We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The perfect Parisian location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Dechampaigne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Ranked #347 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The perfect Parisian location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

A great place to stop enhanced by being in the near vicinity of metro Chatelet. We were up on the 5th floor with a balcony. The rooftop views weren't great but the room was only there to sleep in!

The room although small was clean and tidy,bed was comfortable and easy to drop off to sleep!

The shower, as mentioned in other reviews, was on the small side but we managed.
As with many Parisian hotels the lift was small, probably more space in the Phoenix capsule!

We were only a street away from last year but by going down a different road we found a whole new world, well bars/cafes,shops.

Would we recommend the hotel, of course.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millennium T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alidalauf1607, Gérant at Grand Hotel Dechampaigne, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for your kind commentary. For us it was a pleasure to welcome you and give you satisfaction. Thanks for your visit and for your kindness in taking time to write your review and quotation.
We will be pleased to welcome you again on your next visit to Paris.
Please receive our very best regards.
Mme LAUFERON / Owner
Raquel / Front Desk Manager
Laura & Olga Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    279
    65
    21
    17
See reviews for
137
267
37
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oulu, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

Positive:
- location
- friendly staff (in the main)
- peaceful room in the 5th floor

Negative:
- the internet pictures of the hotel and the rooms do not resemble the reality. Unfortunately, we chose the balcony room partly due to nice pictures and got disappointed.
- the balcony had a view of the wall of the opposite building
- cramped room with the pillar in the middle
- we think the bathroom was very dirty (e.g. the joints between the plates were mainly black instead being grey) and the shower room was extremely small
- the price does not match up to the quality

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smk7673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alidalauf1607, Gérant at Grand Hotel Dechampaigne, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
First of all, thank you your your visit in our hotel. We are surprised in reding your review, our staff didn't hear about your complains when you were in the hotel.
What we hope is give satisfaction to all our guests and if there was something wrong the best is inform the desk manager or the direction to find the best solution. As you could see our hotel is located on the corner of two quiet and small streets. We do have 4 balconies rooms on the 5th floor and all of them are diferent.
We regret you didin't ask to change to another room, that we think would have been the best solution but thank you in taking time to make your review.
Best Regards,
Ms LAUFERON - Owner
Ms FERNANDEZ - Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

Small rooms. The bathroom was so small it was a problem taking a shower. And I booked a superior room!! I can only imagine how the standard rooms are. The location however is Great.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eyre67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

Perfect for our needs.

The hotel reminded me of staying in a relative's cottage: friendly, old fashioned, eclectic and comfortable. Sure the lift is tiny and the stairs are a bit wonky but it gives your stay personality! We were a double but were given a triple room - huge! Especially for Paris. All the staff were very friendly... providing us with ice, storing our luggage, answering questions, etc.

The hotel is also right in the middle of everything: Louvre, Notre Dame, Left Bank, Marais, Les Halles, D'Orsay are all walking distance. Anything else can be reached by the major metro station right by the hotel. Still, since its off a tiny side street the hotel is pretty quiet. An earlier review mentioned that the hotel is down an alley... that is not really accurate. Streets are much smaller in Europe and we never felt unsafe (we being two young women).

(Also free wifi! yay!)

Our only complaint is that we didn't have a mini fridge.

Anyway, highly recommended! Especially if you can get a deal.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherrytea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alidalauf1607, Gérant at Grand Hotel Dechampaigne, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for your detail and kind commentary. For us it was a pleasure to welcome you and give you satisfaction. Thanks for your visit and for your kindness in taking time to write your review and quotation.
We will be pleased to welcome you again on your next visit to Paris.
Please receive our very best regards.
Mme LAUFERON / Owner
Raquel / Front Desk Manager
Laura & Olga Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsinki
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

Perfect romantic small hotel for our 22.wedding day!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank repe62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alidalauf1607, Gérant at Grand Hotel Dechampaigne, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you and let you know once again that for us it was a pleasure to welcome you in our hotel. Thanks for your visit and for taking time to write your review and quotation.
We will be pleased to welcome you again on your next visit to Paris.
Please receive our very best regards.
Mme LAUFERON / Owner
Raquel / Front Desk Manager
Laura & Olga Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in late September. Hotel is brilliantly situated one minute from Chatelet Metro and Rue De Rivoli. Staff were first class and very helpful. Go for a superior room if you can - ours had luxury dressing gowns/slippers, huge bed and good space for Paris and unusually tea/coffee facilities. Breakfast not gourmet but has all you need (breads, cereals, ham, eggs, cheese, fruits and yoghurt and lots of it. Will definitely recommend to our family and friends and will return (hopefully soon). Bathroom nice but slightly cramped....Internet in foyer/reception very handy but staff were superb.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aloysiusjesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
171 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

We were booked to stay 2 nights at the Sister Hotel which was well reviewed, Hotel Marbourg, only to arrive after our flight from the states, train and metro to find we had been moved to Hotel deChampagne. The only rooms available were NOT superior (which class I had booked) and we chose the one on the top floor since it was quiet. However it requires a stair climb which is very tight, the internet doesn't work up there. The bed was not very comfortable but the the a/c worked well. The shower however is another story, Sometimes cold, sometimes scalding hot and sometimes no pressure. We never knew what to expect. The location is excellent however it doesn't make up for the lack of quality in the room. People were nice but one receptionist couldn't even tell us if it was going to RAIN that day - she just said "I don't know". It did....needless to say we felt cheated after picking the other hotel and not being contacted about it (they said they sent me an email - I didn't get it)

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ddd1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Louvre Rivoli
Hotel Louvre Rivoli
#687 of 1,793 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Britannique
Hotel Britannique
#164 of 1,793 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#642 of 1,793 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#127 of 1,793 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Les Halles
Le Relais du Louvre
Le Relais du Louvre
#62 of 1,793 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Flor Rivoli
Hotel Flor Rivoli
#1,097 of 1,793 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dechampaigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dechampaigne

Property: Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Address: 17 rue Jean Lantier, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#365 Family Hotel in Paris
#409 Business Hotel in Paris
#595 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Dechampaigne 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Dechampaigne Paris, built in the XVIth century, is the symbol of the French hospitality tradition, with delicate French decoration and architecture a refined service.Our staff will be pleased to welcome you in French, English, Spanish, Russian, Italian and German. The Grand Hotel Dechampaigne combines a high standard of comfort and the refined service of a friendly mansion within Paris: Few steps from, the Rivoli Street, les Halles, The Louvre Museum, Tuileries Garden, Concorde Square and Champs Elysees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Hotel Dechampaigne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing