We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friend in Montmartre”

Culinary Tours of Paris
Ranked #7 of 172 Food & Drink in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walking tours of Paris that combine eating good food and exploring Paris' best neighborhoods.
Sonoma, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Friend in Montmartre”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I gave this tour to my new husband as a birthday gift and I could not have been happier with my choice. I had read a review that said that Jean-Paul, the guide, was like having your friend's son take you to lunch and that is very much what it felt like. The food was delicious and Jean-Paul's information about Montmartre was interesting and fun. We really enjoyed chatting with Jean-Paul and the other guests. The tour was casual. Important things to know: The tour is a walking tour in a hilly and cobble-stone part of Paris. I wouldn't wear heels and it would probably be difficult for someone needing a cane or flat walking surfaces. There is quite a bit of food involved! I couldn't finish my wonderful crepe. The restaurants are small local places that are not "Americanized" so be prepared to roll with it (which one should be doing in another country anyway). We were delighted with the food tour and recommend it willingly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EvangelineJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    671
    45
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paris Culinary Tour - Montmartre”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

What a unique way to experience the village of Montmartre. Jean-Paul Fortney will lead you on his
"Moveable Feast" cullinary tour throughout this historic and charming area of Paris. This intimate tour allows you to experience the remarkable food and history of a unique area of Paris that is filled with tiny, exquisite squares, winding streets and anchored by the majestic Sacre' Coeur. This was, by far, one of our most enjoyable days in such and exciting and memorable city. A tour not to be missed.
George and Kathie
Woodland, California

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KathieS06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
1 review
“Wonderful tour of Montmartre”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Montmartre culinary tour is a great way to see the neighborhood and eat some excellent local food. The group met outside the Abbesses metro stop, and John-Paul was easily identifiable with his brochure. The tour consists of walking around the neighborhood, with John-Paul's narrative about places like one of Van Gogh's homes or the grocery from Amelie, with 3 stops along the way in wonderful restaurants. At the first, we had a cheese and charcuterie plate with wine; at the second we had a main course with more wine (with opportunities to eat traditional preparations of foods fish or veal, or more adventurous foods like frogs legs or brains); at the last, we had crepes and cider. The tour does involve a bit of uphill walking in places, but no one in the group seemed to have any problems with the level of activity. John-Paul is very knowledgable about French food and the history of the area, with lots of entertaining anecdotes and personal details. All in all, it was a wonderful and highly recommended way to see the neighborhood and pass the afternoon.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank xjenleex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pick this tour!!!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

To have an intimate, personal, individual tour in Paris was really lovely. Jean-Paul behaves like a cousin taking you around his neighborhood. His stories rely on a lot of personal experience which make them very interesting. How big is a French flat, how much does it cost, why do you live where you live and on and on. We wanted all the knowledge he could give us and I don't think we stumped him once. Obviously he has been doing this for several years, but everything coming out of his mouth seems fresh. And, he must remember everything, the knowledge of things that we passed and just generally was extensive. When a client asks him a question, he obviously finds out the answer and keeps it in reserve for the next client!

Eating in our restaurants was a blast and it was really nice to have someone who knew the staff to translate and help us out with their history. He is obviously friends with the staff of the places we stop in to. Even other clients in the restaurants chipped in with comments on the food.

If I could have had several more tours around Paris from Jean-Paul, I would have kept picking him. You will only wish he would expand his area/repertoire.

Kate, USA

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Unmissable!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This tour is personal, individual, fascinating and unmissable. Our tour was led by Cris, who was passionate, informative, interesting and wonderful company.

The 2 restaurants visited were small, local and well worth the vist. The food was wholesome and the historical meanderings were fascinating. I am already planning to book the Montmartre Walking Tour for my next visit to Paris.

Thank you for helping to make our visit to Paris so special.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Culinary Tours of Paris also viewed

 

Been to Culinary Tours of Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing