We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland by HappyCulture

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland by HappyCulture
Ranked #270 of 1,810 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Good location, good service. I didn't appreciate the recommendations they gave for restaurants though. The buffet in the afternoon is nice because you arrive tired and hungry after walking the whole day. My room was very nice and spacious, but l had payed more because of the baby. My brother had a room that was a lot smaller and noisier in front of the elevator. I would go back there for a short stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Flavia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F-DEPREYTERE, Directeur général at Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland by HappyCulture, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your review posted on trip advisor during your stay at the Champs Elysées Friedland hotel. .
We are glad that you appreciated the tea time buffet which is part of our offer "all for you". when a guest reserves on our website or directly, the breakfast, a glass of champagne, the Wi-Fi, the minibar(soft drinks),the tea time buffet are offered.
In your case, for your confort, you were in a superior room (need space for the child's cot), and you brother was in a standard room which is smaller than a superior room.
I understand that his room was a little bit noiser than yours because it was near the lift (problem in every hotel).
We are looking forward to welcoming you again for your next trip in Paris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    168
    56
    11
    5
See reviews for
99
227
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel is very good: clean, good breakfast, great location close to arc du triomphe.
The cons; no cabinets in the room, so I needed to keep my clothes inside my suitcase, and also the air conditioning wasn't working
The overall impression of this hotel is very good despite that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albertosartorelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F-DEPREYTERE, Directeur général at Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland by HappyCulture, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your review posted on Trip advisor about your stay at the champs Elysées Friedland hotel.
We are glad that you appreciated our buffet breakfast. thanks for your feed-back concerning the cleaness of our rooms ,this last point is primordial to us, our chambermaids do the best to make your stay more confortable and make yourself at home.
All our rooms are furnished with a maximum of confort (hair-dryer, desk, cupboard, luggage rack,
air conditionning etc...).
Concerning your request about the air conditionning, the month of May has been very cold and rainy for many years (15, 18 degrees Celsius) so the air conditionning was not available at this time.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you in Paris with a better weather in our hotel Champs Elysées Friedland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
311 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We booked this hotel because we had been invited to a party which was taking place nearby. The hotel is located about 10 minutes' walk from the Arc de Triomphe where you can catch the RER which takes you the town centre in 10 minutes.

Locationwise it is great for the Arc de Triomphe and the Champs Elysees but if you are going to Paris I would avoid that area. Several reasons:
- It's dead at night
- It's expensive
- The Arc de Triomphe and the Champs Elysees are far from the centre of Paris.

The hotel itself is okay,the rooms are comfortable though on the short side for the price that you pay (and that is the problem; you are paying for the location, which in itself is not the best if you are a tourist) and so the compromise is on the quality.

The bathroom is basic but sufficient and they have now installed air conditioning which is a blessing.

Foodwise however much improvement is needed. Breakfast is VERY basic. The cheese served is your standard cooked paste cheese which is nothing to speak of, the ham and bits are just cheap cuts, the scrambled eggs are overcooked and are basically broken down omelette rathen than nice and creamy; and the pastries are undercooked. There are some 3-star hotels which serve better breakfasts.

The hotel offers free refreshments between 5:30pm and 8pm which are basically mostly the left overs from breakfast + a few cakes. Nice gesture but again the quality is average. We had seen such free tea feature when we went to Seville last year and that was a totally different ball game. Frankly you would expect a lot better from a hotel in that area of Paris.

Otherwise the staff is very nice and friendly. It is basically a convenient hotel if you go to Paris on business or you have a reason to want to stay near the Arc de Triomphe, but if you are going as a tourist you will regret booking there. Get somewhere more central.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OYP-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Excellent hotel, excellent location, excellent staff and service. The old cliché works here

You get what you pay for – Class

This hotel is at the top end of the price range but with a view of the champs-elysees from our window and transport links moments away, this is an excellent choice of hotel. They even arranged our trips for us too.

Highly recommend

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danJDmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F-DEPREYTERE, Directeur général at Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland by HappyCulture, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
I wanted to thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Trip Advisor.
Thank you for the positive feedback on the various benefits and services to the Champs Elysees Friedland Hotel.
For some information of our rooms have a view of the Arc de Triomphe, but is unfortunately, not software on the Champs Elysees.
We hope to welcome you again in Paris, the Hotel Champs Elysees Friedland, during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lovely Hotel, well situated very central. The rooms where a bit old but not bad at all. The lobby is very well furnished and breakfast was very good for european standards. They where very accomodating as we had a late check out. They also arrange transportation for hotel guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italian riviera coast
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Enjoyed our stay in Paris at this hotel located right off the Champ-Elysees. Everything was above & beyond, including service, room and breakfast and tea time meal, which was very nice. Also, metro station is 5 min. from the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor has a view of the Arch de Triumph.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice and small, located 2-3 minutes away(walking) from champs elysees. The hotel offers free breakfast, free minibar and wifi. The hotel is beeing refurbished at the moment but is open. The rooms are "european" sized and a bit old, but they are nice.

Helpful?
Thank SimenFosho
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Plaza Elysees
Hotel Plaza Elysees
#610 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Royal Hotel Paris Champs Elysees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Monna Lisa
Hotel Monna Lisa
#202 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Royal Garden Champs Elysees
#1,353 of 1,810 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Le 123 Elysees - Astotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland by HappyCulture

Property: Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland by HappyCulture
Address: 177 rue du Faubourg Saint Honore, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#162 Family Hotel in Paris
#166 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#231 Business Hotel in Paris
#272 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland by HappyCulture 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Champs Elysées Friedland is ideally located on the Rue du Faubourg Saint Honoré, just a few steps from the Champs-Elysées.The Hotel has 40 rooms which are nicely decorated with a refined decor. Free Wifi, Breakfast Buffet, glass of champagne and the Tea time buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing