We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back to basics.”
Review of Saravana Bhavan

Saravana Bhavan
Ranked #2,926 of 17,020 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Paris, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Back to basics.”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

- Normal restaurant. Nothing fancy.
- Food, and good food
- Good prices / Super affordable if you're on a low budget and craving South Indian food
- don't try north indian or fake chinese food.. they don't know how to do it..

-But if you want dosa/idli/vada/sambar etc fresh out of Chennai, l guess this is the only place in Paris you should go to.
- if you go in the evenings, its always jampacked and you need to queue to get in

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank vijjih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    233
    107
    38
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The quality of the food was just average , when compared to the Actual Saravana Bhavan in Chennai. We had South Indian Meals, but the taste was very average.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SwethaSundar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Over crowded and noisy”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We got there at 9pm on a Saturday night. The place was packed and loud. We got a table with one side booth sitting and the other a chair. It was very hard to squeeze between to tables to get to the booth.

The menu is overwhelming with tons of choice. I got a mixed platter and my girlfriend ate a dosa. Both were good.

The negatives: Too crowded and our clothes smelled like Indian food for a few days.

I would go back when it's less crowded, perhaps lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank injerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberursel, Hessen, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ravishing Rava Dosa - Delicious and Inexpensive”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Very conveniently located between the Gare du Nord and the Gare du L'Est, Saravana Bhavan provides authentic south Indian food in a clean, lunch-room-like setting. I am crazy about their Rava Dosa (a large, lacy, crèpe with cashew nuts, served with three kinds of chutney dips), but if you're not sure what to order, try the Tali - an assortment of about 10 dishes, relishes and breads served on a large, stainless steel platter.
After lunch at Saravana Bhavan, I enjoyed a walk along this section of the Faubourg St. Denis, with its' myriad shops featuring Bollywood fashions and Indian groceries. The Canal St. Martin neighborhood, with funky boutiques and vintage shops, is also within walking distance of Saravana Bhavan. All in all, a great way to spend an a-typical afternoon in Paris.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carolamurrayseegert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic, delicious, clean”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

As good as the original, in an excellent location, and authentic down to the last dosa, wasa and chutney. What more could one ask for? Thoroughly recommended if you're a south Indian food lover.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rohan D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Saravana Bhavan also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Saravana Bhavan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing