We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,198)
Filter reviews
1,198 results
Traveler rating
331
618
174
52
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
618
174
52
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssex shop next doortrain stationminute walkconvenient locationking bedsmall balconynice roomthe hotel is cleancroissantsbastillegareihgcafesrerproximityfrenchcheckin
Filter
Updating list...
616 - 621 of 1,198 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2011

We booked this hotel at a really good price, I have no idea why maybe it was off season.
Generally nice rooms, we liked the bathroom door... inspired...
Good value for money... close to Bastille and Les Marais.
Sometimes staff can be a bit weird....

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iknowgoodfood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

I went to Paris for the 1st time on the last week of February, visiting from Los Angeles as a tourist and also a I'm a writer, hoping to find inspiration and research for my historic Paris-set fiction novel. The online search for my perfect hotel was long and exhausting. I was unfamiliar with the city's geography but I selected the Holiday Inn Paris Bastille because Air France Les Cars Bus Number 4 from Charles De Gaulle airport takes you directly to the Gare De Lyon. From there, you walk only a short block down the Rue de Lyon and the Holiday Inn with it's green canopy, revolving door and balconies is clearly the biggest hotel in that street. It was once a prestigious residence in 1913. The hotel went through several renovations and it seems to be at present the finest business hotel in all Paris. There are several conference rooms, over 100 individual bed rooms featuring singles, suites and family rooms. Pets are allowed in the hotel. There's a large breakfast room and a bar. The decor of the lobby is pristine white with chandeliers. There are colorful lounge chairs in a waiting area where guests can relax and even use their laptops. Apparently, this lounge was bigger at one point and there was once a restaurant but the changes made to the hotel have the clear purpose of having it serve as a business hotel. For tourists, I personally find that this isn't the right hotel. Located in the 12th arrondissement in the East side of Paris' Right Bank, you're really too far from the heart of the city and all the major tourist areas which is in the Ile De La Cite with the Notre Dame Cathedral, Musee De Louvre or Champs Elysees as well as the Eiffel Tower/Champs du Mars area. I had to walk quite a distance to get to all those places because I didn't wish to pay for that many taxi cabs during my stay. The Metro at the Gare De Lyon is extremely useful in getting around the city as is the train station itself for travel to other parts of France but I didn't wish to use the Metro as I find that it's dirty, crowded and it's common knowledge that thieves, pick pockets and scam artists are lurking there. The hotel concierge and front desk staff is friendly, extremely helpful and excellent with their service. I requested taxi cabs about three or four different times and it was always punctual. They have a wake up call system that works great and they give you a map of Paris as well as any information you need about the city.

The only complaint I had about this wonderful hotel was it's in convenient location. I was ill prepared for my trip and should have booked a hotel closer to the Louvre or Eiffel Tower. But otherwise it's a fabulous hotel. The rooms are basic with no decor (not even a picture on your wall), there are no great views to speak of, but it's functional, very clean, comfortable and nice. The beds are quite large and you have enough room to keep your luggages and things, besides closets, a table, a remote control flat screen TV and bathrooms with tub and shower combinations. I didn't mind my room being small as I was traveling alone and I travel light (only one luggage and a back pack). Even with small rooms you still have a nice big bed and all the things you need in a hotel room. All I really needed was a bed and a bathroom since no one flies to Paris just to hang around a hotel room. It felt wonderful to return to my room after a long full day of sightseeing, shopping and eating, after a long walk following the Seine River all the way to the Gare De Lyon. You get a card to enter your room, not a key,and the same card operates the lights in the room and even the TV if you leave the TV on.

The nearest attractions are the Place Bastille with it's Winged Mercury statue pillar and the Opera Bastille where opera performances are held. There are plenty of fine cafes and restaurants by the Gare de Lyon area including the L'Europeen and the train station's eateries which even include the fabulous but pricy Le Train Bleu, popular with many visitors. I don't recommend this hotel for tourists who are visiting Paris for the first time or for family travel. If you're traveling with children and family members, the real disappointment here is the food issue. There's no restaurant, only room service.. I ordered room service (it's pricy) and it's very basic traditional French foods. The breakfast buffet room is nice and spacious but if you stay for an extended period of even a week, you tire of the same breakfast of fruit, bread, cheese, croissants and coffee or juice. I did eat their breakfast because it's pretty good but it's simple, quiet and quick eating without any real atmosphere around. I'm 100 percent certain that this hotel is designed to be a first class train station hotel for business travelers. Business travelers coming off the Gare De Lyon stay here far more so than tourists traveling to Paris for the first time or for experienced leisure travel. As far as business travel, this is your best option. Most train station hotels are pricy and unpleasant such as the Opera Concorde Saint Lazare on the Right Bank near the Garnier Opera; a hotel which is rather old and although has a luxurious grand lobby, the rooms aren't any good. The train stations near hotels are always noisy and the areas are alive with activity both day and night. But the Holiday Inn Paris Bastille is situated about a block away from the train station and the street is safe, clean and quiet. You don't hear any train noises or feel the vibrations of the coming trains like in other train station hotels. There is an X rated porno-sex shop next door which I think is in rather bad taste. Why anyone would have an adult video store next to a fine hotel (or any hotel for that matter) is beyond me. Sex shops should all be located in seedy, ugly areas like certain parts of Montmartre, not in areas like the Gare De Lyon. Families traveling with children would find this sex shop offensive and inappropriate. The fact that this sex shop is right next door clearly indicates that this hotel is targeting mainly adults; like I said business travelers, mostly adult men, men who might want to go in to the sex shop. Some locals discreetly walk into this shop. I saw a man walking his dog and entered the shop with his dog!!

There's nothing romantic about this hotel so you can forget about coming here for your honeymoon or for a romantic trip. You're much better off staying by the Eiffel Tower or Champs Elysees for romantic atmosphere. For historic appeal, the Louvre and Cathedral of Notre Dame, all these places being nowhere near the Holiday Inn Paris Bastille. I came in winter time and it was cold and rainy but the rooms here have indoor heating. There is an internet cafe right next door if you wish to use the internet and not have to be billed for internet use in this hotel. The rooms are also equipped with hair dryers, toiletries and 2 phones: one that allows you to communicate directly with front desk or to call a taxi or order room service or receive outside calls into your room. The other phone is on the bed's overhead board where you can use to make calls, handy for restaurants or box offices. Overall, this is a good hotel. It's classy and the service is excellent. I don't know about those other people who complain but the service I received was of the best kind. They welcomed me warmly and were very kind and helpful both day and night. They speak English quite well as well as a variety of other languages. In my stay here I heard conversations in English, French, Italian and German. It's a lovely hotel. It's really more like a 3 star classy train station hotel. However, as nice as it was, I'm not returning to the Holiday Inn Paris Bastille or any other Holiday Inn in Paris because they are designed for business or brief 1 or 2 day stays and a longer visit in Paris requires a different type of tourist hotel. This isn't a tourist hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NovelistTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Just stayed one night as my train arrived late in the evening at Gare de Lyon. Check in was smooth and painless. Paid the night with Priority Points, so everything was on file. I was upgraded to an executive room which was a corner room so it was quite spacious. Nice comfy bed and work area. WIFI worked good. Bathroom was very tiny even for Paris standards. Wasn't awful for one person, but man it was tight. Checked out early the next morning which again was very easy. Overall a nice hotel and definitely would stay again if I needed to be in this area of Paris.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Getmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Comfortable, large rooms, which is rare for a 3 star hotel in Paris, good design, comfortable beds, spacious, roomy wardrobe. Convenient location, near many good restaurants, Gare de Lyon, the Seine. A good hotel for the price / quality ratio.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gawab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

POSITIVES
- Good hotel for the price range
- Convenient location for many subway lines to go all over Paris, walk to Bastille/Le Marais or to catch a train from Gare de Lyon.
- Efficient, clean, friendly
- Nice room
- Great bed, with various different pillows
- Hot breakfast (good if you don't want just a typical croissant for breakfast), but it did cost 16 euros.
- Free Wi-Fi. Some reviewers said Wi-Fi is expensive but it's actually free (the free version has limited bandwidth but it worked OK. Plus you have to re-login every hour; you can keep signing up with the same details again and again).

NEGATIVES
- Train station neighbourhood with few tourist attractions
- You have to keep logging into the Wi-Fi every hour
- Not the most "charmingly Parisian" hotel (but it is an unusually nice Holiday Inn)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roamingmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews