We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Intimate Restaurant”

L'Ange 20 Restaurant
Ranked #88 of 17,009 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $43 - $47
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Le Marais
Description: Typical French bistro located in the hart of Marais just a few foot steeps away from the "Place des Vosges" and Saint Paul Church. From the small intimate and cozy dining room you can see everything that happens in the kitchen. Thierry the owner and his team will pay special attention that you feel at home. Here one does not hesitate to speak directly to the kitchen! The dishes are simple and tasty. All made from fresh products cooked like at home The wine list offers a wide selection of French wines, selected with care. You 'll find your happiness at reasonable price.
Fuengirola, Spain
Level Contributor
85 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely Intimate Restaurant”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Having paid over the odds in tourist areas for mediocre breakfast and lunch we were looking forward to L'Ange 20. It is very small. The tables are virtually touching and are not very big but the service and food are excellent and being able to watch the food being prepared a few feet away adds to the experience. Just don't expect to be able to engage in private conversation.
My only reservation, and it is a small one, is that this place has been "Tripadvisored". I don't think there were any French speaking diners when we were there on Sunday night. You can't blame the restaurant for the power of Tripadvisor but has it's popularity with English speaking users of this site, who know they need to book well in advance, displaced locals? I'd prefer that this was not the case but as the experience was positive maybe it doesn't matter?

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank davmunster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,078
    263
    67
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Perfect French Restaurant - A Must Go”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

L’ange 20 in Paris’ trendy La Marais district is the epitome of what Parisian dining should be about. It’s small. In fact, it's very small with only twenty four covers, but this only adds to the character and charm of the restaurant. I've dined here twice in as many months and it’s fast becoming one of my favourite restaurants places to dine in France. The food is best described as modern French with the focus being on simplicity and good quality ingredients, as opposed to complexity and pomposity, which are two words often associated with french cuisine. The service is exceptional. Unlike many of his French counterparts, the head waiter, who speaks perfect English, which made my life easier, is very friendly, helpful and quite amusing. The open plan kitchen, the lack of space and the diversity of clientele make the atmosphere pure theatre and great fun.

My recent visit was for dinner on a Saturday night and the restaurant was packed to the rafters. To eat, I had deep fried crevettes to start which were served with a simple salad of lettuce leaves and tomatoes of various shades and guacamole. This was a very simple dish, cooked to perfection and went very well with a glass of champagne! By this stage, I was craving blood and meat and my rare, rib-eye steak for my main course was exceptional. The accompanying sauté potatoes and green beans were the perfect foil for this magnificent slab of meat. This was followed by a small plate of five different fromages and rounded off with a cheesecake and passion fruit coulis. This was the weakest course of the meal, but still extremely edible and enjoyable. The wine list is decent and reasonably priced too. We plunged for a Sauvignon Blanc and Cotes du Rhone which were both fab.

A visit to L'Ange 20 is a must whenever you're in Paris and the reviews on Trip Advisor really are justified. I tried to think of any criticisms and aside from the slightly disappointing dessert, nothing whatsoever sprung to mind. Whether you're on a romantic break or catching up with old friends and family, this restaurant has so much to offer. It won't break the bank either, as the food and wine list are both very reasonable, in Paris terms anyway. Do not be late under any circumstances however, as your table will be handed to 'walk-in' customers after fifteen minutes. For perfect food, faultless service, a unique setting and an unmatchable ambience, give L'Ange 20 a try, I guarantee you won't regret it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Never say never.”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

IWe had discovered this tiny restaurant a couple of years ago when we got lost looking for the Pompidou Centre. It was a wonderful place and restored my faith in the myth of Parisian corner restaurants with the owner doing the cooking, chalk board menu and seasonal fare. All too rare in the city these days.

However I always say never go back as you could be disappointed but we found ourselves once again down the tiny street behind the Pompidou and there is was the restaurant as tiny as ever. The only difference was now it was very busy and they had no table for us.

So we spoke to the owner who made us a booking for another day and we came back later. As ever the food was great and the standards high and the kitchen counter in the resturant and the guests add to the atmosphere.

So maybe go back now and again and enjoy what was good for who know how long it will last. This tiny restaurant is the owners dream so will close when he decides to stop. Enjoy.

I did notice the place was very busy and some late comers got quite nasty when being told their table was given away. The place is so tiny I expect it can not afford to lose business on a no show, so I suppose they have little choice.

The street is hard to find so make sure you have a good map and arrive on time or find it earlier then pop off for a drink then come back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank businesstravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

One of the best restaurants in Paris at affordable prices. Thank you chef Thierry for an outstanding food experience, and thank you Christoph for an entertaining evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank antonellomasciolini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb food!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

A must try in Paris - had the starter + main + dessert for EUR30. It's a tiny local restaurant with great service and food. Will definitely come again! :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gigi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ange 20 Restaurant also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to L'Ange 20 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing