We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Left Bank Saint Germain
Ranked #191 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very good hotel”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Its was good value for money and reasonable service, small cab ride to the center of Paris.
Quite family district with atmosphere. More relaxing that staying in the center. Friendly staff.

There was a lot of local services such as a laundry, shops, train. It was one of the best districts I have stayed in Europe. The most relaxing part of my holiday. The room is small but the price was low. But the district was nice so you don't really need a big room when you have quiet areas.

Laundry can take up a lot of time, therefore its best to be near services when on holiday. Catching a cab when you have a lot of cloths is no fun. This area was ideal. I often think of St Germain when I hear of Paris.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    329
    57
    15
    11
See reviews for
266
340
32
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
188 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The best thing this hotel has going for it is the location. We stayed here for 4 nights in September and while we enjoyed our stay, I think we could do better.

The hotel has some good things going for it, the best of which is the location. That cannot be beat if you want to be in the lively St. Germaine area (the 6th). Lots of bistros, cafes and patisseries within walking distance, many sights are a short stroll and the metro is at the end of the street. The room we had was quite large by Paris standards so we were happy with that. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean although very tired in its furnishing and decor.

The downside of this hotel is the breakfast and the staff. Some of the staff were excellent, some were mediocre and some were downright rude. One staff person in particular, Michelle, seemed to run hot and cold. We were almost afraid to ask her for directions or recommendations because we never knew if she was going to be pleasant or bite our heads off! And one young man who was on one night was completely useless when I couldn't get their internet to work. He just shrugged and said he doesn't know anything about technology.

The breakfast was plain as plain can be. Very medicore in every way except for the lovely lady who made the coffee and served. She remember us from the first day and could not have been nicer. They will make freshly prepared eggs but they don't advertise this and it wasn't until our last day that we noticed someone eating fried eggs and we asked. They should let people know that this option is available.

All in all, a good value for money but nothing memorable.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room. The basic ones are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaskev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western for 3 nights at the beginning of our 3-week France vacation, and two more nights on the back end. The hotel is very nice and cozy, situated near the Latin Quarter and across the street from a handful of lively cafes in St. Germain. Both rooms were clean and offered plenty of space. The first room had an enchanting window view of Parisian rooftops that included St. Chapelle and Notre Dame. The second room was incredibly spacious with a separate sitting area. We had breakfast in the hotel every morning. It's pretty standard - pastries, cheese, deli meats and butter. There were hard boiled eggs and cereal, too. On the last morning, a guest requested an omelette and the waitress stepped into the kitchen to prepare it. We weren't aware that such requests could be accommodated, so keep that in mind if you're tired of the standard offerings. The front desk staff are very friendly, exceptionally helpful, but do keep in mind that some of the evening staff don't speak English (but they're more than happy to play charades and help you figure out your request).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ContinentalWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

When my Mom opened the wondow and exclaimed in delight I knew my brother in law found the perfect place to feel like you were really in Paris. Many sights are within walking distance. No shortage of shops and restaurants. Very clean. The bed was comfortable and the staff was very helpful.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank OfMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We spent two nights at this small hotel in Paris. We chose it for the location and were not disappointed. It is within easy walking distance of Notre Dame and the Ile de la Cite. A bit more of a hike, but still doable, were the Louvre and the Musee d'Orsay. It is convenient to several Metro stops and, thus, the rest of Paris. Our room was a bit different in that it was at the back of the hotel, kind of midway between floors, and only looked out on the inner courtyard of the hotel. But it was very quiet, large (by European standards) and well appointed. The bathroom looked as though it had recently been redone. The buffet breakfast was just ok in my book, but there was a good variety of items offered, both French style and American. The staff was very helpful in arranging airport transfers and making dinner reservations for us. Overall, this hotel was a good value for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shootslowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Hotel Left Bank is in the perfect location if you want to be in walking distance to all the things that are truly worthwhile! We stayed for three nights and couldnt have been happier. Value-for-money and comfortable too. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristyMi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for two nights before heading to Dijon. This was a wonderful place. Do not let the Best Western sign discourage you. You cannot beat this location. If you turn to the right when leaving the hotel. You will find a street that comes alive at night with cafe's on each corner. There's an Amorino gelato, Paul's and a grocery store two minutes from the hotel. There's even a starbucks around the corner. Almost beside the hotel is the best coffee in the world " Illy". The hotel is close to wonderful shopping and the famous " Cafe Flora" The rooms are so clean and comfortable. We stayed in room 605 with a breathtaking view of Notre Dam. There was a person at the desk 24/7. They were so helpful and kind. We are recommending this hotel to all of our friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Memphis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
#285 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel La Perle
Hotel La Perle
#176 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#198 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#161 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#203 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#75 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Left Bank Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Left Bank Saint Germain

Property: Left Bank Saint Germain
Address: 9 rue de l Ancienne Comedie, 75006 Paris, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Left Bank - St Germain)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#174 Family Hotel in Paris
#200 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#319 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Left Bank Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Left Bank Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Left Bank - St Germain Hotel Paris
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing