We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great, photos can be deceiving.”
Review of Le Pera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Pera
Ranked #1,039 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Paris hotels offer a pretty bad value proposition, you pay and get less! On our 3rd trip to Paris (each time in the Opera area which is great) this was the best but that is not to say it was great. The reception staff were all friendly and really very helpful but the breakfast staff could not have looked more miserable and inconvenienced by being asked for a coffee. Breakfast itself was okay. The reception and dining areas were clean and in good order but the rest of the hotel is in need of maintenance - the photos supplied by the hotel give a very different impression, of something fresh, clean and well maintained. Once in the corridors and rooms themselves it is very different.
Our 1st room was substandard in a variety of ways, and simply should not have been made available at any price! Of major concern was the bathroom's numerous floor tiles that were very uneven and loose which for a 'wet' area is potentially hazardous, and the squirt of water from the shower was ineffective. The walls were in a terrible state. We booked a double room with a king bed, but there was no room to open our bags anywhere around the bed, we could only open them ON the bed, even our cabin bags! It should have either had one single or one double bed for the room to be functional, and thus rentable. We had to put up with this, having pre-paid, for several nights before we were able to be moved as they were allegedly full although they possibly could have upgraded us. The next room was significantly better, functional, and much better maintained but the bathroom's floor tiles were still wonky and thus potentially hazardous. Better maintained bedroom also, but it really only offered a minimum standard.
Other hotels we stayed at in Paris previously were marginally better in condition and size but the service factor was really poor. La Pera looked from the photos like it was going to be quite an upgrade but it needs renovating, not for an aesthetic advantage but because of the condition. We spent some time checking out other hotels in the Opera area for next time, and if we return will probably book at St Petersbourg - although only a 3 star currently they have renovated many rooms and looking inside several of them they were fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walshfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chmait, Directeur général at Le Pera, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time to share your opinion. We are always happy to hear from our guests whether their comments are positive or negative.
We realized that we may have, in a way, deceived you and would like to ensure you that your valuable feedback will strongly contribute in improving our service.

Please, be sure that we will do our best to make your next stay with us most enjoyable.

Regards,

Hadi Chmait
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 308 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

Reasonable hotel in a great area very close to the old opera and the 1ere arrondissement. The hotel is much more run down than it shows on pictures! Room was ok, clean, but very dark and a good facelift would do wonders...breakfast area looks a bit dingy! Very good breakfast for Parisian standards! Still worth the rates...but not what it looks from website. Air on/heating a bit confusing and doesn't work as you expect? Either too hot or too cold!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LodonBrazilFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chmait, Directeur général at Le Pera, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013
Google Translation

Madame, Monsieur,

Nous vous remercions d’avoir pris le temps de partager vos impressions.

C’est avec la plus grande attention que j’ai lu chacune de vos remarques, la satisfaction de nos clients est constamment au centre de nos priorités et je vous prie de croire que vos commentaires ont été revus par les équipes afin de concentrer nos efforts sur les différents points que vous avez soulignés.

Veuillez recevoir, Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur, l’expression de mes respectueuses salutations.

Hadi Chmait
Directeur général

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Athens, Greece
1
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great Location, Good service, Small rooms although. Very helpfull staff.
Overall good value for money, although hotels in PAris are really expensive
Overall good value for money, although hotels in PAris are really expensive

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with trip.ru
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chmait, Directeur général at Le Pera, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013
Google Translation

Madame, Monsieur,

C’est au nom de toute l’équipe de l’hôtel Le Péra que je tiens à vous remercier d’avoir partagé vos impressions sur votre séjour parmi nous.

Je suis ravi que vous ayez passé un agréable moment. C’est pour nous une véritable récompense.

Nous espérons avoir à nouveau le plaisir de vous accueillir à l’hôtel Le Péra.

Sincèrement,

Hadi Chmait
Directeur général

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room was a nice size and layout the only downside was it was a little stuffy thru loack of ventilation as windows were locked and unable to open them.

The bar area looked nice but never anyone in there. We didnt have breakfast in hotel as it was so expensive but we found Paris in general incredibly expensive. The location was fantastic in the immediate road there were a couple of nice pizzeria type restaurants and within a couple of minutes walk you were on the main road with shops, restaurants, bars etc. Would stay in this hotel again mainly because of the location and the staff were friendly too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerrie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel a couple times now. Overall good quality. Nice breakfast, clean rooms and very nice staff (Jean-Claude at the reception is very friendly and helpful). Only downside is the size of the single rooms is fairly small and the price of drinks is expensive (5 euros for a tea or a coke).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10022David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very nice hotel, Good location, very pleasant people at the reception, (J-Claude, a good guy !!).
i stayed with my wife in room 108, we enjoyed the disponibility of the Night Auditor and his precious help. closed to les "Grands Magasins" for easy shopping, Transportation, we strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMsR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been staying for three nights at this hotel. Location is good. Breakfast was also good. Room was cold and weather was also cold.Heating was not on. I was trying to adjust the room temperature but if the central heating is not on, it was useless to try.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Senay833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Maison Athenee
Maison Athenee
#164 of 1,803 in Paris
463 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Saint Petersbourg
Hotel Saint Petersbourg
#221 of 1,803 in Paris
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel
Opera / Bourse
Le Relais Madeleine
Le Relais Madeleine
#413 of 1,803 in Paris
311 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel de Seze
Hotel de Seze
#109 of 1,803 in Paris
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pera

Address: 17 rue de Caumartin | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#457 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $148 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pera 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Opera and Place Vendome, hotel Le Pera is a modern four star independent hotel, with own parking lot, conference rooms and over ten junior suites. What we excel in is service, our staff are always ready to help. Our new directors (since 2009) are refurbishing the hotel to bring it to Boutique hotel deluxe standards which you will enjoy from the moment you set foot in reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Pera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pera Hotel Paris
Le Pera Paris
Golden Tulip Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing