We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Ranked #536 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Perfect position. Quiet location but very close to the Seine, Louvre, Notre Dame, Metro, RER etc. Room very small but sufficient for our needs. Tiny lift. Breakfast good but quite expensive for the category.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHDC, Gérant at Grand Hotel Dechampaigne, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for your kind commentary.
Regarding your remarks about our elevator we wish to say as you have seen, our building was built in 1562, and is our choice to keep the atmosfere of that period,
About the breakfast we are sure the price is very competitve in the hotel area and category and also for the buffet quality and choice you can find.
Many thanks again, and very Best Regards,
Ms Lauferon / Owner
Ms Fernandez / Front Desk Manager
Olga, Alexandra, Marina / Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 706 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014

This is an incredibly charming and quirky hotel with a fantastic location at a really decent price. The staff is so friendly and helpful. Breakfast is basic with not many options, but that is okay as the price is really good. The room was a bit small but I really liked the decoration and Everything you need was there. The hotel is perfectly located, Close to Chatelet metro station and you can walk to most destinations, which suited me perfectly. I would have given the hotel four stars, but be aware where your room is located. Mine was one the first floor facing the corner shop opposite where they got deliveries from about 5am in the morning - making such racking and noise I could not sleep for the next two hours. Not really the perfect stay as it could have been.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the corner shop
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BHelenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHDC, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Dechampaigne, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your time and your commentary.
We can see that everything regarding your stay was very good except something we unfortunatley we cannot really manage, as Paris is a very big and busy city.
For your next stay we'll be pleased to propose you a room facing the interior side of our building to avoid an unhappy wake up.
The best is to let us know your preference before arrival and also maybe come to the desk ask for moving if your stay is longer than one night.
Please receive all our very Best Regards,
Ms Lauferon / Owner
Ms Fernandez / Front Desk Manager
Olga, Alexandra, Marina / Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

A small, personal hotel where we could get a room for 3 persons. The hotel is perfectly located, near the Chatelet Metro-station (close to Notre Dame), from which you can go quickly to most parts of Paris. A nice breakfast with good choice and fresh bread was very appreciated. All in all, it felt like a very nice and price worthy stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Fresh and clean, a good breakfast at a small price. You can easily take you anywhere and many center locations are within walking distance. The service was wxcellent and even room-service breakfast at no xtra charge!

We had a three bed room. In a reasonably spacious room for Paris. Ok beds, not the most comfortable I've had but nothing to complain about. Easy access to Metro!

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Ingela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very well located, close to Chatelet metro station and there are several restaurants nearby. Regarding the breakfast, actually they do not offer too many options, however you can go to other place to have it (several options nearby as well). We booked a triple room and it was enough for two adults and one kid. Maybe it would be tiny for three adults. Yes, the bathroom is quite small, but everything worked very well. If you are looking for a confy place to rest and also for a close place to Paris' most important landmarks, this is your hotel.

1  Thank Ecssj
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Small cozy hotel. A very convenient location just 10 minutes walk from the Louvre and Notre Dame. Nearby are many shops, bakeries, restaurants, metro station in 5 minutes. Good value for money. We could probably stay here when visiting Paris next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena_Sharubina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here for a two night stay. Come out of Chatelet metro and it is literally around the corner and 5 minutes stroll to the Notre Dame Cathedral and the Seine. Perfect location for sight seeing, shopping, eating and drinking.

THe hotel was clean and the staff really friendly, couldn't do enough to help us, booking a restaurant on our behalf was no trouble at all for them. The room was comfortable and clean and very Red and velvety, but it looked like it did in the pictures, so wasn't dissapointed at all. Bathroom was clean and adequate.

So all in all worth the money for the location and would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 272HellsBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Elixir
Hotel Elixir
#655 of 1,805 in Paris
536 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Britannique
Hotel Britannique
#164 of 1,805 in Paris
1,586 reviews
Les Halles
Des Ducs d'Anjou
Des Ducs d'Anjou
#1,132 of 1,805 in Paris
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel Andrea
Hotel Andrea
#1,077 of 1,805 in Paris
271 reviews
Les Halles
Best Western Premier Ducs de Bourgogne
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#799 of 1,805 in Paris
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dechampaigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dechampaigne

Address: 17 rue Jean Lantier, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#172 Family Hotel in Paris
#408 Business Hotel in Paris
#593 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $133 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Dechampaigne 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Dechampaigne Paris, built in the XVIth century, is the symbol of the French hospitality tradition, with delicate French decoration and architecture a refined service.Our staff will be pleased to welcome you in French, English, Spanish, Russian, Italian and German. The Grand Hotel Dechampaigne combines a high standard of comfort and the refined service of a friendly mansion within Paris: Few steps from, the Rivoli Street, les Halles, The Louvre Museum, Tuileries Garden, Concorde Square and Champs Elysees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Dechampaigne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing