We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Tiny Plus” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Dechampaigne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Ranked #427 of 1,810 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Tiny Plus”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Extremely small rooms, even by Parisian standards. Elevator only large enough to allow two adults with no luggage at a time. When we checked in after an overnight flight from US, they didn't bother to tell us that the water was shut off and would be for several more hours, so toilet could only be flushed by one of us, and no sink or shower for either of us. Decor was "cute." Nearby bakery and Bonmarche allowed for a wonderful picnic breakfast in our own. Hard to control heat. Very limited electric outlets. Poor sound insulation. Elevator wait time very long. Overall, not a good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bumbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    257
    62
    21
    17
See reviews for
127
247
36
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sconnie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile


Very experienced UK traveller.

I booked this hotel for a very special visit on the basis of the strong reviews in Tripadvisor and the image of a well positioned and extremely quaint hotel. A huge mistake. This hotel is absolutely awful. Some of the observations I make below are in previous negative reviews - I should have paid more attention.

The staff were relentlessly disinterested and surly. They were rude to my wife on check-out but polite to me. Draw your own conclusion.

Our room was small, ugly and very poorly appointed with the dated basics of a hotel room. It was like staying in a youth hostel. There was one plug socket in the room and a standard apple charger became alarmingly hot in use. The free wifi is close to useless.

The beds were uncomfortable and the window views non existent. The room was dank and stuffy, the air con seemed either broken or disabled.

The lift was extremely small with a worryingly low max kg weight capacity whilst the stair access was poor. Goodness knows how this place passes fire regs.

The breakfast room is too small and they do not have a sensible overflow capacity. Watch the terms of your contract....they charge 13e per head (you are not told until checkout) for a below average continental breakfast. They have had the surprise breakfast charge discussion MANY times in the past, I would have expected them to have been more open on arrival.

They ordered a taxi on departure without explaining that the meter would read 10e+ on arrival, but to be quite frank we just wanted to get away.

The location is not as good as a map suggests. You can do much MUCH better for the money in Paris. The hotel, particularly the staff, ruined our visit.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Pleku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

LOCATION
I chose this hotel based on reviews on TA. Indeed, the location is fantastic, it's seconds away from Rue de Rivoli which is basically the street where most of your touristy needs in Paris are met. It's also a couple of steps away from the Chatelet station which is extremely central and links to a ton of other Metro lines, so you won't have a problem travelling to and fro the international train station or airport. Definitely walkable to the Louvre, Notre Dame, Le Marais etc.

ROOM INTERIOR
Booked 2 twin rooms for myself and 3 other friends. The rooms were both slightly crampy and the beds were very small. It was just nice for me, but my taller European friends had their feet hanging off the end of the bed! The rooms are old but reasonably clean, save for the dusty fake balcony beams that were hanging off the wall as some bizarre attempt at quaintness. We booked the room for 3 nights, and on the first night one of my friends accidentally spilled a bit of his coloured drink on the bedsheets. While the bed was made on a daily basis, the sheets remained unchanged up to the final stay of our stay despite us leaving tips on the pillow every morning when we left the hotel.

SERVICE
The staff are generally friendly and helpful (esp to tourists who don't speak or understand French) except for this one lady at the reception who was slightly rude and grouchy all the time.


FOOD/GENERAL AMENITIES
-Don't bother with the hotel breakfast, the variety is pathetic and the quality of food poor.
-The free wifi is a relief - you just have to keep signing in every 15 minutes.
-The lift is extremely tiny and probably fits 3 regular sized females, and also feels like it's about to break down so take the stairs while you can.


All in all, definitely recommended for its location and cozy ambience despite being slightly pricey, but then again this is probably the standard hotel rate for Paris.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank do9berry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamanon, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

it is the second time we go in this hotel
location perfect for touristic trip near Chatelet and Louvres and isle of the city
many restaurants near the hotel
staff very kind
rooms a little expensive but in Paris it s common !!!
in fact a good hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

we stayed in this hotel early january upon our arrival a man greeted us and put us in a small room that was very red..have to say he was very unprofessional..it was late in the evening and we had booked a superior double room...the next morning we spoke to a female member of staff, who was brillant, and explained our situation to her she agreed we had been put in the wrong room... she brought us to the superior rooms and picked out a fantastic rustic room with old beams..we went out fro a few hours and when we came back there was a bottle of champagne and nibbles on a tray left on our bed as an apology...i would recommend this hotel, spotlessly clean, friendly, homely and you feel safe... 5 mins walk from all shops and close to train stations...the louvre and other tourist attractions..the staff were fantastic..extremely helpful and great english we will defintely be back and will recommend this to all our friends...we had a fantastic holiday..thank you to all the wonderful staff at Grand hotel dechampaigne

Room Tip: choose room 405
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robbo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed in late November 2012 - great location,! Our room was small and bizarrely decorated with a beam running head height which was tricky to negotiate but everything forgiven because the restaurants in the area are top quality and the location is great for walking to most of the major tourist attractions. We paid extra for a balcony room which overlooked a scaffolded building being renovated - even so would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamboburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My family of 3 stayed in this Hotel in December 2013 in a triple room, one double bed and one single. Both beds and all pillows suited us fine. The rooms are not big but we did not mind as we only slept in the room. We were in the heart of Paris and you would not have known it. The staff were so friendly and assisted us in every way. Our bathroom was perfect and even had a bath. We may not of had a view but because the Hotel is tucked away in a back street off the main Rue De Rivoli it did not matter. Breakfast was great as we had enough to get us through the morning. Location is perfect....5 mins to Louvre, 8 mins to Notre Dame, 1 min to main street, easy walk to just about everything. Cross the bridge and catch a Batobus to the Tower; otherwise we could walk just about anywhere. Did I mention how friendly the staff were. We had to send an email for our Thalys Train Ticket to the office and they printed it out and had it waiting for us at reception. We could even leave our bags at reception before our departure at 2pm for the train at Garde de Nord. Easy subway system. Cheaper to catch the Met then a taxi to most destinations as the entry to the Met is only metres from the Hotel. Perfect place. Memorable and very quaint.

Room Tip: We chose a triple room for our family as we have a nine year old daughter. The rooms are all quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Louvre Rivoli
Hotel Louvre Rivoli
#791 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Britannique
Hotel Britannique
#159 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,451 reviews
Les Halles
BEST WESTERN Ducs De Bourgogne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel Flor Rivoli
Hotel Flor Rivoli
#1,006 of 1,810 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#614 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Les Halles
Le Relais du Louvre
Le Relais du Louvre
#82 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dechampaigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dechampaigne

Property: Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Address: 17 rue Jean Lantier, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#365 Family Hotel in Paris
#408 Business Hotel in Paris
#595 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Dechampaigne 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Dechampaigne Paris, built in the XVIth century, is the symbol of the French hospitality tradition, with delicate French decoration and architecture a refined service.Our staff will be pleased to welcome you in French, English, Spanish, Russian, Italian and German. The Grand Hotel Dechampaigne combines a high standard of comfort and the refined service of a friendly mansion within Paris: Few steps from, the Rivoli Street, les Halles, The Louvre Museum, Tuileries Garden, Concorde Square and Champs Elysees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Dechampaigne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing