We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location - proximity to Isle St Louis!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of France Louvre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
France Louvre
Ranked #1,321 of 1,812 Hotels in Paris
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location - proximity to Isle St Louis!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

- - Pros - -
A reasonably short walk to Isle St Louis, & some really good restaurants.

- - Cons - -
(1) Hotel entry hallway is about 10 feet wide - slightly claustrophobic.
(2) Homeless person sleeping/living a few feet away from the front door for some of the time we were there.
(3) Rooms have a distinct smell of stale air, which goes away when you open the windows.
(4) Would try to find a place on Isle St Louis before coming coming back here. But if I couldn't I would stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor - the 5th - but we were not offered any choice of rooms. Early morning st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalAirRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    66
    54
    43
    44
See reviews for
28
91
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed there for two nights over the week-end, nice second floor with a large living room. Rooms needs new paint and paper on the walls, otherwise it was clean. If you're on the street side, windows are not great at soundproof. Price asked was much too expensive for the quality of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you must be there ask for a room in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrice_CH1700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here just for one night before we caught an early morning train to Milan. It was very convenient for the railway station and was in a good location for shopping and visiting the sites. On the negative side, the hotel was very basic, bedroom very dated and a little shabby, it was clean though - very small - but most bedrooms in Paris are small. It was fine for what we needed - just a bed for the night - but I wouldn't recommend it if you were staying for more than one night - and definitely not if it is your first visit to Paris - or on a romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deirdre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Dammam, Saudi Arabia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I am salesman in Saudi Arobia...Now stile hare. I want to safe hotel room..in corner site. Room in site all r need blue. my dream very nice . i have 1 hotel very nice. many pepole work all r country person come to my dream hotel.

Room Tip: i want to corner site, Large and sunny .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
Helpful?
Thank Rabbireza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auzances, Limousin, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

A well-placed hotel for a Parisian weekend!! The hotel is on the main Rue de Rivoli a stones throw to the north of the Ile de la Cité (home of Notre Dame) and about 15-20 mins walk from the Louvre in one direction and the Place de la Bastille in the other. The hotel rooms themselves (our one anyway) are on the small side and the bathroom not much better. But, it was clean, and the staff very helpful, friendly, and the beds large & comfortable. We paid extra for breakfast - it seemed a touch expensive at first glance, but when compared to outside prices, it was in fact good value for money. And it had a lift which was big enough for two or three people, or the cases - but not both!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockford
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

You can get a better room at the hostel walls are thin so you hear the screaming kids up and down the hall. Like the others have said the hotel has not been updated since it was built. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful but do not use them to book any excursions with France tourism or use that organization. The hotel will push booking multiple trips including meal do not get sucked in. Example I just took a trip to st Michael another one will be the chateaux de la Loire. The trip to saint Michael was 14 hours all together approximately 2 hours at site I made the mistake of doing the meal which took an hour by itself. The food was the worst I have ever had, durian is better. When I returned a girl took the train for less money and had more time at site with less travel.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ben h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The only reason for staying here is to appreciate how good other hotels are. In a great location but old and tired. Wifi advertised but did not work. Photos on their website bear no relation to what you get. Ok if all you want is a basic room for a night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel Paris Rivoli
Hotel Paris Rivoli
#787 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 390 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai
Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai
#1,085 of 1,812 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Le Marais
Grand Hotel du Loiret
Grand Hotel du Loiret
#974 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel de Nice
Hotel de Nice
#708 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Le Marais
Vieux Marais
Vieux Marais
#1,264 of 1,812 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Pointe Rivoli
Hotel Pointe Rivoli
#1,462 of 1,812 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to France Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about France Louvre

Property: France Louvre
Address: 40 rue de Rivoli | 4th Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,321 of 1,812 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — France Louvre 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel set in 1850 Napoleon III design building near the banks of the Seine - Close to Notre Dame, the Louvre and Pompidou Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your France Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
France Louvre Hotel Paris
France Louvre Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing