We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, short distance from chaps elysees. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland by HappyCulture
Ranked #297 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice and small, located 2-3 minutes away(walking) from champs elysees. The hotel offers free breakfast, free minibar and wifi. The hotel is beeing refurbished at the moment but is open. The rooms are "european" sized and a bit old, but they are nice.

Thank SimenFosho
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 580 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed for two nights on short notice as we discovered it was fashion week so many hotels had been booked.

The hotel is just of the Champs and very near the Arc, it was comfortable, clean and the rooms a good size for Paris. However, I think it's four star rating is a little old...

The decor is slightly tired in the bedrooms (maybe 80s?) and so don't go if you like the designer touches or big breakfasts - there were all the usual items but felt quite processed.

Concierge we incredible helpful.

We stayed during a very cold weekend and so had windows shut, could see that in summertime people might find cars on the cobbles loud but that's something you'll get all over Paris unless you book courtyard rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richmond1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

husband and I went to Paris via Eurostar the weekend just gone. Train station to hotel 10 euros. Hotel front desk lady Sophie was lovely. Room was clean new warm with comfy bed, bliss. No noise apart from some one slamming their room door closed at midnight, but most hotels we have stayed in have this problem. some moaning people on here say this is not a 4 star hotel, well maybe not by middle east standard but by Paris it is.
Bathroom new and clean, breakfast was fine as was the evening food and drinks on offer.
All in all the staff are great, rooms very good, not sure why this little hotel is not up in the top 20 of Paris. Have a nice stay and see for your self.

Room Tip: Front high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was a very clean, warm, inviting little hotel. Emailed the hotel a few days before arriving and requested a high floor and were on arrival given 404. Sophie on the front desk was such a help, great customer care, nothing to much trouble. The room was great. Working in the travel trade we have stayed at over 44 hotels world wide in the last few years and even though this hotel is quite small it is up with the big hotels around the globe. The room was spotless. The bed was very good. The bath room was spotless and new and the water very soft. If your from England the TV even has BBC1....
The mini bar has soft drinks, breakfast was as in all small hotels, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, bread, juices etc. Tea all kinds, coffees, drinking chocolates....The evening nibbles were fine as well for an early snack before going out for the evening. Never heard any other rooms apart from a couple of doors closing. Room 404 overlooks the busy main road but the sound proofing was fine. As others have said 4 star in Paris might not be 4 star in Dubai but here in Paris it seems to fit the bill.
All in all a hotel that is placed 5 mins walk to the Arc de Trioumphe or 20 minutes to the Eifell Tower or the other way to the Louvre this hotel is so well places for the tourist of Paris.
Best part though is the hotel staff. Put some other hotels we have writern about here on Trip Advisor to shame. Have a nice stay.

Room Tip: 404 was new, clean, quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank medicengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I'm a bit torn how to review this hotel - of course it is not a 4 star hotel by any standards, but I have seen worse in Paris, and for around 100 EUR it is reasonable value.
But first things first. I was staying in Paris on a weekday, and just needed a bed for the night. This hotel is a stone throw from a number of subway lines and the Champs Elysees, a 5+ minutes walk. The rates were surprisingly low, the lobby made an ok impression, check in was not brilliant but good enough. They advertise free champagne and a tea time buffet, I have not checked those but it is a nice idea. Wifi is free, but you need to think of getting a code at the reception.

The disappointments: the room was really tiny and the furniture very old. Street noise level is high, and you can hear it when the draw the curtains in the next room!
The bed was ok. If it gets a bit chilly you have to find this clean but old and stiff wool blanket in a wardrobe - there's just a thin sheet on the bed.
Decent size, clean bathroom.
Breakfast, don't expect anything fancy - drip coffee - but the bread was ok and the breakfast room nice enough.
Would I stay again? When I am on a budget, probably.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I recently stayed at this establishment and was very disappointed. I have stayed in many 4 star hotels in Paris and this is not one of them. If you research other hotels through,e.g expedia, you will find its very unusual for hotels to include breakfast and now I know why, as they use this to entice you to stay with them. I had emailed hotel explaining the stay was a surprise for my mum for Mother's Day and could we have a room with a view. They actually upgraded our room from a classic to a superior. When entering the room we immediately felt a wave of disappointment as the furniture was dated (and I don't mean in a Parisian way) I mean in a 1970's style. The beds seemed flat with cheap linen as opposed to the inviting cozy duvets, feather pillows and dressing downs and slippers in other 4 star hotels, if thats what they call superior i wouldn't like to see the classic. There was renovation work going on on the floor above us with drilling and hammering that started at 0820am!!! It is situated on a scruffy road and the entrance is around the corner on a side street. Very uncomfortable nights sleep as you are unable to open windows due to busy road noise and air conditioning was not in operation. We moved hotels even though I was refused a refund as I had booked a non-refundable room, which I did book because when you book a 4 star hotel I wouldn't expect to need a refund!!! This is not 4 star it's 3. I can say one positive, the night porter was very kind and friendly. Please take my advise and stay at the Radissons le dokhans, slightly more, but worth every penny.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RLS2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed for a few days in Feb 2013.

Location - great. Not too far from shops, restaurants and metro. Choice of metro stations which goes directly to main Sights. Explore the nearby area as there are local supermarkets, good restaurants and famous passterie eg Laduree.

Hotel staff - friendly, chatty esp ousman. No problems checking in or out. When checking out they Didn't ask how our stay was surprising!

Hotel room - small ( European rooms are small but for 4 star you would expect more for your money), dusty furniture, safe didn't work and bed was uncomfortable. Free WiFi which was good. Free mini bar which we didn't use but had coke, water and canned pop.
Bathroom was clean. Probably best feature was the shower!
Ended up getting sintinus as result of dusty room.

Hotel is on main road, so if you leave the balcony door open you will hear the traffic at all hours ( even at 3am) . As the room is stuffy, you have little option but to bear it.

Breakfast - ok. Consists of eggs, cheese, breads, pastries, cereal and duices. Not a huge amount of choice but sufficient. They don't cater for all dietary requirements which is what you would expect from a 4 star hotel. Tea time buffet was ok as well, consisted of few salads, cakes, bread and cheese. Nothing special but considering its included in the price shouldn't complain.

Overall experience if hotel- small, good location but not 4 star. I have stayed in many 4 star hotels and this hotel is definitely a 3 star.

If you like sleep, don't stay here. If you like luxury don't stay here and if your on a romantic break definitely don't stay here. It will kill the mood!

Paris is expensive. Expect to pay £150-200 per night for a good 4 star hotel. Next time we will.

Room Tip: Rooms are small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cutey09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F-DEPREYTERE, Directeur général at Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

We thank you for your comments left on Trip advisor concerning our hotel Champs Elysées Friedland.
We appreciate your comments about the staff. We are sincerely sorry that you did not appreciate our hotel, this is your personnal point of view. We are always do our best to satisfy our guests.

Regards,

The director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Plaza Elysees
Hotel Plaza Elysees
#516 of 1,802 in Paris
365 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Bradford Elysees - Astotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Le 123 Elysees - Astotel
Champs-Elysees
Royal Hotel Paris Champs Elysees
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Beauchamps
Hotel Beauchamps
#417 of 1,802 in Paris
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland by HappyCulture

Address: 177 rue du Faubourg Saint Honore, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#160 Family Hotel in Paris
#202 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#230 Business Hotel in Paris
#269 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $160 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland by HappyCulture 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Champs Elysées Friedland is ideally located on the Rue du Faubourg Saint Honoré, just a few steps from the Champs-Elysées.The Hotel has 40 rooms which are nicely decorated with a refined decor. Free Wifi, Breakfast Buffet, glass of champagne and the Tea time buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Expedia, Splitty, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing