We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splurge a little for Paris Rooftop Suite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Left Bank Saint Germain
Ranked #159 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We were searching for a hotel room for four people (2 adults, 2 kids) when we stumbled upon website of hotel we had stayed at on our honeymoon 15 years ago. Booked and stayed in room 604, a top floor suite with views of Notre Dame and Eiffel Tower. The staff could not have been nicer, very helpful, always a smile. Suite had a divider between the bed areas. We know we give it 5 dots and this is not a typical 5 star hotel suite. We give it high marks for the Paris roof top views, both kids (7,12) thought it was cool and awesome, wife and I took a million pictures as the sun set. Stay up till 11 to watch The Eiffel Tower twinkle. Hundreds of restaurants within easy walking distance. Near Metro, easy walk to Louvre and Notre Dame. There is also a little laundry around the corner if needed.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sodawells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

595 - 601 of 876 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2010

Stayed here for one night and was impressed by the beautiful antique furnishings in the lounge, with carved wooden furniture including a sedan chair, Oriental carpets, Aubusson. wall hangings. Staff very helpful and informative, able to advise on metro lines to see sights, available parking etc. Superb location few minutes quick stroll to Notre Dame. In heart of trendy left ban area, with many cafes and brasserie and we had best moules and steak ever nearby for 12E. Lovely room, with marble tiles bathroom, good size bath. Lovely buffet breakfast choice, with fresh ham, coffee in large jugs brought to table, basket of croissants and rolls. Great romantic place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riricroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

I had such an enjoyable stay at this hotel in January 2009, I knew this was where I wanted to book again when in Paris. I just returned from a seven night visit. The location is central to a lot of the main sights, Notre Dame, plenty of restaurants, shops, and the Metro around the corner. The entire hotel staff (including housekeeping and breakfast servers) were very professional, speak English and were always ready to help. I especially appreciated Sinan's gracious and courteous manner. I would like to see the availability of more fresh fruit offered at breakfast. Other than that, this hotel has everything I need for a comfortable and attractive home away from home while in Paris.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkCityPenelope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

This hotel was a great find for us. It's hard finding a room for 4 with a/c and in a good location. Although it was a bit pricey, the accomodations were great. The room was a good size and VERY quiet. The staff was great. They speak English when your French is not quite up to par. Very knowledgeable about the area. Quick to aid you in reservations. Location was PERFECT. Less than a block to the metro and within walking distance of MANY popular attractions. Also, a zillion cafes right outside your door! A minus -- the lift wasn't working 50% of the time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovefrance2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELLEFTBANK, Directeur général at Left Bank Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2010

Dear Sir ,
Thanks very much for you message on Tripadvisor .
We apologize for the malfunction of the elevator .
Now , it’s repaired .
We strive to ensure each and every guest experience
Is satisfying .
We hope to see you very soon in our hotel .
Best regards .
Fanny .
The manager .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Room #404 was nice and roomy with comfortable beds but hallways very narrow. Free use of computer in lobby! My cousin and I checked in on a Sunday afternoon wanting to go to the museum. Front desk woman said it was a short walk. When we got there, they were closing. We also asked her about restaurants for dinner. She told us most all were closed on Sundays and steered us to a dinner cruise on the Seine for $95/pp. Food was average and wine was undrinkable. On our taxi ride home, every restaurant was open with people enjoying the wonderful weather. She also "sold" us on taking the shuttle to the airport as the taxi would be twice as much. They didn't have room on the 8 am shuttle, so put us on the 7:30. My cousin is 80 and didn't get ready in time, so we had to take a taxi. She told us since we booked it, we had to pay for it. Asked her to put us on the next one, but she said it was still full. I argued so she didn't charge us. We took a taxi costing a total of $40, $10 less than the shuttle!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selzanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELLEFTBANK, Directeur général at Left Bank Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2010

Dear Sir ,

We apologize for not exceeding your expectations :
-Most museums closed at 6.00 pm and the access closed at 05.30 pm - 05.45 pm .
- Many restaurants and ” brasseries” that we recommend in the area are closed
in august and sunday . We could book a restaurant in Paris but we can not guarantee
a good food .
Regarding the shuttle , it’s a fixed price : 38 euros for 2 people and the price for the taxi
( with a reservation )depends on traffic and the number of luggage .
Again , we apologize for the inconvenience during your stay .
We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying .
We hope to see you very soon in our hotel .
Best regards .
Mrs Fanny Desquesnes .
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

This hotel was in an excellent location - very near to the St Michel RER stop - hence v. easy for the airport. Only a few minutes walk to Notre Dame. The rooms were comfortable and the staff very friendly. Had booked a twin room and was given a triple room 1st night and then had to move to a twin for 2nd night onwards. Quite disgruntled at this, but they did send someone to move our luggage early in the day (so that we could leave early to spend the day at Versailles).

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsF38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

from 17 to 20 july 2010 around 350 euros night 1 family room.
This is the very center of the action: very lively at night, excellent transport opportunities, most charming area of paris, open (and dear) market daytime.
Hotel features XVIII century pieces and it is charming, but everything tends to be small and a little old.
Room was again small but we slept well in it. it gave on the internal small yard without light but no noise. Free unlimited wifi inroom
Breakfast sports industrial croissant (!), fried eggs are extra, no bacon, cappuccino extra, no musli (but some cereals), no fruits, 2 types of decent juice.
Personnel is not french, decently trained, we missed the touch (even though french personnel can be very unpleasant) but it was willing to help (except with the luggage). during our stay no better deal was available, still I consider it overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FedericoeChiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Saint Germain
Hotel Saint Germain
#193 of 1,809 in Paris
898 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#141 of 1,809 in Paris
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#20 of 1,809 in Paris
565 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Left Bank Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Left Bank Saint Germain

Address: 9 rue de l Ancienne Comedie, 75006 Paris, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Left Bank - St Germain)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Family Hotel in Paris
#199 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#318 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $158 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Left Bank Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Left Bank Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Left Bank - St Germain Hotel Paris
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing