We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad. Stay away. ”
Review of Le Marathon

Le Marathon
Ranked #13,804 of 17,300 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Bad. Stay away. ”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Dont get fooled by the nice interiour and the cosy grill with the door. Service is poor, the food is a discrase for the french cusinne.

Helpful?
Thank Stressless1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    83
    92
    74
    238
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Walk on by”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Not sure why the waiter took a dislike to us, maybe we were dressed too smartly, maybe because we asked for a table away from the front window or maybe we did not use enough French words initially? Sat down and ordered drinks, the cola and wine bottles were slammed down on the table for us to pour. Asked for a glass for the cola and thought we may have asked for too much as the look was incredibly intimidating. We should have just left then. Spent the next 10 minutes being checked out by a friendly sort of guy who pressed us I not using some French words and had a bit of a laugh. He then turned and said to the others that we were nice people? Confused, yes we were. Were we good enough to eat in this place? Kinda got accepted by the waiter who threw a basket of bread on the table. When the suckling pig arrived we had two joints which was mainly bone. We still felt hungry but decided to get out quick so paid and left. So if you are happy to use this place, sit where you are told, dress casual and order your drinks in French or best to walk on by and have a lovely evening elsewhere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichAlby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrible place!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Avoid this "restaurant" at all costs - 4 of us called in for lunch as the exterior does look inviting. We all ordered beef bourguignon and it was terrible - full of gristle and sinue - uneatable. When the waiter returned we complained and he shrugged his shoulders and asked if we would like to order dessert? Needless to say we declined. Truly awful place:(

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank judy535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“so many bad reviews, but it was ok”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

If we had read the reviews we would never have gone in, but we did.
Staff were great food was OK, soup good, snails small but good as I don't really like them. Chicken was good, lamb leg a good chunk to eat. Duck was burnt rather than cooked , ice cream good, creme brulee lovely the best part. I have to say after a carafe of wine we went away pretty happy. Come on its only 15 euros for three courses in Paris' my kids thought it was a great laugh.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Confused”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Seen several poor reviews, luckily after we ate there. Food was decent, onion soup was quite tasty. Nice place to sit and relax and catch a few minutes of quiet before venturing back into the streets. Not high-brow nor fast food my wife and I enjoyed this place. We had the chicken and salmon with onion soup, a 1/2L of wine (of course), dessert , and coffee for 40 euro. Quite a decent value for Paris.... Service was okay - could be a bit more attentive, but acceptable.
Perhaps what was ordered and when you go explains the variations in the reviews, or some people are never happy and get what they give out...... as I myself would be concerned. We, however, had a very good experience and really believe that with your eyes open you could too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kreemmer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Marathon also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing