' rather than a brothel and other than the fact the shop looks completely out of place in a smart area I wouldn't give it a second thought.

The best selling point is the bus connection from CDG Airport. Simply take the "Les Cars de Airfrance" line 4 from the airport to Gare du Lyon and the bus drops you about a minutes walk away. Couple of top tips here: they are doing some renovation work at the airport and they've managed to remove most of the direction signs from Terminal 2E to the bus depot!

After much wondering around you need to go down to level zero and the bus depot is roughly in the middle of all the terminals. We also tried to buy the tickets before we boarded; although the machines weren't working and there was no one around to ask. We also had the stressful moment where none of the ATMs would also work and we found ourselves stranded in the terminal with no money. However, you can buy the tickets on-line before you leave, get them from a real person at the airport information desk or buy directly from the driver with a credit card. Had a known this before hand, much hassle would have been saved [hence why I am including it in the review]!

Anyway, back to the hotel's area. Opposite is a small convenience store open from 8am until midnight monday - Saturday which sell a good range of essentials, plus a nice choice of sandwhiches and salads should you wish to pack a lunch for a day exploring. There are also a good range of pavement cafes and the area seem safe and walkable even at night.

Another good point about the location was the proximity of the trains to Disneyland. From the subway underneath the main station you simply take RER Line A direct to the park (you buy your tickets from the green machines, not the yellow SNCF ones) and the machines work in English too. The trip takes 35 minutes on the train or an easy and relaxing hour hotel room to park entrance.

Hotel

I had read reports about the staff being surely or unhelpful. I didn't find them to be anything of the sort; in fact they seemed genuinely friendly and accommodating. All spoke good English.

The hotel was still undergoing renovations in it's public areas, meaning that the corridors had temporary carpet taped everywhere, bits were half pained, bits were wall papered... you get the idea. However, it was difficult to tell what was the old décor and what was the new! We also never saw any builder doing any work or making any noise, so other than to be aware of this it shouldn't worry you.

The rooms are SMALL. There's no getting away from it, they are small! That doesn't mean that they aren't modern and well planned. There is loads of storage and the imaginative layout makes the most of the high ceilings and small footprint. The double entrance doors mean that you don't hear any noise from the corridors at all. The bathroom wall is frosted glass between the bathroom and bedroom but the light is placed as not to give embarrassing shadows!

There was no facilities in the room to make tea or coffee (which I thought was a holiday inn staple?), but the wifi was free. The connection card they give you says an hour only, but you just keep re-registering for a new access token each hour. The air conditioning was hopeless. They reset ours, but it still didn't cool the room very well.

We were at the back of the hotel, and while this didn't provide a very nice view, it was quite so we ended up leaving the large windows open all night. However... if you have children alone in the room I wouldn't recommend you staying here at all as they fully open with just a small guard rail. If the weather had been hotter, we'd have asked to move rooms, but as it happened the nights were cool.

The shower is good and powerful and the bed comfy (if a little small feeling) with the standard choice of holiday inn pillows.

Breakfast was included in our rate, it wasn't bad. Very continental (as you might expect) with a focus on bread, cheeses, salads, cold meats and butter. There were cereals and very creamy milk together with a limited selection of hot items: nasty looking [but ok tasting] scrambled egg, beans, tomato, mushrooms and a selection of nasty tasting hot-dog style sausages and meatballs. It's all self service, but the price is a bit steep for the general quality if you are paying yourself.

In summary, this is a good hotel, in a very good location that delivers everything a hotel should. With a little more time and the renovations are finished, there's no reason why this wouldn't be an automatic go-to choice for any future stays in Paris.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobDerbyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed 7 nights with wife and son,and had a suite booked Top floor..Great location 5 minutes from Gare deLyon station and Metro and lot of cafe's nearby.AIRFRANCE bus comes straight from CharlesDeGaulle every 30minutes to station
Suite was on top floor.SLOPING ceiling made room appear smaller and both son and myself banged our heads against it a few times.
MOST AWFUL was the sloping ceiling in bathroom which made taking a shower impossible[ standing up].The hotel did not have a stool so we bought one and were able to shower sitting in the tub.In addition the Toilet is separate from the bath room and is pretty bothersome.
Stafff ranged from downright incompetent to average which made any inquiry for ANYTHING a long wait.

Room Tip: dont get top floor and do not expect rooms to be ready till 1600.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R venkata n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Terminus Lyon
Hotel Terminus Lyon
#471 of 1,804 in Paris
979 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
#603 of 1,804 in Paris
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Ibis Paris Gare de Lyon Ledru Rollin 12eme
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Viator - Paris Gare de Lyon
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#957 of 1,804 in Paris
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille

Address: 11 rue de Lyon | 12 Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#286 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#491 Business Hotel in Paris
#495 Family Hotel in Paris
#558 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $144 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Press on this following link to discover our hotel video de l'Holiday Inn Paris Bastille. The Holiday Inn Paris Bastille hotel is ideally located in the historical heart of Paris with its famous Place de la Bastille and only a 5 minute walk from the Gare de Lyon train station with its direct access to Disneyland Resort Paris and convenient metro access to Paris Expo Porte of Versailles Exhibition Center. Only walking distances away and easy metro accesses ( metro Bastille ) from the most famous Paris leisure attractions like the Louvre Museum, Notre Dame of Paris, and George Pompidou Center. Stroll along the Seine, or go for a nice shopping spree and enjoy the exclusive Shopping District Rivoli where you can enjoy the latest Paris fashion and visit various well known Department Stores.Only a short distance away from Orly and Charles de Gaulle airports, the Stade de France, and La Defense business district, this 3 star hotel is the place to be for both leisure as well as business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Paris Bastille Hotel Paris
Paris Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Bastille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing