We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect Parisian location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Ranked #523 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2010

A great place to stop enhanced by being in the near vicinity of metro Chatelet. We were up on the 5th floor with a balcony. The rooftop views weren't great but the room was only there to sleep in!

The room although small was clean and tidy,bed was comfortable and easy to drop off to sleep!

The shower, as mentioned in other reviews, was on the small side but we managed.
As with many Parisian hotels the lift was small, probably more space in the Phoenix capsule!

We were only a street away from last year but by going down a different road we found a whole new world, well bars/cafes,shops.

Would we recommend the hotel, of course.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Millennium T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alidalauf1607, Gérant at Grand Hotel Dechampaigne, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2010

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for your kind commentary. For us it was a pleasure to welcome you and give you satisfaction. Thanks for your visit and for your kindness in taking time to write your review and quotation.
We will be pleased to welcome you again on your next visit to Paris.
Please receive our very best regards.
Mme LAUFERON / Owner
Raquel / Front Desk Manager
Laura & Olga Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 686 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2010

Positive:
- location
- friendly staff (in the main)
- peaceful room in the 5th floor

Negative:
- the internet pictures of the hotel and the rooms do not resemble the reality. Unfortunately, we chose the balcony room partly due to nice pictures and got disappointed.
- the balcony had a view of the wall of the opposite building
- cramped room with the pillar in the middle
- we think the bathroom was very dirty (e.g. the joints between the plates were mainly black instead being grey) and the shower room was extremely small
- the price does not match up to the quality

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smk7673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alidalauf1607, Gérant at Grand Hotel Dechampaigne, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2010

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
First of all, thank you your your visit in our hotel. We are surprised in reding your review, our staff didn't hear about your complains when you were in the hotel.
What we hope is give satisfaction to all our guests and if there was something wrong the best is inform the desk manager or the direction to find the best solution. As you could see our hotel is located on the corner of two quiet and small streets. We do have 4 balconies rooms on the 5th floor and all of them are diferent.
We regret you didin't ask to change to another room, that we think would have been the best solution but thank you in taking time to make your review.
Best Regards,
Ms LAUFERON - Owner
Ms FERNANDEZ - Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Small rooms. The bathroom was so small it was a problem taking a shower. And I booked a superior room!! I can only imagine how the standard rooms are. The location however is Great.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyre67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Perfect for our needs.

The hotel reminded me of staying in a relative's cottage: friendly, old fashioned, eclectic and comfortable. Sure the lift is tiny and the stairs are a bit wonky but it gives your stay personality! We were a double but were given a triple room - huge! Especially for Paris. All the staff were very friendly... providing us with ice, storing our luggage, answering questions, etc.

The hotel is also right in the middle of everything: Louvre, Notre Dame, Left Bank, Marais, Les Halles, D'Orsay are all walking distance. Anything else can be reached by the major metro station right by the hotel. Still, since its off a tiny side street the hotel is pretty quiet. An earlier review mentioned that the hotel is down an alley... that is not really accurate. Streets are much smaller in Europe and we never felt unsafe (we being two young women).

(Also free wifi! yay!)

Our only complaint is that we didn't have a mini fridge.

Anyway, highly recommended! Especially if you can get a deal.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherrytea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alidalauf1607, Gérant at Grand Hotel Dechampaigne, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2010

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for your detail and kind commentary. For us it was a pleasure to welcome you and give you satisfaction. Thanks for your visit and for your kindness in taking time to write your review and quotation.
We will be pleased to welcome you again on your next visit to Paris.
Please receive our very best regards.
Mme LAUFERON / Owner
Raquel / Front Desk Manager
Laura & Olga Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Perfect romantic small hotel for our 22.wedding day!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank repe62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alidalauf1607, Gérant at Grand Hotel Dechampaigne, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2010

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you and let you know once again that for us it was a pleasure to welcome you in our hotel. Thanks for your visit and for taking time to write your review and quotation.
We will be pleased to welcome you again on your next visit to Paris.
Please receive our very best regards.
Mme LAUFERON / Owner
Raquel / Front Desk Manager
Laura & Olga Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in late September. Hotel is brilliantly situated one minute from Chatelet Metro and Rue De Rivoli. Staff were first class and very helpful. Go for a superior room if you can - ours had luxury dressing gowns/slippers, huge bed and good space for Paris and unusually tea/coffee facilities. Breakfast not gourmet but has all you need (breads, cereals, ham, eggs, cheese, fruits and yoghurt and lots of it. Will definitely recommend to our family and friends and will return (hopefully soon). Bathroom nice but slightly cramped....Internet in foyer/reception very handy but staff were superb.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aloysiusjesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We were booked to stay 2 nights at the Sister Hotel which was well reviewed, Hotel Marbourg, only to arrive after our flight from the states, train and metro to find we had been moved to Hotel deChampagne. The only rooms available were NOT superior (which class I had booked) and we chose the one on the top floor since it was quiet. However it requires a stair climb which is very tight, the internet doesn't work up there. The bed was not very comfortable but the the a/c worked well. The shower however is another story, Sometimes cold, sometimes scalding hot and sometimes no pressure. We never knew what to expect. The location is excellent however it doesn't make up for the lack of quality in the room. People were nice but one receptionist couldn't even tell us if it was going to RAIN that day - she just said "I don't know". It did....needless to say we felt cheated after picking the other hotel and not being contacted about it (they said they sent me an email - I didn't get it)

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ddd1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Britannique
Hotel Britannique
#147 of 1,803 in Paris
1,570 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Elixir
Hotel Elixir
#647 of 1,803 in Paris
514 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#703 of 1,803 in Paris
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Des Ducs d'Anjou
Des Ducs d'Anjou
#1,039 of 1,803 in Paris
362 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#305 of 1,803 in Paris
184 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Flor Rivoli
Hotel Flor Rivoli
#1,197 of 1,803 in Paris
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dechampaigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dechampaigne

Address: 17 rue Jean Lantier, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#364 Family Hotel in Paris
#409 Business Hotel in Paris
#594 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $138 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Dechampaigne 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Dechampaigne Paris, built in the XVIth century, is the symbol of the French hospitality tradition, with delicate French decoration and architecture a refined service.Our staff will be pleased to welcome you in French, English, Spanish, Russian, Italian and German. The Grand Hotel Dechampaigne combines a high standard of comfort and the refined service of a friendly mansion within Paris: Few steps from, the Rivoli Street, les Halles, The Louvre Museum, Tuileries Garden, Concorde Square and Champs Elysees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Dechampaigne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing