We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Steak Tartar ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Germain

Cafe Germain
Ranked #9,044 of 16,851 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Steak Tartar ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had dinner there and we both ordered steak tartar. It was the best we have ever had. The restaurant is very unformal, but the service was ok. Slow but always friendly and polite. They tried their best to comminicate with us, even knowing French or English were our first language. Overall, this was a very good expeience and I highly recomend the steak tartar.

Helpful?
Thank Adriano C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    63
    29
    26
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
houston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A gem in St Germain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I went to Germain for lunch in April. It was terrific. A little pricey but the food and service were excellent. Definitely a cut above the surrounding places.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grdhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“modern and young”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

the place is awsome, on the day is a dinning and at night is very agitaded you can sit outside and its good... the food is not the best, but you can take a beer and some fries.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cool Restaurant in the heart of St Germain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Had a fantastic night over summer eating in this cool place. With the windows open it was a great place to people watch in one of St Germains busiest areas. After reading the reviews for here maybe we were lucky, but we had fun being seated on, one side, next to the 2 story art work of a woman and the other next to a well known hollywood actress. Our Service was great as was the food

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“my favourite place in paris!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

This place is always packed, with young beautiful people. Very reasonably priced for what it is, I always get the faux fillet or veal milanese.
Great staff and fabulous for people watching. Be sure to reserve in advance !!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirl8823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Germain also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Cafe Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing