We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true 5*, but Has Yet to find its Reason D'etre in Paris's tough 5* market”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
Ranked #15 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2011

New Mandarin Oriental Paris is a 5 stars class act that delivers everything you would expect. It's address is most prestigious on Rue Saint Honore, Its design beautiful and expensive, it's staff - professional and kind and the Deluxe room i was upgraded to was wonderful, cozy and had the most breathtaking washing room i have seen in a long time. The whole place has an understated wow factor that you would expect from the Mandarin Oriental Brand and i must say i did not come across of any glitches or problems that one might expect from a new operation. Reception and concierge team were especially amazing and if i wasn't so jet legged and forgetful i would write each and everyone's name here. Sorry guys you know who you are!

My only concern for this hotel is that Paris's luxury hotel market is overfloweded already, and i think this new MO has to find its selling idea and differentiation. Where is his place among the "golden triangle" of The Ritz, The Plaza Athenee and .the Four Seasons George V? It certainly charges the same amount per night as the older guys, but what does it bring to the table? The Ritz has an even more prestigious address on Place Vendome, and a lot more history. The Plaza athenee is famous for its fashion crowds and location and the Four Seasons is known for its outstanding service and costumer care. And there are other key players like Le Meurice, Le Bristol, Le Crillion and even Hotel Costes that shares the very same block on Rue Saint Honore with the Oriental. They all are class acts, They all are amazing and Beautiful properties and i'm not quite sure why would one choose MO again when all those amazing options are available.

That said, i did enjoy my stay there and certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank coffeebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,511)
There are newer reviews for Mandarin Oriental, Paris
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

977 - 983 of 1,511 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2011

This hotel is situated in an ideal location on the Rue St Honore, with luxury shops next door and opposite, and only a short 5 min stroll to the Tuillerie Gardens, the Louvre and the Place de la Concorde. The hotel is definitely luxury, but with a modern flair, but also unlike some modern hotels, still has style and elegance. There is an central garden, which is a delight, and although new, has been planted with established shrubs, so offering greenery and privacy, to diners, in fine weather, or for those who want to relax over a drink. The restaurant is excellent, and only does not have a Michelin * as new, and there is a great bar with a buzzing atmosphere. For a city hotel, the indoor pool is large, plus there is an excellent spa, with total privacy, for those who want it. The rooms are tastefully decorated, and spacious, even at the lead in level, and some of the suites are amazing, and individual. Overall very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for a delux room, and request a balcony, especially in the Summer.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDTRAVELBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This was my fourth visit to Paris and my best trip thanks to Mandarin Oriental Paris. The hotel is about one month old so there are minor kinks that need to be worked out, but overall the experience was absolutely superb.

I stay at a lot of five star hotels and have only rated one hotel five stars in the past (Mandarin Oriental Bangkok). Service-wise, the Paris hotel is every bit just as good, if not better than the Oriental hotel in Bangkok.

The location couldn't be any better. The hotel is 1 minute walk to Place Vendome and 4 minutes to the Louvre. Every single luxury brand you could possibly think of is within minutes walk.

Overall, a spectacular experience mostly attributable to the wonderful staff - this is top notch.

BTW, the last hotel I stayed at in Paris was Hotel de Crillon (not too far from the Mandarin Oriental). I think de Crillon is in the same price category, but Mandarin Oriental is 10x better. (de Crillon is old with small rooms and actually a bit spooky)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tsaoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The new Mandarin Oriental is located on the Rue Saint-Honore around the corner from Place Vendome.. We liked the location compared to the Champs Elysee area, where we have always stayed, which is very crowded with tourists. The Mandarin is a newly built modern hotel in Paris which has modern technology including a 32" B&O TV in room, speakers in bathroom, Bowers & Wilkinson iPod dock, USB, AV and HDMI cables ready to plug into TV, music playlist on B&O TV, indoor swimming pool, fitness, steam and spa. Not many hotels in Paris can boast all this. We stayed at the hotel about 2-3 weeks after it opened. There were minor glitches but I hope these were due to the hotel being new and they will improve in the future. 

We stayed in a deluxe room located at the back of the hotel facing, well, the back. We stayed for 5 nights at €985 a night and wondered why we got stuffed into a room facing the back with a view of the building next door. The room was very very quiet though, as I think all rooms have double glazed windows. The room was well designed and my only complaint is the shower and bath area being situated inside a cubicle and towel racks were locate inside this cubicle, which had no ventilation, which meant towels were never dry. 

Cost of breakfast was steep: €55 for an American breakfast and €45 for Continental for an average breakfast. You can walk down to Laduree for a continental breakfast for €18. 

The swimming pool was exceptional as was the fitness centre, which had all new Technogym equipment. Spa was also very good and I'm sure will continue to improve over time. 

Staff at the hotel were all very nice and greeted guests whenever they walked by. 

We had some complaints about housekeeping but to be fair, they were fixed quickly but you would expect housekeeping to be the most important aspect of guest service and something to be managed well. 

Overall, Mandarin Oriental has the potential to rival the other 5 star hotels in Paris and certainly they have priced their rooms to Four Seasons level. For sure, the facilities were worth the rate we paid, and so was the service, but I feel they need that extra step to make the experience much more memorable and keeping in par with the service Mandarin Oriental in Hong Kong is famous for. 

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovetotravelhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOPAR_11, Coordinatrice Marketing at Mandarin Oriental, Paris, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your comments and are delighted to hear about your experience. Your comments will be shared with our team and we hope to welcome you back to Mandarin Oriental, Paris.

Best regards
Alexia Gobit-Abril
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We got there 1 week after they opened, stayed 2 week (were their 1st long-stay guests).

There were a few 1st-days' glitches; all fixed prompty, with an apology and usually something to make up for it.

Rooms were very appealing & clean, with wonderful flower arrangements.

When I asked, last day but one, when checkout time is, Charlotte's reply was "when do you want it to be?"; I almost fell on the floor; she gave us plenty of time to stay until we had to goto the train, so we had an extra day to enjoy Paris.

Celine reacted promptly, courteously &efficiently to any comments of ours. Called the London Mandarin ahead of our arrival, and we had wine &fruit & flowers when we got there -- plus the most elegant Email we ever got!.

Concierge desk was great, esp. Dmitri; when we left on a rainy day, they chased us w/an umbrella; almost forced us to take 2 of their umbrellas with us to London. They were very efficient, telling us to _them_ worry about arrangements.

Hotel works with a good guide company, paris-addict; that company's Charles Cousin "le grand Charles") is 1st-rate.

Our room faced courtyard, was very quiet, even though courtyard has restaurant &bar. Courtyard is full of appealing trees &plants.

We enjoyed the place a lot, will most probably return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GideonSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOPAR_11, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Paris, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your comments and are delighted to hear about your experience . Your comments will be shared with our team and we hope to welcome you back to Mandarin Oriental, Paris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jeremykoskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Haruna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Bristol Paris
#5 of 1,803 in Paris
1,657 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#17 of 1,803 in Paris
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris
Champs-Elysees
The Peninsula Paris
The Peninsula Paris
#13 of 1,803 in Paris
755 reviews
Trocadero
Shangri-La Hotel Paris
Shangri-La Hotel Paris
#45 of 1,803 in Paris
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Paris

Address: 251 Rue Saint-Honore, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paris
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#6 Family Hotel in Paris
#7 Spa Hotel in Paris
#13 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $991 - $1,704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Paris 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Paris has a premier location on Rue Saint-Honore, surrounded by history and fashionable shopping. The hotel's 99 luxurious rooms and 40 suites offer guests an eminently stylish Parisian experience, and are among the most spacious in Paris. An inner courtyard camellia garden provides outdoor dining and is a peaceful oasis in the city. Other dining choices, include the two-Michelin star signature restaurant, Sur Mesure par Thierry Marx, Camelia, The Cake Shop and Bar 8, all under Executive Chef and Culinary Director Thierry Marx. The Spa at Mandarin Oriental, Paris brings relaxation in a peaceful, modern setting, and an indoor pool and a fully-equipped fitness centre complete the hotel's leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Paris Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing