We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really enjoyable evening with delicious food”

L'Ange 20 Restaurant
Ranked #88 of 17,018 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $43 - $47
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Le Marais
Description: Typical French bistro located in the hart of Marais just a few foot steeps away from the "Place des Vosges" and Saint Paul Church. From the small intimate and cozy dining room you can see everything that happens in the kitchen. Thierry the owner and his team will pay special attention that you feel at home. Here one does not hesitate to speak directly to the kitchen! The dishes are simple and tasty. All made from fresh products cooked like at home The wine list offers a wide selection of French wines, selected with care. You 'll find your happiness at reasonable price.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“A really enjoyable evening with delicious food”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We've been trying to find an excuse to go here for a while and managed to secure a table by email about three weeks before our visit.
Time slots are allocated, but this makes sense as the resto is a 3 man operation and allows time to ensure that everyone is looked after properly.
We arrived with minutes to spare for our 20:45 reservation and there was a family of 4 waiting on the street to take our table if we'd been late so beware.

Absolutely cannot fault the service which was friendly and attentive. All of us were blown away with everything we ate (with the crème de tomate being the only exception - this was a bit cup-a-soup like and didn't seem to match the fine dining feel). Everything was well cooked, perfectly seasoned and beautifully presented.
Wine recommendations were spot on, and the dessert wine in particular was amazing - not sickly syrup that you usually get, this was nicley balanced and almost floral.

Thanks for an incredible evening Lange20 - we look forward to dining with you again with the in-laws at the end of the month.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiamJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,079
    263
    67
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect place in Paris for a relaxed and perfect evening”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

You need to prebook and then you need to turn up. Don't spoil it for those who follow.

This is a fabulous small and friendly restaurant with great service and delicious food at very reasonable prices. The meal was delicious and the wine excellent, we had some wonderful red wine with our cheese and a long relaxed chat with the chef/owner while we enjoyed it. I had called to book the restaurant having read the reviews on trip advisor. When we arrived at 9pm there was a queue outside for this small cosy restaurant but to my amazement our table was ready for us. We had a truely special evening. While talking to the owner he admitted to feeling frustrated at the people who book and then don't show, he has a limited number of tables and every time people don't bother to call and cancel he loses valuable custom while waiting for the
no shows. It is a friendly gem of a restaurant, help them keep it that way. Book, turn up and enjoy! We did.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amandaw13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simple. Friendly. Superb food. Good value.”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We'd go back here in a heartbeat. Booked six weeks in advance, good advice from Tripadvisor - you are likely to get turned away, although one couple got lucky when we vacated our table, so it isn't impossible.

Menu is interesting, and prepared brilliantly. Thierry is cooking right there next to you, and boy does he graft - he knows what he is doing, and is warm, welcoming and funny to boot. Food simply superb. Prawns in angel hair, then the best lamb I have ever had. Food is presented simply, leaving the taste to do all the talking. House wines first class.

You need to be friendly - not the place to go if you want a private conversation, you will be touching elbows with the next table, but this adds to the charm. Incidentally, the crowd next to us were US Air senior cabin crew, the pilots had been before and returned over again - every one of them had a cracking meal, as did we.

Starter, main and desert, gin & tonic then two large glasses of house red came to €94 Euro for us both, tip on top, worth every penny.

Great experience - you won't be disappointed but make sure you book ahead - we did it by email, dead easy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stelladave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We're still talking about it!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I pre-booked this restaurant before I went to Paris and was so glad that I did. It is very accessible and right beside the George Pompideau Museum. We absolutely loved this restaurant, from walking on the door to when we left we just loved every minute.

Our food was prepared on front of us and the cosy atmosphere heightened the experience. It is intimate and friendly and oh so French. The food was delicious and the menu excellent. For three courses and a beautiful bottle of wine we paid €78. In my opinion it was a steal.

Highly recommend it, you won't regret it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AisW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
415 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Angelic food in Paris”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great experience in this cosy ie tiny restaurant tucked away in a narrow side-street near the Pompidou Centre.

Yes it's cramped and the food might be more wholesome than Michelin-starred daintiness, but it's well worth hunting this place out. And make sure you pre-book, unless you're very lucky and get a cancellation on the night.

Just 3 running the whole show...very friendly & helpful front-of-house/waiter, Thierry the chef and his smiling assistant conjuring up amazing cuisine in the bijou "kitchen" in full view of diners.

Try the "7-hour lamb"....you'll remember it for longer than it took to prepare.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewMorris53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ange 20 Restaurant also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to L'Ange 20 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing