We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what you came to Paris for”

L'Ange 20 Restaurant
Ranked #95 of 17,155 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $42 - $47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Typical French bistro located in the hart of Marais just a few foot steeps away from the "Place des Vosges" and Saint Paul Church. From the small intimate and cozy dining room you can see everything that happens in the kitchen. Thierry the owner and his team will pay special attention that you feel at home. Here one does not hesitate to speak directly to the kitchen! The dishes are simple and tasty. All made from fresh products cooked like at home The wine list offers a wide selection of French wines, selected with care. You 'll find your happiness at reasonable price.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
96 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“This is what you came to Paris for”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Forget the huge eateries, the swanky Michelin restaurants, the snooty waiters, above all forget the fastfood joints, and make for this friendly spot in the lively Marais (but don't forget to book!). As other reviewers have noted, the space is tiny, seating only about twenty people at very close quarters, but once you're settled you feel perfectly comfortable.
The fixed-price menu is a very reasonable 33 euros (I'm relying on memory here, so check on the website) for a three-course meal, perfectly prepared and charmingly served by a small but highly efficient staff. We had lamb, braised for seven hours, tender, juicy and wonderfully tasty, as a main, with starters and dessert similarly delicious. It's the kind of place you don't want to recommend, because you don't want it to get overrun; but the secret seems to be out anyway, so I might as well join in the chorus. A delight of a restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,574
    428
    103
    20
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We booked having read the reviews on trip advisor and they were spot on. The food was delicious and although cramped inside the atmosphere was just right. We were so lucky to get a table on a very busy Friday night. Make sure you book as they had to turn lots away as it only seats 22. I had the lamb for main and my partner had the guinie fowl. Both excellent - followed by a lovely creme brûlée. Moderately priced wine list meant that we paid less than 100 euros for pre dinner drinks in the form of 4 beers bottle of wine, 3 course meal and coffee. Be assured we will visit again when we are next in Paris

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BadJoeBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The place you will visit again and again”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

You can find this restaurant in the narrow stree near Pompidu museum by the smell - it's fantastic. And you have definatelly return again and again - to try everythin, so perfect it is!
You must book the table in advance the restaurant is very small and always fully booked!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darius68_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good things come in small packages!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We went to this restaurant on the recommendation of Tripadvisor reviews! We loved it - the waitor was fab and worked the room well. A small, cosy, buzzy restaurant with delicious food. Decor not partic specail but actually it was part of its charm. As its so small you cant help but get chatting to others if you want to - we had a lovely chat with a Brazilian man about the Olympics! To be honest - the road looks a bit dodgy - so we would never have gone down there unless recommended - we are so pleased we did. Fully recommend - fabulous food, ambience and reasonably priced - A fantatstic night & a real experience!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrolliedDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
86 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Well we stumbled upon this gem after wandering around for ages looking for somewhere, and I am so glad that we did. You really should make reservations to dine here, because it's small. We struck lucky because we were early, but after us they were turning people away non stop. The menu is small, and written on a chalk board, but there is sufficient choice for all tastes. We both had tasty appetisers, a goat cheese sald and smoked duck. For my entree I had lamb and my friend the duck. We both agreed that they were delicious and the presentation immaculate. The deserts were gorgeous and I had a shot of muscat to go with mine as recommended by the waiter, and I am so glad that I did. It complimented my caramelised apple perfectly. The service was so helpful, and friendly, and the staff even kept very cool, calm and professional when faced with very aggressive overseas guests who were very late for their reservation and proceeded to shout at the staff in English as if it was their fault! The cost of this meal was more than reasonable, so do go, but make a reservation if you want to dine at peak time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolynu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ange 20 Restaurant also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to L'Ange 20 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing