We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect spot for a girls weekend.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of France Louvre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
France Louvre
Ranked #1,335 of 1,816 Hotels in Paris
Paris, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for a girls weekend.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

A friend of mine booked into this little hotel on her visit to Paris and it was just ideal for what we needed for our girly weekend. A boutique 3 Star hotel, very typical for what you'd expect in Paris with the benefit of no nasty surprises. The location was great, right in the centre of Paris on the Rue de Rivoli and walking distance to just about anywhere we wanted to go.

The entrance foyer, lift and stairs are very narrow and a little dark but the rooms were an absolute delight, larger than you expect for a little French hotel, and with clean, chic decor. The room she had, had violet toile curtains and vintage white-painted shabby/chic furniture and even had a bathtub!

a great place to crash, but don't bother with the breakfast, you'll find better at one of the numerous cafe's right on your doorstep. It's also right near a bunch of cool vintage and second hand stores if that's your thing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsycaravan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    71
    54
    46
    45
See reviews for
28
97
27
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We had two executive rooms in this hotel in early August. Great location in the Marais and excellent for metro connections. Rooms were small yes but clean and the rooms facing the Rue de Rivoli were light and bright. Lets face it we did not come to Paris to stay in the room all day. The first floor salon was also good to sit and browse the web. For the price this is a very good Paris option.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASDAontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed in this hotel as part of my business/holiday in Paris. I agree with the others - the location is brilliant, pretty much everything is a walking distance, nice restaurants, supermarkets, cheese boutiques, shops etc. and it is a decent part of Paris so you feel safe. However, the single room that I booked was just disgusting - like the one from 'My life in ruins'. Miniscule, dark and shabby. Narrow window overlooking the wall.I asked to swap the room and they offered a standard room for 20 euros /day extra or executive for 30 euros/day extra. I took the latter as it was nicer and it had a view, which is something that tick my box when I am traveling. The staff was nice enough except for an older man who was behaving like a 'cappo'. Commanding us to leave the keys (which is fine but if asked in a nicer way) and questioning me over my name and surname (a bit different on a booking form than in my passport) and how come if I am single am occupying a double room. Probably thinking that I am on a 'business'. When it came to paying, they charged me 45 euros just for swapping the room. Safe is 3 per day extra, but when I swapped the room the guy said he'll give it for free as I am taking the expensive room. However, it still appeared on my bill, so I asked them to remove it. They removed but only for 5 days as they said that is how much I was charged. Later on I checked the bill and I was actually charged for 7 days, so they pocket in 6 euros. Not a big sum, but it would be nicer memory for me if they didn't. I also saw two couples on a separate occasions either fighting over the bill or leaving dissatisfied.

Room Tip: If you are staying here make sure you don't book a single room, make them spell out the charges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woginoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Great location. Really small room, but A/C, mini fridge, and free WiFi in the room are all pros. A lot of great restaurants nearby. Most of the receptionists were helpful and friendly (esp the super nice guy from Haiti), but one nearly ruined our first night there. We walked in jet-lagged and disoriented and the man at the front desk could not have been more rude and inappropriate. I don't know if his overdramatic and completely absurd reactions to our responses were an attempt to be funny or if he was using the interaction as an opportunity to compensate for a failed acting career, but he is the sole reason I'm rating this hotel Poor and not Average.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Britney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose Hill Maurtius
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

The hotel has excellent location between Hotel de ville & St Paul station.

Alas that the only positive side.

The negative side of the coin exceed by far. The room is small & looks shabby for a " 3 star"
The minibar was not functioning, when I check in. I had to call the room service to address the issue, who swape minibar from another room.

The bathroom is so small that it is fitted with a swivel glass pane in lieu of curtain . Needless to say that the floor is soaked with water.

Room Tip: Especally solo traveller avoid room # 33
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

One of the worse looking hotel where I ever spent a night. Location is good but that is the only thing. Stay away!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pachen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

I do not understand the magic of photography that was accomplished to make this hotel look inviting on their website but the hotel is extremely old, worn, and feels like it was furnished with castoffs from a thirft store. The carpets are absolutely threadbare. I was unable to check in when I arrived (I was early, no problem there). But, their version of a baggage check is that you walk down extremely narrow curving stairs to a closet in the basement where everyone who needs to store their luggage gets the same passcode to lock/unlock the cupboard and there is no supervision or assistance in storing it. I was very nervous to leave it under those circumstances, but it was still there when I returned. I do understand that the expectations of American travelers for hotels is not the same as those within Europe (and perhaps other countries) but I have been traveling all over Europe for the last three years and this was definitely the worst ever. As one of the other reviewers mentioned, the room and bathroom were actually larger than most - but the shabbiness and junky feel of the room made it feel dirty. When I returned (almost immediately) to the front desk to share my complete shock over the condition of the room compared to what the website described, I was informed that I had one of the best rooms - an "executive." If that is true, I cannot even fathom what the standard rooms must have been like. I was also informed that despite the obviously misleading advertising, I would be charged for the room whether I stayed or not. For the first time ever, I choose to check out anyway - so just be warned. If you want a completely bare bones tiny step above a "hostel" feel then this hotel is probably right for you - it does have a good location for sightseeing and public transit. But - don't be misled by their website. Since they refused to refund my stay even though I didn't spend more than 3 minutes in the room - I certainly hope they invest in substantial renovations!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank carryon101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Grand Hotel du Loiret
Grand Hotel du Loiret
#1,003 of 1,816 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai
Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai
#1,059 of 1,816 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de Nice
Hotel de Nice
#774 of 1,816 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel Paris Rivoli
Hotel Paris Rivoli
#768 of 1,816 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Pointe Rivoli
Hotel Pointe Rivoli
#1,514 of 1,816 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de Neuve by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to France Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about France Louvre

Property: France Louvre
Address: 40 rue de Rivoli | 4th Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,335 of 1,816 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — France Louvre 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel set in 1850 Napoleon III design building near the banks of the Seine - Close to Notre Dame, the Louvre and Pompidou Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your France Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
France Louvre Hotel Paris
France Louvre Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing