We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Port in a storm”
Review of France Louvre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
France Louvre
Ranked #1,394 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Port in a storm”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Booked through Eurostar, liked the central location. In reality it is more shabby than chic,
The carpet looks to be 25 years old and full of carpet burns. We booked 'executive rooms' on the third floor at the front. The aircon was effective and the noise tolerable, there was new TV, a tiny kettle and a little old fridge under the wardrobe. The bathroom had a lot of cracked tiles and black mouldy sealant, I remembered these tiles from the mid eighties and that would likely to have been the last time it was done up. Most the of the occcupants of the cheaper rooms were backpackers and cyclists. They bought picnics to eat in the salon. I wouldnt choose it again and cant recommend unless improved. The reservation clerk books taxis - only service we used.
If you want to play at La Boheme it does the trick.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pearlfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    77
    60
    52
    48
See reviews for
28
111
31
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Headley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We booked this hotel with friends for the Bank holiday, only staying for 2 nights. Our friends had a room on the 2nd Floor at the front with a bathroom, although their room was small, bathroom and furnishings were considerably better than the room we had on the 3rd floor over looking walls and windows. The shower room was a cupboard, if you used the loo beware anyone opening the door as it would hit you. When getting out of the shower (which was tiny and no shower curtain) there was no room between the cubicle and the loo to put a bath mat down. The sink was in an alcove with little lighting and when we tried to put toiletries in the cupboard beneath, we were surprised to find a bidet on wheels!!!!

The towels were grey and stained and I had to request new ones which were better but not much. Bed was comfortable, furnishings and paintwork all very tired and even the flat screen television did not work.

Didnt bother with breakfast as it was nearly 13 Euros, went to a cafe around the corner and had it there for 8 Euros.

All in all, good location but having stayed in many cities around the world, this could never be classed as a 3 star and we have never had such a small room. Suggest you could find better value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rarediamond20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Hotel France Louvre is perfectly located, but even for Paris, the rooms are very small. The rooms facing the back are quite, but very dark unless you are on the 4th or 5th floor.
Would stay here again, but only on the top floors or facing the street.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenmarkIquack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

Awful room, affirming all the poorest Parisian stereotypes (unfortunately): minute, stuffy, awfully furnished, outlook into dark chasm, television not employed well. Wifi didn't work, which destroyed by enterprise designing and no alternate internet option. But large position, on for example of Marais, closeto Hoel de ville, Bourbourg/Pompidou(nearest free wifi location)And perhaps even the Louvre!Staff rather pleasing and apologeticabout wifi unavailability

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yancybillio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

The room we were given was incredibly small and dingy. The air conditioner had broken down, so we opened the window to get fresh air and were blasted by the sound of traffic. The bedhead had marks on it and the bathroom was so small that a big person would have difficulty using the loo. After two nights and a complaint, they put us in a much better room. The only plus for the hotel is that the location is good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rachelward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Not a nice place - you can find better! It's shabby with tiny cramped rooms and elevator. Peeling paint, bedbugs and at times a bad smell. We had a larger room at the front but couldn't sleep due to the constant traffic and drunk people. So we moved to a small room in the back where the shower was a TINY "water closet", and the courtyard view dismal. The bathroom lighting for makeup is very poor and thankfully we only had one large-ish suitcase because two would have had a hard time. The breakfast is okay but is 3 floors down in a little cavernous basement that doesn't always fit all the guests. The staff didn't help retrieve a lost bag from the airport (which finally showed up after 3 days), and despite the "do not disturb" sign, the maids walked in on us twice because they didn't knock first. The staff also has not been to local places and do not make very good recommendations. You can find better - for 125 - 140 Euro a night it is not worth it. We booked this room with a package through Fil Franck tours. The only good thing is the location - which is fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darci_do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2010

My friend and I basically had 1 full day in Paris, and then an early morning flight out of Orly. The hotel wasn't able to let us in early, but they allowed us to keep our bags there while we walked around.

The room, of course, was small and faced an inner courtyard, but met our needs for some place to sleep. The bathroom was not huge, but everything worked and seemed relatively up to date and clean.

The ability to walk out of the hotel and have access to all of the restaurants and shops of the Marais is what made it worthwhile. We came back from dinner, started to get ready for bed, and then decided to head back out for a few drinks...mostly because everything was so close. It was nice to have that kind of flexibility and not feel like we had to walk 30 minutes or take the metro somewhere.

I normally prefer to stay in nice hotels with views, but for a short stay, and in a place like Paris where you are out and about anyways, it was a perfect place to come back to and fall asleep.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Grand Hotel du Loiret
Grand Hotel du Loiret
#1,018 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de Nice
Hotel de Nice
#705 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai
Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai
#1,038 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Vieux Marais
Vieux Marais
#1,195 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Paris Rivoli
Hotel Paris Rivoli
#764 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Le Marais
D'win Hotel
D'win Hotel
#1,027 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to France Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about France Louvre

Property: France Louvre
Address: 40 rue de Rivoli | 4th Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,394 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — France Louvre 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel set in 1850 Napoleon III design building near the banks of the Seine - Close to Notre Dame, the Louvre and Pompidou Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your France Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
France Louvre Hotel Paris
France Louvre Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing