We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in the heart of Paris” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Dechampaigne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Ranked #342 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the heart of Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

After searching many hotels on-line, we followed the high recommendation of this hotel. We were not disappointed. A lovely hotel in the perfect location for walking around the major attractions or using the underground. Just a few yards from Chatelet metro, direct access to all main metro lines through Paris, including a few stops from Gare de Lyon and the RER to Disneyland. We are a married couple with one child and stayed in the beautiful triple room, rm 301. Very friendly and helpful staff, obviously very proud of their wonderful manor house style hotel. Next time we travel to Paris we will stay here again. I understand that Paris hotels can be a bit hit or miss, and not always value for money. This hotel is definately a hit. Best wishes to all the staff.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    285
    65
    21
    17
See reviews for
140
270
38
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

A very warm and friendly welcome by great reception staff, very cosy room, clean and tidy, modern bathroom. WiFi didn't really work but ok signal via 3G.
The Dechampaigne has a great feel about it and it's obviously family run with loads of attention to detail in every room and in the communal spaces. The staff is exceptionally friendly and welcoming, very flexible (could check in 2 hours earlier and check out late without any problem), and fluent in English.
It's a typical Parisian building with rather small rooms, and, as mentioned in many other posts, a lift that fits max 2 adults. The location is pretty much ideal, a short walk to most sights, shopping and nightlife.
Altogether a great little hotel, very convenient and - considering you're in Paris - reasonably priced.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dirk1378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We split up our stay in Paris, so we spent two nights in this wonderful hotel, left Paris and returned for three more nights. Our room for the first two nights was on the first floor and front corner of the building. The room was small but decorated to the nines. Luckily, the bathroom was huge (for Europe) with a separate area for the toilet. There was a nice window with a flower box outside full of geraniums. The bath was a combo tub/shower. There was a hair dryer with handy 110v outlets, a swing out mirror, and a towel warmer. The towels were huge. The bedroom was clean, neat, and tight but it worked. We booked a room on the fifth floor for our return because they are a bit nicer and have balconies, with only a small bump in price. And, it was well worth it. Basically, you are on the roof so one of the walls was slanted, with heavy beams showing. Just like the other room, the walls are covered with a padded fabric. Very decorated. There was a coffee/tea tray with every thing needed for both, plus the cups and saucers were real china. Nice touch. The bathroom was big, but had a sloped ceiling with a skylight that took some getting use to. The shower only was nice but tight. Lots of counter space, and they put a single red rose on the counter. There was a small refrigerator under the counter too, stocked with various items and drinks. Both rooms were clean, quiet and neat as a pin. The hotel has a charming lobby, with a small bar space where you can sit and enjoy drinks or coffee. The elevator is tiny. Breakfast is offered, but we ate out. A beautiful circular staircase runs through the building. The staff were very helpful and nice, and spoke varying degrees of English. The river is only two blocks away and Notre Dame is about a 10 minute walk. Restaurants and Metro stops are all around the hotel. The location was perfect. The building across the street is still under renovation but it did not bother us at all. No parking is provided. Delicious candies on the front desk. They will hold your bags if you get there before check-in. We had no complaints, only praises for this hotel. Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are very small, especially in the rear of the building, and some rooms have window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orangeroof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was our first stay at this hotel, we travel to Paris regularly and prefer to stay in Chatelet as it is very central and within walking distance of the Seine, Louvre, Marais and the Latin Quarter.

the hotel is tucked down a little side street. We were put on the top floor with a cute balcony. The room was the one from the website, reasonable size with an ok bathroom. heating was on high, so we had to open the window to cool the room a bit.
breakfast is buffet style and sufficient, but probably worth saving the € 13 and going to a cafe.
the walls were thin, so we heard the noisy children next door early on Sunday morning.
staff were friendly and helpful.
the bed was comfortable enough for a good nights sleep, once we removed the bolster that seems prevalent in old French hotels.
As with all Parisienne Hotels, this was not cheap, and in other cities it would be over priced for what it is, but it is Paris after all.
easy access to the Metro if walking is not your thing.

Room Tip: top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank craig s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Third time staying around this area, second time at this hotel. Ideal for Notre Dame (we actually visited it this time), The Seine and the Louvre. Close by to Le Chatelet metro.

Samll room and small shower but it's only to sleep in. Clean and tidy and free wifi.

Hopefully the building across the way will be fully renovated by our next visit, yes we would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Millennium T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Well located, easy walking distance of Notre Dame, the Tuileries and Louvre. Very close to Le Chatelet metro. An old building down a dark side street. A quirky building but the room we stayed in was completely quiet and very very comfortable bed. Small rooms, as is usual in Paris and decor very fussy with that weird spongy flowery wallpaper. Staff were helpful. The air conditioning was not working. That coudl be a problem in high summer. Didn't pursue it because was only there for 1 night. Room and bathroom had windows that opened on to blind wells so very very low levels of natural light.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabethn188633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great little hotel with location to explore Paris by metro & walk to the Louvre. We had room 502 balcony room for 1st x 2 nights & left our bags to travel out of Paris for a night. Came back to same room again & we are quite happy. A large timber beam through middle of room gives it "some character" which you must walk around. Large bathroom, fair size shower and tea & coffee facilities are an added bonus. Yes, there is construction across from our hotel, but it's not a big disturbance as you are out & exploring Paris. My 1st time to Paris & happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Balcony room gives you some fresh air ; a cuppa in the morning out on the balcony is a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Louvre Rivoli
Hotel Louvre Rivoli
#696 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Britannique
Hotel Britannique
#163 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#635 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Le Relais du Louvre
Le Relais du Louvre
#67 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#134 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Flor Rivoli
Hotel Flor Rivoli
#1,117 of 1,794 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dechampaigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dechampaigne

Property: Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Address: 17 rue Jean Lantier, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#365 Family Hotel in Paris
#409 Business Hotel in Paris
#595 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Dechampaigne 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Dechampaigne Paris, built in the XVIth century, is the symbol of the French hospitality tradition, with delicate French decoration and architecture a refined service.Our staff will be pleased to welcome you in French, English, Spanish, Russian, Italian and German. The Grand Hotel Dechampaigne combines a high standard of comfort and the refined service of a friendly mansion within Paris: Few steps from, the Rivoli Street, les Halles, The Louvre Museum, Tuileries Garden, Concorde Square and Champs Elysees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Grand Hotel Dechampaigne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing