We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing room but equipment not at the level of the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Courcelles Etoile
Ranked #1,049 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Amazing room but equipment not at the level of the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed there while on business trip. Room is really nice with a spa type bath area it's just a shame that in the same room the hair dryer dates from middle age. There was a bit of incoherence between the standard of the hotel and things such as the breakfast buffet which was rather limited. Staff were nice but overly concerned by service. Overall nice but would expect much better for a 200€ a night hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nefertitiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    108
    31
    12
    8
See reviews for
18
122
19
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

The hotel reception staff was friendly, helpful and extremely courteous (even when I called them on the phone to check if they could book me an airport shuttle).
They kept my bags safely for the day as I got there around 1 and check in is after 2pm.
When I finally checked in at night, I found it a little hard to take my bags up to the fourth floor, as I had to take the lift to the third, go down a deserted corridor and take another lift up!
My room was really tiny but perfectly accoutred. I liked that they even managed to fit a full-length mirror on the door of the wardrobe, with a safe and luggage table inside.
The window faced the street but I wasn't disturbed by any noise at all. In fact, if I had stayed here longer, I would have definitely slept with the window open (the weather was that good and the bed's sleep quality so perfect)!
The bathroom was again really tiny, but ingeniously designed so that the shower cubicle with sliding doors just about accommodated you. Loved that they had L'Occitane bath products and that everything was sparkling clean. The only thing I missed was a little shelf inside the shower space to keep the bath products while bathing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PriyaPathiyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

I stayed here twice now, each time just for one night and my experience so far has been good. The rooms are clean and normal size for Paris. The staff is friendly and the guy at the reception desk recognized me from my previous visit a little over a month ago which is nice. The breakfast is good. Nothing extraordinary but everything I need.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dobbel-U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

In the end you will likely not Hate this hotel as long as you set expectations properly. The below points must be understood otherwise you will be unhappy here.

1. Its Paris and rooms tend to be on the smaller side unless you pay a bundle.
2. Its Paris so don't expect an American style "Welcome to our Hotel" and "Is there anything I can do to assist?"
3. Just because its Paris does not mean the Croissants, Cheese and Pastries are going to be excellent.

The Hotel takes up 5 floors the entrance and lobby are rather small and uninspiring. If you are lucky to have a room on 4 or 5 you will get to take two elevators to make the journey one of which is the kind where only one person plus a suitcase can fit. Of course, the other option is to take the stairs.

The rooms are actually nicely appointed but small. Beds are of the hard variety but decent amenities and free wifi, in room safe, mini bar etc.

Location is great. Easy Metro/RER just around the corner. Walk to Champs Ely.

Breakfast (included in my rate) good coffee crappy croissants (tasted like they were bought last week reheated), random selection of pastry, cheese, cold cuts etc was generally just boring to bad. If not included in your rate, you should skip.

Front Desk....well lets just say they didn't do anything to change my mind regarding Parisian hospitality. Was like extracting blood to get anything more than a hello or goodbye as they seemed to be fixed to their computer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank execplatscum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We Stayed at Courcelles Etoile in Oct 2011.

On arrival the reception staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was small but perfectly formed. The rooms are much smaller than a London hotel but this is typical for a Hotel in Paris. I paid a little extra and got a deluxe room, this meant the Bathroom was in a separate room and it had a Jacuzzi bath, definitely worth the little bit extra. Our room was lovely it had wooden beams and a skylight and large windows that open up onto the busy Parisian streets. You could hear the noise form the street but it didn’t bother us at all.
We did not have breakfast in the hotel so I cannot comment on this but I am sure it would have been fine

The hotel is in a great location, literally just around the corner from the metro station - Pereire Metro station/ RER Station
A bit of useful information on how to get to the hotel if travelling by Euro Star.
From "Gare du Nord": (where oyu get off the Euro Star)
Take the RER E towards "Haussmann Saint-Lazare", and get off at “Haussmann Saint-Lazare” station.
Then take the Metro Line 3 towards Pont de Levallois, and exit at “Pereire” station, on Place du Marechal Juin.
The entrance of the hotel is just after the corner of Place du Marechal Juin and Rue de Courcelles, less than one minute from this Metro exit .

Room Tip: I emaile dthe hotel dircet about a month before we were due to go asking for a nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StacyJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

The website definitely set high expectations - which were gradually gone during my stay there.

First the carpet on the corridors with the random spots of bleach. The kind of spots you don't wanna know how they ended up being there - but the more you try not to think about it the creepier it gets.
Then the fact that I put the "Do not disturb" on the door every morning and it was ignored on every day of my stay. I only stay 3 nights, so there is no need to replace towels / clean anything. I fell uncomfortable leaving my clothes and personal things around to be touched unwanted.
Thirdly, the isolation on the bedroom window (247) was so bad that there was a steady draught all night (I tried to close the curtains, did not help much - and also tried to turn on the heating when I arrived back (11:30pm) but it was so LOUD that I rather turned it off, because that would've made sleep even more impossible than the cold).
Also, there was no proper blanket / duvet - just a bed cover and a sheet underneath. I did miss a proper blanket / duvet especially given the cold I had to face in my sleep.
The room (247) which is apparently a high category room (with a small living room with a sofa and a separate bedroom) was overlooking the street - which was very noisy even late at night. The poor isolation did not help much the keep the noise out, either.

The website has finely retouched pics none of which sending a true message apparently. I would not recommend the hotel to anyone and I am not planning to come back.

Room Tip: I can only hope there is a good room somewhere in this establishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KatBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson az
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

It's misleading to talk about size of rooms in a hotel unless there is some basis of comparison. For the price range in Paris, the room size at this hotel is normal and adequate. I wish the French used mattresses more like what we are used to in the US, but the bed was comfortable. The bathroom is a good size and everything was very clean and worked properly. Quite often European hotels have handheld showers in a bathtub but no shower curtain, as was the case here. So one has to sit in the tub to "shower" or stand and aim carefully. The tub was quite deep which is very nice if one does want to take a bath rather than shower.

The hotel has an elevator which, though small, is very adequate. One needs to inquire about elevators as Paris hotels of moderate price often do not have one, or have very small ones.

This hotel is very well-located. It is seconds from a Metro station for the 3 Metro and RER 2. Parking is very sparse, however Paris public transportation is much faster in any case. There were generally taxis in the area. Lack of parking is quite common with Paris hotels.

Within a 5 minute walk there are dozens of restaurants of all types and price ranges. A supermarket is right across the street (closed Sundays). The latter is very handy as breakfast in the hotel is somewhat expensive at 16 euros (about US$22 at the time of this writing) and is "continental" though does have cold cuts and boiled eggs. We did not see a restaurant close by with breakfast.

There are at least 6 banks with ATMs (and US credit cards without "chip & PIN" technology worked on at least 2 of the ATMs) within a few minutes walk.

Location is the best asset. Though on a busy square, we did not hear the street. The RER 2 train goes directly to the Eiffel Tower and other stops on the south bank of the Seine as well as Versailles. Connections to other areas are easily made on either the 3 Metro or RER 2.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the street, though most do not in any case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Apostrophe Hotel
Apostrophe Hotel
#237 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Hotel Champerret Heliopolis
#448 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Hotel Etoile Pereire
#1,121 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel de Prony
Hotel de Prony
#1,345 of 1,796 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert"
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Kleber Champs-Elysees Tour Eiffel Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Courcelles Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Courcelles Etoile

Property: Hotel Courcelles Etoile
Address: 184 rue de Courcelles | 17th arr., 75017 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#482 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Courcelles Etoile 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, five story hotel set in residential area near Place de l'Etoile, parks, restaurants & bistros; 3 km to Gare du Nord. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Courcelles Etoile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courcelles Etoile Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing