We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break to Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Left Bank Saint Germain
Ranked #161 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location, close to Notre Dame, Louvre and many other sights of Paris. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean with comfortable beds and serves a continental breakfast with a good selection. This is the second time we have visited this hotel and have always been very happy.

Room Tip: We always choose a room with a view at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Buildingblocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 876 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

I won't reiterate all of the positive from many of these reviews. They all are completely accurate. What I'll add is that I just wish the quality of the bedding was higher. The location, the cleanliness, and the value were all great.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the twin room (two twin beds next to each other with separate bedding). Larger than a sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ouuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel was perfect! A friend recommended this hotel and I could not have been more pleased. The price was low compared to others in the area and the location was great. The room decor was lovely and so comfortable. I had a very large room and the bathroom was clean bright and had a great shower! The staff were friendly and helpful. My entire experience there was fantastci, I will most certainly come again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittytookmypassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just returned from 7 nights at this hotel. Stayed with my sister and adult daughter. The room, a deluxe double, was very spacious and overlooked the interior courtyard - silent at night. The room was charming and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was all marble. It had a tub/shower combination and good counter space. We thought that the housekeeping was excellent.
The staff spoke English and were very gracious and professional. A big thank you to Lorette,who arranged tours for us , made dinner reservations, and answered all of our questions. We felt very welcome. Can't beat the location. Buses, metro, and taxi stand all within a block or 2. We didn't take breakfast at the hotel, choosing to eat at the many cafes on the Rue de Buci - a 1/2 block away. There is an ATM right across the street. Also right across the street is the Boulangerie Eric Kayser. We had an awesome time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was out third stay at this charming hotel. The location is perfect, the rooms are nicely done, and the staff (special thanks to Loretta--you are wonderful) is so helpful. We will return again and again and our Paris home will be the Best Western Left Bank Hotel.

Room Tip: Better view froom the upper floor rooms--and those looking North
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaahp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My family and I (three adults and four children) had the pleasure of staying at the Best Western Left Bank Saint Germain for only one night. Firstly the hotel was very easy to get to. We arrived at Gare du Nord on the Eurostar and took a train to Odeon Station from Platform 4. From there it was only a short walk to the hotel. Our rooms, 604 and the Family Suite 605 were a surprise as we had been told that hotel rooms in Paris were very small. They were clean, spacious, nicely decorated and very comfortable. We were excited to find that both our rooms had views of Notre Dame and from the Family Suite which had an extra window you could see the Eiffel Tower. That was a lovely start to our trip to Paris. Watching the sun rise behind Notre Dame is an experience I will never forget.

The location is great. There are many shops and restaurants close by and turning to the right as you leave the hotel, a pleasant walk down Rue Mazarine or Rue Dauphine takes you to the Seine. We bought tickets for the Batobus which is a hop on hop off riverboat service travelling up and down the Seine and found this a great way to see Paris.

While the hotel does have a breakfast room, our time being so limited, we chose to pick up delicious croissants for breakfast from a little patisserie across the street from the hotel.

The staff were lovely, so courteous, helpful and friendly. Our time at Left Bank Saint Germain came to an end all too quickly but we hope to be able to return one day. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for accommodation in Paris.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bronwyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Best Western Left Bank

This is an "American in Paris" hotel. While the structure and staff are very French, the clientele tend to be upper middle class Americans. The rooms are big enough and the furnishings are a bit up-scale - cloth like wall coverings, lots of wood, marble in the bathroom. The layout on each (of six) floors appears to be four rooms facing the street and one rear-facing (with a view of Notre Dame from 4th floor and up). The lift has a 200-kg capacity which can be cozy but works well.
A breakfast is offered for 12€. It offers cold cuts, baguettes, pâté, cheese, etc. In addition to the nourishment, you have the opportunity to meet some of the other residents if you so chose.
The staff people are consistently helpful. The desk personnel speak fluent English; they can help you arrange transportation, dinner reservations and so on.
The location is very "Parisian". It's half a block to Boulevard St. Germaine and the Odeon Metro station. A half block in the other direction puts you on rue de Buci with its patisseries, boulangeries, brasseries - there's even a butcher shop and a vegetable market.
If you're looking for something on the snob scale between the Place Vendome and the 11th arrondissement, this place works just fine.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Saint Germain
Hotel Saint Germain
#194 of 1,809 in Paris
899 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#140 of 1,809 in Paris
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#127 of 1,809 in Paris
577 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Left Bank Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Left Bank Saint Germain

Address: 9 rue de l Ancienne Comedie, 75006 Paris, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Left Bank - St Germain)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Family Hotel in Paris
#199 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#318 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $158 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Left Bank Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Left Bank Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Left Bank - St Germain Hotel Paris
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing